Customer Reviews for

Brimstone (Special Agent Pendergast Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Wonderful

    This is the last in the Pendergast series if you happen to be reading them in the order recommended by the authors. It is just as readable as a stand alone novel but if read in sequence it ties together many story lines from the previous 4 books, especially that involving the enigmatic Constance Greene.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    Superb

    Normally I am stingy in donating stars, but I truly believe Brimstone deserves 4 1/2. It captured me from the very beginning with the perfect modality of suspense wherein I feel the metronome ticking methodically while the action and suspencse is building. I have the feeling of surging interest driving forward, while held back by the author's pace. The reult is truly seductive tension and magnificent suspense. The only fault I found was in one transition (which I won't describe because it would ruin the plot for those who haven't read the book.) This transition, I felt could have been smoother. Maybe the authors were as impatient in writing it as I was in reading it. As a trivial matter, the authors should be spanked and sent to their rooms without dinner for using the double possessive e.g., it belonged to a friend of mine. "Belonged to" is possessive, and "of mine" is repetitious and uses a possessive pronoun as object of a preposition. This usage caused me to ponder if that section wasn't dicatated to a recorder rather than typed on a computer.
    The authors should be congratulated for the research that went into the conceptual environment of the book. There is nothing hum-drum and I felt I learned quite a bit. Even the constructon of violins keeps interest bright. This is an elegant novel and a "DON'T MISS" book--for sure!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    Highly Recommended

    Everybody who likes the books by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child should definitly read this one. Its one of their best books so far.
    But even for new readers if you are looking for a page-turning thriller you wont be able to put this one down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm exhausted!

    Preston and Child wear me out. Their plots are always intense - where do these two come up with plot-lines like this? Each Pendergast book I read just keeps getting more intense - and better than the last. I was so glad to see Lt. D'Agosta back - his character goes with with Pendergasts.........I'm ready for the next book of the series...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Da Vinci Code meets Dante's Inferno

    Brimstone is the fifth fantastic read from the ingenious Preston and Child duo and it doesn't disappoint. I thought that the book was simply fantastic and extremely delectable, and the moment I finished it I felt a deep hunger to pounce on the next, if I had the sixth book in my possession I have no doubt that I would be unable to leave it alone. Meticulously researched, the novel travels from the streets of New York into the lush and romantic Italy, where Pendergast meets with a nemesis so grand, evil and intense that everyone has little doubt about it being the devil himself. I adore that these books have an aura of enigmatic and mystical proportions, anything is possible and everything somehow has an explanation.

    The book is quite long but a lot of things happen and the chases, the intrigue and the clues take up a lot of time, making the entire story feel alive and throbbing with anticipation of what happens next. My favorite literary crush, FBI Special Agent Aloysius Pendergast is fabulous as usual, with plenty of tricks up his sleeves ( literally) and with his senses heightened to take on this hard challenge he takes charge at solving another unusual crime while risking his life. When a famous art critic dies under strange circumstances Pendergast doesn't tale long to start connecting small clues, they form into a cluster of horrifying secrets and involved more people who seem to die in similar fashion before anyone can get to them. There's a connection between the strange, rich people and the hellish ways in which they perished, but the closer they agent gets to the truth the more obstacles appear on his way, seems that not only is the devil out to get him but the mortals involved in protecting the secrets are as ruthless and vicious as they come. His research takes him and former NYPD officer Vincent D'Agosta to monasteries, castles and catacombs of ancient Italians, where the secrets are gravely guarded and finding the truth is tougher than anyone could have expected. I adored the last hundred pages, the tale really took a life of it's own and the ending was stunning, I am worried but hopeful, gah..books such as this one really take me somewhere else, and I can't wait to dive back in.

    - Kasia S.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    Pendergast is so amazing!

    This book intrigued me with a twisting, turning plot. the characters all had lifelike flaws, however, my favorite was Pendergast, an outstanding masterpiece. he is my favorite type of character intelligent, cool, and collected. I loved how all of the answers were not given at the end of the book there are mysterious things left to wonder about. for instance, who is Constance? where-and when- is she from? i cannot wait to see this and other questions answered in the next installation of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    Should sell a lot more books than they do!

    I am an avid reader of all types of fiction and have been reading the books of Preston and Child since I picked up a copy of Relic several years ago. I was hooked and have since read everything these guys have written. I find it hard to beleive that more people don't buy their books or know about their work. Maybe they just need a new publicist but as far as I am concerned they are on my 'must read' list. From Relic through Brimstone Preston and Child do not disappoint. Great reads that mix a bit of the supernatural with reality that keep you turning pages until early in the morning. Brimstone continues the development of Agent Pendergast. I am looking forward to the next Preston/Child work. If you like suspense and occult type thrillers the Books of Preston and Child are a must. I would recommend you start with their earlier work and read those first. Although not necessary, they help to understand Agent Pendergast. I have yet to be disappointed in any of their works. They simply are in a genre of their own. Their books should be on everyone's bestseller list. Pick up any one of their books and you will be hooked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    HORRIFIC AND TERRIFIC READING

    Emmy and Tony nominee Rene Auberjonois gives a suave, sophisticated, suspenseful reading of this over-the-top thoroughly diverting thriller by the team of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. Protagonist FBI agent Aloysius Pendergast solves puzzles with finesse. He's been raised in privilege, yet, if necessary, he can fight like a street wise tough. He's a bit of a contradiction, and one of the most charismatic detectives to pop from the pages of a book. With 'Brimstone' he's teamed with former NYPD cop Vincent D'Agosta - a perfect foil for the urbane Pendergast to try to discover why art critic Jeremy Grove is found dead, toasted to a blackened mass. After all, this is the Hamptons, where such grisly crimes don't occur. Further, quite clearly next to the late Grove is the imprint of a cloven hoof burned into the floor. What the devil could that mean? Exactly. As more bodies are found and secrets revealed many wonder if the Devil actually has landed on planet Earth. Seems that these crimes can only be explained by the supernatural. Fortunately for listeners who enjoy scenic locations, Pendergast and D'Agosta's probing takes them to Italy, to an old castle in the countryside. Some two decades ago the unthinkable was summoned forth in this place. Vivid in detail 'Brimstone' is terror both horrific and terrific. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Requirements of The Assassins

    Scratched crudely on the tree trunk are symbols and pictures that tell the rules of The Assassins.<p>Obey the leader or die! But you can suggest stuff! [Illegible]<p>You must have a mark. It is your signature and your disguise. Must look like a face somehow, for example, *-* would be a very generic mark, but it would work.<p>In your bio, do not put too much information. You are an assasin, no one needs to know anything about you than what your name is, rank, appearance, mark, and possible themesong. Do not put a history or anything like that.<p>[Illegible]<p>If you want to become an elite assassin, you must be furtherly trained.<p>The leader is the only one who accepts new members and approves new ranks.<p>Don't [illegible] anything up!<p>All requests must be carried out. The job isn't done until it is done.<p>EVERYONE IS OR WILL BE AN ASSASSIN! And will be be only applies to kits. So everyone.<p>If the leader is not on, the second in command takes his place completely. If the leader is there, the deputy still has some authority, but not as much as the leader. The only thing the deputy can NEVER do is accept members.<p>The leader can kick you out whenever he wants! This usually only applies to those who ruin the reputation of the organization, hurt someone in the organization out of selfishness, bla bla bla. If you piss them off they may just not like you but depending on what you do, they can banhammer your ass from The Assassins.<p>This completely professional list must be followed at all times!<p>Barracuda X\//\\/X,<br>Elite Assassin<p>POSTED BY [Barracuda, elite assassin] AT ["falling angel" result 13] ON [April 18, 2014]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Nursery

    StoneClan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    I recommend it.

    It is an essential part of the Special Agent Pendergast series. As always, the series does involve violence and some gore, so none of the books are for the squeamish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Nursery

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Move over Sherlock

    Great mystery within a mystery. The characters are interesting and well developed. It is a worthwhile series to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    Another can't put er downer!

    This was a wonderful book. I have had many hours of enjoyment trying to match wits with Agent Pendergast. The author has a admirable talent for description, and keeps my imagination in high gear. I sadly have finished all of this series, and hope there will be more to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    APPRENTICE DEN

    Mountainstar

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    highly recommended

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Anonymous

    I have read ten of the twelve Pendergast novels and it didnt disappoint. This is one of my top ten all time fiction books. Definitely a must read for the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Excellent as always

    I love the Pendergast series. There are a few too many "convenient" plot developments for my taste (last-minute rescues and the like), but all the Preston/Child books are very well-written and hold your attention throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome series and Agent Pendergast is a gas!

    I was recommended this series by a friend in a book club Im a member of, thanks Tracy! Actually she recommended book 12 of the series and I cannot start a series so far in the future. I started at the beginning and have not been disappointed. At book five I am enjoying the layers peeling away of Agent Pendergast. He alone is worth the read but the truth is this is just a well wriiten series! I found myself liking this addition the most thus far and cant wait to start book 6!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Zoey

    Ewweh XD

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12