Customer Reviews for

Bright's Passage

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    A Ballad The Length Of A Book

    Utterly beautiful and deeply real, this book is heavy-strewn with images that will stay with you long after you finish reading. Ritter is an incredible lyricist, and Bright's Passage is a powerful demonstration of that fact.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Sunning Rocks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Hauntingly beautiful

    This book was hauntingly beautiful, just like some of Ritter's songs. The imagery was great, and painted an amazing picture of the world, one that I could see in my head as I read it, but one that was not easily definable. The meshing of a few different stories was well-thought out and made me want to keep reading. Wonderful book, and I look forward to the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    AVOID THIS ONE

    Once again believed the hype, started it, read about 30 pages, returned it. Over-wrought use of language, stereotyped charachterizations, story went nowhere. If this is where we are headed in our "literature", then good books will be far and few between (which they already are). Back to some classics for me!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Wix2525 Give Me a Break

    Not everyone is a bible thumper. Open your mind once in a while.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A great first effort

    Not perfect but along the road to that destination. I'll be waiting to see his next book, when it comes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Agreed

    Offensive! Could not stand to read this trash.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Stopped after only 22 pages

    In that short space I found myself subjected to the Bible burned as kindling to burn down a house and many uses of the word 'GD' which I find utterly tasteless and quite offensive. Even without these factors the proclamations of this word added no value to the story and seemed only to highlight the strong possibility of a limited vocabulary from a person professing to be a wordsmith. In this abrupted reading it is not possible to address plot or even depth of characterization, but most stories hook you in a short period of time. It did not happen for me and then the negative factors overrode my desire to find SOME redeeming or intriguing path that this author wished to have me follow.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Well done Mister Ritter!!

    Have been a Ritter fan for years Often thought his lyrics could be worked into book or possibly a short story collection. I love to read books by new authors and am so pleased to have found this. Now my only problem is deciding which genre I like best. Just to be safe, keep the music and the books coming. A job well done!! Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2