Customer Reviews for

Brilliance of the Moon (Tales of the Otori Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Great book

    I love this book even though i didn't really read it but myt favorite book is the second book. :* ;)

    Your read and read a romance book but also it is book about feudal japan so your also learning.:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Best Way To End It all!

    Even though it was the end of the trilogy, it left an opening that can show what happened after Lord Takeo brought peace to the Three Countries!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    Brilliance of the Moon

    A great book to finnish off the other two before. Lots of mystery and twists to the plot and very well drawn out ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    swept me away to a time and place I loved

    I could not wait for this final book in the trilogy. Occasionally when there is pent up anticipation, books/movies/events can be disappointing. This book was not one of those times. Ian Hearn meant for it to be magical, and it was . You disappear into the story and live the fullness of the emotions and the sense of morality of the characters,-wishing in a sense that the world could be full of people this noble. I want to tell people to read this Japanese story, only to remember that it is a fictional country with a Japanese flavor. Great book to end the trilogy that is my favorite story in years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    Amazing story

    I would like to give this book,(it is actually a trilogy)10 stars! What a beautiful book, how well is written, what an amazing story. First one, Across the Nightingale Flooris also a fantastic read. Please read this trilogy, the Otori Tales, it is one of the best books ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    Excellent books

    I love all three of these books. They captivate the mind from the very first page. It's the tale of a young man torwn between two ways of life, one an heir to a warlord and the other an assassin. This book is an example of that love conqures all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    excellent trilogy

    This trilogy is so beautiful, so well written that it is very hard for one that reads it,to find a book that will be as satisfying and so haunting in the same time. One of the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2004

    Genius, Magic, Dynamic Epic Story 25 CDs of Magic and Slendor, hypnotic narration

    In all my 47 years of robust reading. I have finally found the 3 Volumes, approximately 1,500 pages worth of The Splendid Masterpiece. The finest book of all great books I have ever had the pleasure to read and listen too on CDs. I can say my life is now complete, now that I have read Lian Hearn's 3 Volume but One Story trilogy book, of brilliance and excellence which far exceeds any other. Unlike Lord of the Rings which is another marathon book or War and Peace, those books pertain to a more select audience, whereas Lian Hearns work appeals to all, to young and old alike, while bridging all boundaries, of age, race, creed, belief, and storyline type. If I can only say one sentence to define this great (understatement of a) book, it would be to repeat myself. Now that I have read this book, my life is now complete! I will die fulfilled. The Brothers Karamazov for example is a great piece of classic literature, but lacks the fun and enjoyment of non stop reading pleasure, where Dostoyevsky stretches a story to complete tidbits you will need to know later, and thus reaches periods of boredom in his books, He always turns out masterful work, like many writers he proves his talent and genius. Where Lian Hearn has produced a book twice the size of The Brothers Karamazov, and Hearn maintains a dynamic story full of entertainment touching on every human emotion intertwined throughout his books, his book never reached a point of boredom or even slowing down; one wanting to stop reading the book, never. If one could; then I would say most readers would want to read this book non stop which is impossible due to its length. One reason I suggest the CD set of the story, as it is easier to cover more ground in one sitting than reading 1,500 pages. The story is approx. 16 hrs. in length on CD. I have heard Volume One, The Nightingale Floor is in pre-production for a film/movie while each book or Volume will be shown and taped in individual seperate installments. It will be a sure Classic for the silver screen. For anyone needing or wanting to read a new book, which will definitely give them a new fresh lease on life, and a feeling of content fulfillment, I suggest you read this 3 volume series of books, which we are ever so lucky to be graced with. If I never read another book, I am thus fulfilled, and if my time is near I can depart this earth saying, aahh my life was complete, and Lian Hearns work or books, completed me as far as my sensory experience of reading, imagination, fascination and enlightment with pleasure goes. Then I am more than ready to go. But hey, i am not in a hurry. I am just saying, this book is that much of one of the greatest books of all time, all places, all styles. The completion of reading of this book is in my top 10 moments of life and living. Of course my first moment was getting married, second having and witnessing the birth of my son, third watching and interacting with my son and wife as he became a man. Meeting Mickey Mantle one on one in person. All the heavenly things in life, this is definitely one of those experiences worth catching. If you have not read this book, you have not read anything yet worth mention (joking of course).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    When the story and audience merge as one

    Tales of the Otori, is drama at its best, achieving the highest goal of success according to Konstantin Stanislavski, the great Father of the method school of acting (which has produced some of the greatest actors of our time, DeNiro, Brando, James Dean, Al Pacino, Marilyn Monroe, and hundreds of others). Konstantin stated when the audience merges with the story as if it is their lives unfolding in the story, then this is the epitome of success in drama. Tales of the Otori more than achieves this goal. Starting out slow to set the characters and lands, while defining all the key characteristics of the long story to come. The story begins to blast off, and one cannot wait to turn read forth. It is a very hard book to put down. Being so, i bought a copy on DVD and listened to it as I went to bed each night. Some nights it kept me awake needing to listen to the next CD, and what excitingly and guessing what may follow next in the storyline. However if one paces oneself and listens to one CD per evening just prior to going to bed. One will conquer insomnia, and have pleasant dreams. This book single handedly reknewed my interset with a fever buying books on CD. The narration is hypnotically soothing. Easy to follow while listening too, it keeps ones attention intact, unlike many books on CD which boringly lose our interest after 12 minutes of boring material (even though parts of other books may be exciting, alls it takes is 12 boring minutes to lose a persons attention span on the average). I never had this problem with Tales of the Otori. On the contrary, A must have to anyone's library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2004

    I Loved it!

    Oh, my gosh! I waited for this book for a year, and it was well worth the wait! It blew me away! What an ending to a story that has kept me reading for over three years. This is one of those books you will read over and over again, just like the first two. This is a great series and I suggest it to anyone and everyone! Read it, you'll love it to death!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    This book takes your breath away!!!

    GOD!!! This last book is so beautiful and sad and intense, so well written!!!5 stars is not enought, but I hope that people will hear and read this book, because it is incredible. Lian Hearn is so talented, I hope that he will be a prolific writer!Please, do not ignore the Otori tales, you will laugh and cry reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    Brillance of the Moon by Lian Hearn

    Lian Hearn has brilliantly provided closure to the trilogy. Hearn once again submerges you into an abyss of mystical intrigue, drama, and sub-plots within the setting of an ancient Japan. As you envision yourself inside the world of the Otori and it comes to an ending, you can't help but wonder if Lian Hearn is thinking about giving his fans another taste of his talent with a continuation of another character's perspective, specifically Takeo's son. The Kikuta, the Muto, Arai, the Otori, the Hidden, the warrior monks, and Takeo were all fascinating characters, and true works of art! Lian Hearn, please don't stop writing! I'm already waiting for the next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    A LYRICAL, PERSUASIVE VOICE PERFORMANCE

    Kevin Gray received plaudits for his readings of ' Grass For His Pillow' and 'Across The Nightingale Floor,' Books One and Two in the Tales of the Otori Series. He delivers another blockbuster performance with the final book in the trilogy, 'Brilliance of the Moon.' His performing voice is soft yet strong, persuasive, almost lyrical. Aika Nakasone more than holds her own with the sable voiced Gray. Now safely wed hero Otori Takeo and Shirikawa Kaeda take little time to honeymoon but he sets off to secure what he considers their birthrights. They remember the holy woman's prophecy: 'Your lands will stretch from sea to sea, but peace comes at the price of bloodshed. Five battles will buy you peace, four to win and one to lose.....' However, their enemies are formidable as their marriage has infuriated warlord Arai Daiichi and Lord Fujiwara. He is able to emerge victorious in two battles but, meanwhile, he learns that his bride has been kidnaped and turned over to the vengeful Fujiwara. Obstacles mount and actions escalates, holding listeners in thrall as this mystical tale of medieval Japan unfolds. 'Brilliance of the Moon' is first-rate entertainment leaving listeners hoping for just one more adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2