Customer Reviews for

The Brightest Star in the Sky: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I recommend!

A mysterious presence watches the cast of interesting characters who live in an apartment building in Dublin over the course of sixty one days. This lengthy book starts a delightful read about entangled relationships and changing lives. The spirit's narration is really ...
A mysterious presence watches the cast of interesting characters who live in an apartment building in Dublin over the course of sixty one days. This lengthy book starts a delightful read about entangled relationships and changing lives. The spirit's narration is really enjoyable and adds a touch of humorous snarkiness. But the spirit keeps referring to a big change coming to one of the residents, providing an ominous foreshadowing that keeps the reader glued to the pages. And as it goes deeper into their memories and more is revealed about the character's lives, the reader becomes aware that the presence is waiting for something. This spirit has the ability to change at least one of their lives. I'm not really into fantasy, but it didn't take long to get me sucked in and stuck! I recommend!

posted by BLUEEYEBE on June 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

It is a quick and easy read, not exactly a "can't put it do

It is a quick and easy read, not exactly a "can't put it down" story, but interesting enough to finish. I didn't see all that much very funny about it, but it had its moments. If you buy it on sale, it's worth reading and then pass it along to someone else.

posted by MIJul on January 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I recommend!

    A mysterious presence watches the cast of interesting characters who live in an apartment building in Dublin over the course of sixty one days. This lengthy book starts a delightful read about entangled relationships and changing lives. The spirit's narration is really enjoyable and adds a touch of humorous snarkiness. But the spirit keeps referring to a big change coming to one of the residents, providing an ominous foreshadowing that keeps the reader glued to the pages. And as it goes deeper into their memories and more is revealed about the character's lives, the reader becomes aware that the presence is waiting for something. This spirit has the ability to change at least one of their lives. I'm not really into fantasy, but it didn't take long to get me sucked in and stuck! I recommend!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    Absolutely hilarious!

    OMG there is actually another person on the planet who shares my very own twisted, bizarre sense of humor. If you are easily offended you might want to pass on this. I shared the trials and tribulations of the character who had a parent suffering from Alzheimer's disease. You may think there is nothing funny about it. However, people who have this illness do things that are incredibly funny. It is that very thing that saves the sanity of those of us who care for them. I too had siblings who refused to help. That is too bad because they missed all the fun my parent and I had during his last two years of life. I laughed at this book until I cried. I highly recommend it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A GOOD READ!!

    "The Brightest Star in the Sky" is about a group of neighbors who share a building. The story is about the way these strangers become connected by a series of events.

    The author has a wonderful way of revealing her characters slowly. Although there is a good deal of heartbreak in the book the reader feels empathy and affection for most of the people who are lovable and quirky.

    A good read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    FABULOUS story!!

    I couldn't wait for The Brightest Star in the Sky to be released here in the states so I ordered it a few months ago from the UK. I am glad I paid the super high shipping, it was well worth it!! I love Marian Keyes so I was expecting the best and I wasn't disappointed! LOVE,LOVE,LOVE this book, it was a fun and entertaining read. I would highly reccommend it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Dhdb

    Ckckf

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Icetail

    You guys need a medcat?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Silverlight

    She laughed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Mapleleaf

    Hello

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Springstep and Autumnleaf

    "Wait..." "Wait for wahat?" "I dunno." "Then why would we wait for somthing that you don't even know if it exists?" "I dunno that either." "Who are you?" "I dunno." "What is this?" "I dunno." "WHYYYYYYYYYYY MEHHHHH??????" Autumnleaf whisper-yelled." I dunno." Springstep answered, giggling.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Brightstar

    He purred amused

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    /) ? Anyone?

    Mlp fim ish epic. ( this is a good book btw )

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Great book!

    I love Marian Keyes and I was really excited to see this book listed. I had never heard of it before. It was a great book and I couldn't put it down. At first it was a bit hard to get into due to some confusion, but then as I went along it turned out great! I highly recommend this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2