Customer Reviews for

The Brimstone Key (Grey Griffins: The Clockwork Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great start to a "new" series

    The Brimstone Key is a great start to what looks like it will be a promising new direction in the Grey Griffins stories. As someone who has never picked up a Grey Griffins book before, I found this story easy to understand and catch up with. I may go back and read other Grey Griffins books now, while I wait for the next book, but I won't be going back to read them because I felt I was missing something here. That said, I probably did miss some things that devoted Grey Griffin fans will squee about. There were a few characters that were clearly making cameo appearances in this book, I assume from the previous Grey Griffin escapades, but they weren't so central to this story that I minded not really knowing who they were. Of course, there also might be a bit too much information and back story in the beginning of this book for someone who has just devoured the previous Grey Griffins series. Just because I appreciated all of the explanation and introduction of characters doesn't mean that everyone else will. BUT if you are a Grey Griffins fan, or are providing readers' advisory for one, rest assured that there is a lot after those first few chapters that Max, Natalia, Ernie and Harley were surprised about, so I'm sure you (or your reader) will be too.

    This book was pitched to me as a steampunk novel for middle grade readers, and I wondered just how the writers were going to pull that off with established characters from a series set in current times. They did it wonderfully and pretty realistically. Well, maybe realistically isn't the best word given that this is a fantasy novel, but the writers did not require any ridiculous suspensions of disbelief of me in order to fit the steampunk elements into the story. The Grey Griffins nemesis is a man who has spent the last century trapped in a Round Table card. When he somehow escapes, he restarts the experiments and projects that got him imprisoned in the first place. And voila! We have clockwork machines running amuck in the modern day (Templar cloaked) world. Fashions at Iron Bridge Academy also run on the steampunk-y style. At first, this was weird to me, but parts of it get explained away pretty understandably:

    * The Academy is not actually in Avalon, but in Iron Bridge, a Templar community outside of the "regular" world that has maintained Victorian sensibilities.
    * All the kids wear goggles because they can act out their Round Table tournaments with them.
    * A lot of the changelings are depressed about their lot in life, and so bring in the sort-of goth element.
    * All the grown-ups have weird weapons strapped all over them, especially when things start to get dangerous.

    Put all of that together with a bunch of evil clockwork machines and a "subway" restored to its turn of the century glory and you have a good old steampunk costume party at school every day, and because the Grey Griffins are woefully dorky, fashion-wise, all of this gets explained in great detail. While I'm a fan of the steampunk elements throughout (clearly), I don't think they are overwhelming to the story. Readers who are just looking for a fantasy or just looking for another Grey Griffins book shouldn't be put off by them.

    I really enjoyed getting to know all of the Grey Griffins (and a few new sidekicks). I'm sure that fans of the previous series will enjoy heading off to school with Grey Griffins here, and new readers are sure to be sucked in as well.

    Book source: Review copy fro

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Best book ever

    This book seems like a mix of the percy jackson series with the monsters and harry potter with

    the special school.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    ABSOLUTELY AMZINGLY AWESOME!!!

    I have read all the Grey Griffins books and was so overjoyed to find out that the adventure didn't stop there. Derek Benz and J.S Lewis are my favorite authors and did such an awesome job with this. I could hug them! And no joke if this book left you with a craving for the next one just wait till you see the cliff hanger for book two, The Relic Hunters. ; D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    the thriller of books!

    ive read it once, and loved it! it is a page turner and a definent page turner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    To sk

    That's fine :) Um, can you maybe post part 51 tomorrow?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    To SK

    Wow! That was a great part! ~ SEA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    The Legend of Samuel Knight part 51

    I couldn't fit the finale in the character limit so you all get another part. Next part at grey griffins book 2. This part is in Sam's p.o.v. On with the story! --- I saw my sword in the ground just a few feet away. Just as I was about to get it Marcus caught up to me. He grabbed my shirt and pulled me to the ground. His golden blade was at my throat. "You're finished." He said as he stood over me. I reached for my other sword, but he kicked it away. I had to think of something or I was through. He raised his blade to strike. I concentrated on his sword and as it was about to kill me, it bent in a 'U' shape. This caught him off guard and I used that to my advantage. I used my legs and swept his feet out from under him. I focused on my swords and pulled them over towards me. Now I had my swords by Marcus's throat. "I know you don't have the strength to kill me. You're weak." I raised my left sword to strike, but I turned the sword and hit him in the forehead with the pommel of the sword. He blacked out. "You're right." I said to him while he was passed out. "Julia grab Marcus and use your song magic. Put all your strength into your words." She stepped forward and put her hands on Marcus's temple. She sang a song and while it was in Latin it sounded beautiful. I understood most of her song. It told the story of all the good times she and Marcus had. After a few minutes she stopped. "That's all I could do." She said. Her voice was hoarse. "Now we wait." We sat there for what seemed like ages. Marcus began to stir. Everyone drew their weapons. He opened his eyes. Immediately, I knew something was different. His hand went straight to his head. "What hit me?" He said weakly. "Marcus.... how do you feel?" Julia asked him. "Julia? What's going on? Where are we? Who are these people?" Julia hugges him and he winced in pain. "You were gone for awhile, but now you're back." Julia said with tears streaming down her face, "I'll explain more once we get out of here." I looked back at Reese to see if she thought he was lying, but she shrugged. His words must've been genuine. I grabbed his back and reached inside to grab a familiar leather pouch. The bag of winds Jack had given me so long ago. This was our ticket out f here. We walked back over to the cliff where Marcus had entered. Everyone held onto the bag and I pulled the string. Imagine being on a rollar coaster going two hundred miles an hour. That's what riding the bag of winds was like. The winds seemed to be on autopilot. We flew out of Tartarus, up the entrance of Orpheus, and landed in the throne room of Hades. (Thank gods the door was open or we would've splattered against it.) Hades actually smiled at the sight of us, but it quickly vanished. "You survived." He glared at Marcus. "As for you. If you would have let me finish earlier I would've told you if you went down there you wouldn't come back the same person." Marcus looked confused. "What?" "Nevermind, father can you give us transportation home?" "I can do more than that." He waved his hand and we all passed out. We woke up surrounded by Marcus's guards. ---- To be continued...... for the last time. - SK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    I love this series

    I love this series so much! I just wish i could find the first series via NOOK! Oh well, maybe I'll have to go search for it in print (Not that i mind print, it's just easier to carry one nook vs several books in a series.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    To Cat

    Are you going to post soon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Look

    &#9818 &#9829

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    So rocking

    This book is the best ever!! Just as good as the first series!!! PLEASE BUY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Meet Digger Mole and His Family

    There youll find a review called Anaymous Janurary 13 read it and be ready.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    MOST WELL WRITEN BOOK THE BOOK IS ... Just AWESOME

    This book series is an extremaly great one for alll ages. It is filled with excitement, suspense, and emotion. This book of the Clockwork Chronicles series is about the return of the young Grey Griffens. They get a mysterious sign when they meet a beetle which leads them to the first part of there new journey. They are lead to find blueprints for some heavly armed machines. They soon figure out that the maker of the blueprints is called the Clockwork King, who is trying to save his daughter and won't rest intill he revives her ... therefore leading up to the Griffin's mission to stop him from get the main key to helping his daughter the Brimstone Key!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Free

    I want it to be free because i can only buy free books.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    AWESOME

    This book is amazing! Action packed and awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Is it good

    Ive not read this book yet but i have read the first series they wrote and it was great. The first book is called Revenge of the Shadow King

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    The best

    This book is exciting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    :)

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted September 23, 2010

    THE BEST!!!

    This book is so inspiring. It helped me find the genre that I like. It is truly an amazing book. Derek Benz has true talent. On a scale 1 to 10 I would give it a 10. If you don't read this I feel sorry for you. You don't know what you're missing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Middle Grade Fantasy at its BEST!

    I'm forever on the quest for fabulous middle grade--there just doesn't seem to be enough of it sometimes, at least compared to YA--and I can tell you right now, the Grey Griffins Series is some of the best. And just when I thought the books couldn't get any more awesome, they released this first book in the new trilogy--and they INFUSED STEAMPUNK!!!! Yes, you're reading that right. This book blends fantasy and steampunk. Yeah...that's like the definition of awesomesauce. (If, yanno, awesomesauce were an actual word.) I'd been waiting impatiently for the next book in the series anyway. But when I found out they were infusing steampunk this time I was almost ready to camp outside Little Brown until they gave me a copy. So I was very lucky that Jon Lewis scored me an ARC. And now it's available for everyone to buy--and I highly recommend you do so. Now, I know you're probably noticing the word 'series' in there, and thinking you have to read the other three in order to appreciate this one. But I can assure you, you don't. The others are awesome books, and I definitely think everyone should read them at some point--but you don't need to read them in order. THE BRIMSTONE KEY is the beginning of a new trilogy, so it's very much its own entity. Anything that needed to be explained from the previous series is, and in a way that doesn't feel exhausting to those of us who have read the books (I'm still amazed at how they pulled that off). So you get all the things that are great about the first books: unique characters, a cool fantasy mythology woven around Arthurian Legend, humor, magic--PLUS a new villain with all his evil steampunk plans. Win and WIN. Even if you're not into reading middle grade, you should give it a chance. You won't regret it. And if nothing else, buy it for your kids, grandkids, nieces or nephews because they will eat. it. up. I know I did. I can't WAIT for the next one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3