Customer Reviews for

Brightly Woven

Average Rating 4
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

One moment, Sydelle and her friend, Henry, are hanging out on the rocks and then next, it's raining. Their village hasn't seen rain in ten years. Shortly after, they spot a wizard. They all head into the village, not knowing just how much their future is about to change...
One moment, Sydelle and her friend, Henry, are hanging out on the rocks and then next, it's raining. Their village hasn't seen rain in ten years. Shortly after, they spot a wizard. They all head into the village, not knowing just how much their future is about to change.

Wayland North, the wizard, takes the credit for bringing the rain. The chief, Sydelle's father, offers him a reward. He's stunned when he finds out the wizard wants his daughter.

Wayland believes he can stop the upcoming war with Sydelle's help. Together, they set out across the country to deliver their information.

Sydelle can't help hating the wizard who took her away from her friends and family. In time, she grows to understand him more and appreciates him. They must overcome obstacles: rogue wizard attacks, a new queen trying to find her place, and two country leaders determined to go to war for all the wrong reasons.

Sydelle wants to help stop the war so they can get on with their lives, but then she overhears Wayland talking about her and she can't believe her ears. Suddenly, her world's turned upside down and she doesn't know who to trust or what to do next.

This is an awesome debut and a great way to explode onto the YA scene. I love the high fantasy romance with tensions between countries and a probable war on the horizon.

posted by TeensReadToo on June 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Snowstorm

Wait, what did I do?-Snowstorm

posted by Anonymous on March 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Still reading

    I am almost done reading the book and might finish it tonight if i can and overall it was a excellent book and i would recomend it to anyone who is looking for adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    great read.

    Really enjoyed the story and the characters. Hoping there be a sequel soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. The story was fairly c

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. The story was fairly complex, in a good way. The main male character has a detailed backstory. The writing style was decent, and the story progressed at a good pace. I appreciated that this book did not contain the lengthy, repetitive descriptions of characters' feelings that are so often found in other YA novels.

    There were a few times when characters conveniently did something out of character. Despite liking the writing style, there were occasional odd gaps in the story. They did not affect the plot or storyline itself, but I found them to be distracting. Characters are described as doing one activity, then suddenly are found to be doing something completely different with no segue. Other times, it would belatedly become apparent that more time had passed between paragraphs than one might expect.

    Content:
    Sexual - None.
    Language - No strong language.
    Violence - A few spots with bloody violence, but they are brief in length.
    Gods-related content - There is a light amount of gods-related content, other than in a chapter or two where that content is more prominent. It does not involve actual mythology.

    I realize that most people do not mind gods-related content. I generally do not read those types of books myself, and would have liked to have known about it prior to purchasing the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Check it out!

    Very interesting and a whole new story line that I have never read before. The two main characters are so unique and when you put them together you are sure to get either laughs or suspenseful moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Purely Great

    The story tells of a distant village girl Sydelle lives in a small desert town that is about to be invaded by soldiers from another country. She's saved from whatever fate occupation will entail by a traveling wizard called Wayland North. North claims that he needs Sydelle as his assistant (and guide - he has no sense of direction and can't read a map to save his life), but there's something he's not telling her, some other reason she's important to him. Syd is a talented weaver and has always dreamed of leaving her town, but under t ...more Sydelle and an unfortunate run into a young Wizard, Wayland North, who says he'd like her to accompany him in return for his good deeds to the place where she lives.

    Unable to ignore North's bringing of rain to the village, Sydelle lives in a small desert town that is about to be invaded by soldiers from another country. She's saved from whatever fate occupation will entail by a traveling wizard called Wayland North. North claims that he needs Sydelle as his assistant (and guide - he has no sense of direction and can't read a map to save his life), but there's something he's not telling her, some other reason she's important to him. Syd is a talented weaver and has always dreamed of leaving her town, but under t ...more Sydelle and her family have no choice but to accepts the wizards request. At first Sydelle lives in a small desert town that is about to be invaded by soldiers from another country. She's saved from whatever fate occupation will entail by a traveling wizard called Wayland North. North claims that he needs Sydelle as his assistant (and guide - he has no sense of direction and can't read a map to save his life), but there's something he's not telling her, some other reason she's important to him. Syd is a talented weaver and has always dreamed of leaving her town, but under t ...more Sydelle is appalled by everything having to do with North and his sloven ways but soon realizes the importance of the task in hand.

    I rather not spoil the story so I'll just say that the books side trips involve wicked fights among magical beings, suspenseful drama involving royals and battles that will keep your eyes glued to the pages. I'm impressed by Alexandra Bracken first novel, she mixed all these enticing elements with a glimmer touch of fantasy romance...it's not everyday an author gives their all into a true passion of writing.

    To me, books such as this shouldn't be labeled a quick read because I like to relax as I get lost into a world of magic and absorb all the enhancement and battles that come way...just as long as the story comes together and makes sense, which Bracken does for her debut novel. I really hope there's a sequel for it.

    Just to explain why I didn't give this a 5/5...there were times in this book where it got a little cliche which naturally zapped back into New York 2010, but for the most part it was imaginative.

    I recommend this book for any young adult reader, there isn't much to dislike. It's a simple yet complicated, fantastical read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    Enjoyable Read

    I truely enjoyed this story. Hope there is more in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Some problems with the heroine, but a good YA high fantasy overall

    Sydelle's village has gone ten years without rain, but one day when the whole kingdom is in turmoil--the king has died leaving no heir and an inexperienced young queen, and two neighboring kingdoms may be about to attack--a stranger appears and makes rain pour from the skies. North is a young wizard and when Sydelle's dad, the town elder, offers North anything he wants as payment for the rain, North chooses Sydelle. And thus begins a high fantasy Journey Story, with North and Sydelle trying to reach the capital city and save the kingdom, all while being chased by an evil dark wizard, plagued by inclement weather, and frustrated by each other's personal shortcomings.

    Sydelle is a nice strong heroine who's at least as skilled as her wizard companion, but in different ways. She's an excellent weaver, and she must have some latent magical ability because she can mend North's magic cloaks without spoiling their power. In one town where North is finding wizarding work, Sydelle finds work of her own when she needs some money, which shows great initiative. She did have a few less than wonderful behaviors, though--she stays mad at North for most of the first half of the book, and she keeps running away from him when he says or does the wrong thing. Now, coming along with him wasn't her choice, but he didn't kidnap her--her parents are the ones who sent her with him, and he actually saved her from an impending attack on her village, so even if he's a bit of a jerk at times, it doesn't seem to be in her best interest to keep walking out on her only protector. Sydelle makes a few very unsmart moves, like one time when North is getting into a fight and he clearly doesn't want his opponent to know that he has magical power, but Sydelle turns to him and basically says out loud, "North, you're a wizard, aren't you? Use your magic."

    North was my favorite character, and I excuse his occasional loutish behavior by telling myself that though he gets drunk a few times, he has terribly good reasons for it, and though he doesn't always handle Sydelle's emotions with finesse, his missteps mostly happen because he wants her approval. After she finally runs away for real, he's devastated, and the two of them come to an understanding--she'll stop running and he'll stop being a jerk. No matter what they're doing, North and Sydelle's interaction is fun to watch, and he gets his share of witty lines. When North steps inbetween Sydelle and a man she's trading insults with, the man asks North,

    "You interrupt my business?...Do you know what this wench just accused my of being?"

    "A filthy pig," North said good-naturedly. "But there's only one filthy pig allowed in her life, and the position's been filled." (pg 44)

    One small problem: maybe it's because I was reading an ARC copy, but it seemed like there were a lot of places in Brightly Woven where the transitions needed smoothing. Sometimes I felt like a phrase or sentence was missing, and I had to re-read small sections to be sure what happened. But overall, the environment is convincingly drawn, there are a few really good twists (each new revelation about North's past or Sydelle abilities is more shocking than the last), and lots of adventurousness, which should make the story work well for Mid-Grade readers, though it's classified as YA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Intricate tale of a magical new world

    BRIGHTLY WOVEN, by Alexandra Bracken, was an epic fantasy tale that will weave its way into your heart from the first page. The new world that Bracken created was intricate and imaginative. And the characters that lived there were genuine especially in their magical abilities. Bracken definitely did her homework and made this world believable in every aspect.

    I really loved this book. The story was unlike anything I have ever read and my imagination was stretched to this wonderful and dangerous world that Bracken illustrated. Her specific concept of magic in this world was unparalleled. Sydelle was extremely special and a joy to read. The way weaving took over her soul was breath-taking. And I liked how she was intelligent and always asked questions. Sometimes her independence turned into stubbornness, but she had the perfect amount of sass and finesse to keep me drawn into the story.

    The relationship between Sydelle and North was dynamic. Forced together by magical circumstances, these two gained each other's trust and love gradually. Bracken put these two characters into dangerous situations which amplified their bond. They were both selfless and would do anything to protect the other. These two make a memorable pair.

    The magic itself was its own character. I liked how there were many different types of magic that each wizard could perform. I liked the rules that were created for magic. It was very thoughtful that wizards had to be ranked, trained, etc. to perform magic. This created a interesting dynamic in creating the good versus evil in the story.

    This book definitely stands out. The world that Bracken created was stunning and once of a kind. I hope there is a sequel in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Debut Novel: Brightly Woven

    I couldn't put the book down and fell in love with the characters almost immediately. Sidney is a very interesting heroine and goes through some wonderful changes throughout the story. North is such a fun and serious character at the same time which made him very loveable. There was hardly a moment of rest from the action and because of that, I couldn't stop reading! I feel like there is a lot more story to tell here, so I'm hoping Alexandra Bracken decides to pull out a sequel, but overall a great debut novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2