Customer Reviews for

Brimstone (Virgil Cole/Everett Hitch Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another Winner in the Old West

Parker shows his western prowess once again as we continue our time in the lives of Cole and Hitch. It's another trying tale, in another dusty coming of age town. An old character returns, and while you expect more of the same, that's not the case. This new town has ...
Parker shows his western prowess once again as we continue our time in the lives of Cole and Hitch. It's another trying tale, in another dusty coming of age town. An old character returns, and while you expect more of the same, that's not the case. This new town has new characters, with new goals and ambitions, presenting new issues for Cole and Hitch in the old west. It moves quick, with many climatic points, although the ending is fairly predictable. Never the less, it's a great read, but do yourself a favor and read Appaloosa and Resolution before you open Brimstone.

posted by 246851 on April 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The third book in the series is as good as the first two.

The first in this western series by Robert Parker was Appalosa. This was made into a movie with excelletn casting. The second book, Resolution,, continued the plot in another town. This book is a further continuation, and somewhat of a resolution of the relationshi...
The first in this western series by Robert Parker was Appalosa. This was made into a movie with excelletn casting. The second book, Resolution,, continued the plot in another town. This book is a further continuation, and somewhat of a resolution of the relationship betwen Virgil Cole and his loved one. I hope they make movies of the latest two. These are westerns in the "Gunsmoke" genre. A good read.

posted by xyz62 on January 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another Classic Western from Parker

    I enjoy these easily read novels because the characters are easy to like. They are simple men, yet philosophically, black and white, good and bad complex, no gray areas. It will be a shame to see this series end after book # 4.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Winner in the Old West

    Parker shows his western prowess once again as we continue our time in the lives of Cole and Hitch. It's another trying tale, in another dusty coming of age town. An old character returns, and while you expect more of the same, that's not the case. This new town has new characters, with new goals and ambitions, presenting new issues for Cole and Hitch in the old west. It moves quick, with many climatic points, although the ending is fairly predictable. Never the less, it's a great read, but do yourself a favor and read Appaloosa and Resolution before you open Brimstone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    The third book in the series is as good as the first two.

    The first in this western series by Robert Parker was Appalosa. This was made into a movie with excelletn casting. The second book, Resolution,, continued the plot in another town. This book is a further continuation, and somewhat of a resolution of the relationship betwen Virgil Cole and his loved one. I hope they make movies of the latest two. These are westerns in the "Gunsmoke" genre. A good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2014

    Great

    For someone who does not like western, I realling enjoyed this series of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Agian this series rocks!

    This second book in the series as good as if not better than the first. Fast read, straight to the heart of the matter and holds you there until the last page. It leaves you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Highly recomment!!!

    I read a wide varity and a good western is always enjoyable. This is a good western, an hardly wait to read the next in the series. Thanks B&N.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    LOVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    If you want a good cowboy read this series is it!! I love the characters. Robert B Parker is one of my favorites. I hope the series continues!!! P.S. If you haven't read Jesse Stone series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Virgil and Everitt just keeping the peace

    Played to perfection by Ed Harris and Viggo Mortenson in Apaloosa, Virgil Cole and Everitt Hitch are soft hearted dealers of death. Fabulous characters abound. Great dialogue. Only problem is bang for the buck, but I say treat yourslf and try the firt one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    Mr. Parkers Great western series

    I and manyyyyyyy others often talk about Mr Parkers lawmen , we anxiously await the new arrivals and admittedly re-read some, the stories flow, nice and easy, if I and friends want books or stories about rocket science we would buy them, the idea to us is to enjoy the story, with this series we relish the voyage, thank you and please keep them coming.I recently purchased the newest book, knowing I was going to have two procedures on my knee, what I looked forward to is the book which I had saved for my recovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good western read

    I love Robert B. Parker and didn't know about the Appaloosa, Resolution and now Brimstone characters until I saw that Brimstone had been published. So, I read the others two first. It's as addictive as Louis L'Amour. The characters remain solid and predictable, but there is an allure that keeps you coming back and wanting more. If there were anything that I would like to add to these books it would be more about the town and the areas around the town. I'll be waiting for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    Brimstone

    Good fast read for a hot summer day. Not one of Parkers better books but is fun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not as good as the others

    Slow moving and paints the character as a big wimp for getting back with Allie. I was very disappointed in this novel and felt that Parker was just churning out another book. It will take a lot for me to come back to him after this flop. Where is the book that can compete with "Lonesome Dove"?????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ed Harris and Viggo Mortenson need to ride again!

    The third in Parker's series starring Cole and Hitch, the laconic old West town-taming duo, cries for Ed Harris, who turned the first in the series into an excellent oater, starring himself and Viggo Mortenson, to climb back on those horses and get the next two filmed!
    After reading the first book and seeing the movie, I could just picture Harris and Mortenson as I read the words and actions Parker put in their mouths!
    Parker pens worthy successors to Elmore Leonard's western genre!
    Fine reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Robert Parker Series

    Don't care for the Spencer novels, Jesse Stone is good but Virgil and Everett are the best characters Parker has put into print. Can't wait for the next one to be released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Old West

    Typical Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch good gunfighter read. If your into westerns you'll enjoy any of the series three stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    Classic Parker

    Parker's characters are well thought out and always entertaining. Light, but excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Brimstone - more of the same

    Brimstone, like several of Robert Parker's other books - regardless of which series - was rather disappointing. While consistent in terms of the characters presented, the interaction between those characters have become repetitious. Yes, the themes of honor, friendship, the relationship between the sexes, faithfulness, and dealing with infidelity are the makings of a great story. But as repeated story lines in Brimstone or the Jesse Stone novels or for Spenser, they are beocming quite boring. So for those who want more of the same, almost exactly the same, then this will be a satisfying book. But for others, it may be time to give up on this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Parker rides again!

    Look, Parker writes a book in one style with gruff dialog, subtle humor and muscular description. I find his books emminently readable. If you like Parker's books, you love this one.
    If you've never read a Parker, or haven't read one recently, then get started on this author. He is a classic of American detective and adventure literature. His forty or so books will give you much pleasure and enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Engaging western

    First let me say I am a fan of Mr. Parker's "Jesse Stone" Series. I tried Appaloosa when It came out as I love a good western. However, I found "Appaloosa" to be a middle of the road read at best. It just did not come off as authentic to me. I like my westerns to a bit more true to the real old west (or at least the old west as I imagine it) ala "Lonesome Dove."

    I started "Brimstone" with some trepidation but found this reincarnation of Virgil Cole and Everett Hitch much more engaging then "Appaloosa." The story starts off a year after the Marshal and his deputy had put things straight in the frontier town of Resolution. Virgil can't get his mind off of Allie French. Though she has run off with another man, Ms. French has Virgil's heart and he has to find her. Cole and his deputy Everett Hitch make their way across Texas only to discover a crushed Allie working in a frontier brothel. The three of them head north to the town of Brimstone and attempt to start a new life, But things are not the same between Virgil and Allie. But Allie attempts to make her self anew through the local church that is headed by Brother Percival a fire and brimstone preacher who is not as Christian as he outward appearance. Percival rallies against the local Saloons in an attempt to shut them down but he has more on his mind. Of course, Virgil and Everett end up being hired on as the local peace officers and are forced to act when then preacher raises a ruckus and things escalate into murder.

    I really thought this book was an improvement over "Appaloosa," there was more going on here. The tension between Virgil and Allie really added a lot to the typical western story line. And I like how Allie was portrayed not just as a fallen angel but as a survivor, even though she had a lot to work out herself. I am looking forward to the movie!

    For a very cool modern day western check out Across the High Lonesome I picked it up after seeing it praised by Larry McMurtry and he was right!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Plot's a little loose, awful lot of dialog.

    Nobody writing mysteries these days puts less ink on more pages than the redoubtable Robt. B. Parker, and this "Brimstone" is no exception. The almost comically laconic protagonists speak in awfully short bursts, but each utterance takes up a whole line and at least 65% of the tale is told in this fashion. The plot itself is somewhat looser and less probable than its two predecessors and features a sort of Indian buck ex machina who really functions almost entirely outside the central story. Still, it's full of classic Parker repartee, iconic Western figures, blazing pistols and ruined damsels. As such, it's going to satisfy Parker partisans, as it did me. But only for the two hours it took to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3