Customer Reviews for

Brighton Rock

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A delightful coming-of-age tale

    Graham Green takes us back to the quaint seaside resort town of Brighton as he knew it in the early 1930's, a colorful town known for it's hard sugary candy (the "Brighton Rock" of the title) and colorful locals. The novel follows the young Pinkie Brown as he sets out to make a name for himself as an entrepreneur, selling tickets to watch horse races, learning from the chief businessman of the area, and even finding love along the way! Read this book now if you want to escape from the dreariness and crime and grit of modern life, and escape through Greene's rose-tinted glasses to a gentler age that we've long since left behind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Story is interesting. Nook version is weird.

    I am enjoying the book, but the downloaded version has some layout issues. There are random numbers strewn about and some of the sentences are incomplete which takes away from the flow of the story. Obvioulsy, not the writer's fault!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful read

    Johnny Rotten from the Sex Pistols talked about how much he like this book and so I picked it up. Not your typical hoods.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    Another exquisite read by Graham Greene

    I recently revisited 'Brighton Rock' several years after a rather unmemorable undergraduate reading, but this time I was simply entranced. Greene paints the character of Pinkie with broad strokes of a melodrama that never seems forced, symbolism that is omnipresent but quite powerfully drawn. A masterpiece!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    i read this book

    I read this book in hopes of discovering the mystery of it's character Pinkie who seemed to be a famous fictional person that I had heard metioned somewhere. So, I read it, but I think that I will never truly understand him. However, I think it was worth reading because this is the only book of Graham Greene's that I've read. I may not completely ever understand it but it gives me something to think about. There are different ways at looking at the story, and that's why I think others should read it. Sometimes its your own reactions that gets you thinking, and wondering why you reacted to it that way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2001

    This book is wonderful

    This is the first book to ever inspire me. The characters are convincing and alive, the story intriguing from day one, and written with such a pace that the reader can't help being dragged along to the spectacular conclusion. Combines the best bits of The Catcher in the Rye and The Power and the Glory. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2000

    'Brighton Rock' Bombs

    The heading says all: this book simply is terrible. It's required reading for some, which is completely cruel to inflict. It is pointless, poorly written, and altogether stupid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    great book

    this book had all the action and plot a grown man could ask for. It was an amazing piece of literature that I will never forget

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2000

    A psychotic main character doesn't make for an interesting book

    This book may be hailed by english teachers but it honestly is a poor piece of literature. Grahm Greene's novel is full of unnecessary details, boarish main characters, a disrespect for religion, and an underlying aura of distaste for England in the time period it is written about. Very disappointing to read and discuss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2000

    a piece of the most beautiful fiction

    Graham Greene has the brilliancy to create unforgettable characters, both good and evil, worthy of a readers symphathy. His prose is poetic, his voice, honest. BRIGHTON ROCK is an original tale of living on life's youthful edge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2