Customer Reviews for

Brightly Burning

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

This book was another great Mercedes Lackey classic of the valdemar series. It will make you laugh, cry and jump for joy. The end was heartwrenching, but overall, it was a really sweet story. It is a suprizing change from the usual M.L. books.

posted by Anonymous on March 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just Another Valdemar Book

If you've never read Lackey or her Valdemar books, this wouldn't be the place I'd start. The first published is the Heralds of Valdemar trilogy beginning with Arrows of the Queen, and the first chronologically, and in my opinion her best, is the Last Herald's Mage serie...
If you've never read Lackey or her Valdemar books, this wouldn't be the place I'd start. The first published is the Heralds of Valdemar trilogy beginning with Arrows of the Queen, and the first chronologically, and in my opinion her best, is the Last Herald's Mage series beginning with Magic's Pawn. Chronologically, this book is set between those two trilogies, and fleshes out a mention of Lavan Firestorm in the first trilogy. The book starts out in a way typical for Lackey's books, with a young man misunderstood by his family who finds his destiny when he's "chosen" by a companion (magical creature shaped like a horse) and thus enters the ranks of the Heralds. If you've read others of those Valdemar books and love them, you'll probably enjoy Brightly Burning, which certainly is eminently readable, well-paced, and as imaginative as any, but this book and the character of Lavan just didn't for me have the pull and ability to move me the way Talia and Vanyel of her first two sets of books set in Valdemar.

posted by Lisa_RR_H on April 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Great stand alone in the Valdemar series

    I really enjoyed this book about a young man that must learn to control that which he fears to save his friends and his people. I especially like how this is a stand alone book. it is part of the bigger series but can be enjoyed without the usual 3 book trilogy Lackey is fond of.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Loved this book

    This book is full of dicovery, adventure, and learning who your real frinds are. if your looking for a good one. this is it. I have read this book at least 15 times over the last 11yrs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    This book got me hooked on Mercades Lackey!

    In the world of Valdemar, a young boy is the black sheep of his family, he can't relate to them, so he gets sent to school where strange things start happening and his power takes control. But that isn't the big surprise.

    The he is chosen, and his world turns upside down.

    He has a strange, rare, and powerful gift that can change Valdemar's future for the better, but at a great cost.

    He is a firestarter, but one so powerful he becomes infamous before he becomes loved. With a past that now haunts him, and new friends that support him, Lavan has a long way to go, but not long enough.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    Fantastic!

    This book was another great Mercedes Lackey classic of the valdemar series. It will make you laugh, cry and jump for joy. The end was heartwrenching, but overall, it was a really sweet story. It is a suprizing change from the usual M.L. books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Glitterpaw

    She followed him. "NOW can we train? It's killing me!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Shatteredheart

    "Ur evil."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    SPARKKIT TO IVORYLACE

    You are about to get forcemated!!! You have to get out I AM NOT LYING LOOK AT THE POST AT FORCEMATE RES 1!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Ivorylace

    Runs back to camp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    WanderPaw and Co.

    Waderpaw, Deerpaw, and Arrowpaw toched noses happily

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Melodyriver and Icedancer

    "Today, we hunt." Mel sat by the High Rock. "Large prey or small prey?"•••• Ice padded in. "Would you like to learn to fight or hunt?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Sparkstar Ceramony

    "All cats old enough to hunt for themselves gather before highrock." He twitched his right ear, "Snowkit you will now be Snowpaw your mentor is Mousefire, Deerkit you will now be Deerpaw your mentor is Crowflight, Arrowkit you are now Arrowpaw your mentor is Foxhunter, Wanderkit you are now Wanderpaw your mentor is Frecklepelt, Bonepaw your mentor is Bluemoon, Fawnpaw your mentor is Nightshadow, Jadekit you are now Jadepaw your mentor is Lionhunter, Rawkit you are now Rawpaw your mentor is Nightsky." Pauseing and touching l of there noses, "Kestrelpaw you are now Kestrelwing, Ripplepaw you are now Ripplepond, Pebblepaw you are now Pebblefur. Congratulation to all."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Hey

    Brightstar is STUPID!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Hawktalon

    Hey. Sorry i wasnt on had baseball

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    NOTHING BETTER THAN A GOOD MISSTY

    LIKE ALL OF MISTTY'S VALDAMAR BOOKS THIS ONE HAS A SERPRISING PLOT TWIST AND IT'S ON OF THE BEST SHE'S DONE. NO ONE CAN BET MISSTY AT HER OWN GAME. THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORIT BOOKS AND SOON I'LL HAVE TO BUY A NEW ONE BECAUSE MINE'S COMING APART. THIS IS A BOOK THAT KIDS AND ADULTS WILL LOVE. GO MISSTY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2004

    very well done

    I enjoyed the story greatly and like always enjoyed the charaters. Lackey has been a favorite author of mine, her ablity to portray the charaters is highly appreated

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    A Truly Awesome Book

    This was an awesome book that put a story behind a character that is mentioned in many of her books, Lavan Firestorm. It will make you cry, yet you will still want to read it over and over. Mercedes Lackey did a great job in bringing a legend to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    Great book but so Sad!

    I loved this book but it's so sad I cried. I would have liked a certain person not to die(those who have read it know who I mean but I didn't want to give it away) And I would have enjoyed to have a sequel to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    The best book ever read

    I thought that Brightly burning was the best book i have ever read it made me cry i guess i be probably reading it again ^.^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    The Best

    This was my first Mercedes Lackey book and probably the best. I am always re-reading it and I always cry. A must have book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    Masterful

    I loved this look into the life of the legend Lavan Firestorm. I couldn't put it down once I started, and finished it the same day! I've read most of the books in this series, but this is one of the best, taking second only to the Magic's Pawn Trilogy (since there was more time to know the characters). Lavan's character was shockingly real, and the story more moving for it. This book left me crying when I finished it, and I recommend it to anyone who has read other books in this series. The only problem with this book is that it is not as long as some of Lackey's other stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4