Customer Reviews for

Bringing Elizabeth Home: A Journey of Faith and Hope

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An Inspiration Without End!

"Bringing Elizabeth Home" was an inspirational story of how a family was able to end up making the best out of a situation, even when it was one of the toughest decisions the parents (Lois and Ed Smart) have ever had to make. Elizabeth was kidnapped on June 5, 2002 but ...
"Bringing Elizabeth Home" was an inspirational story of how a family was able to end up making the best out of a situation, even when it was one of the toughest decisions the parents (Lois and Ed Smart) have ever had to make. Elizabeth was kidnapped on June 5, 2002 but with their willingness to stay true to their beliefs, through prayer, faith, and love, they were blessed to have Elizabeth Smart returned. The family's dedication in searching for Elizabeth was unwaivering, with their faith put into God's hands. Elizabeth herself said, "You have to live life every day knowing how precious God's gifts are." This means to never take anything for granted and always be grateful for what you alredy have. It was inspiring to know that a girl just like me, my same age, had to go through all of that horror. With a bit more detail on the kidnapping, this book would have been "that" much harder to put down. I recommend everyone to read this book to inspire them to live every day to its fullest and never let your faith unwaiver. Anyone who does not read this book would surely be missing out!

posted by 568116 on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Bringing Elizabeth Home: A Journey of Faith and Hope

As a person who was in attendance at the White Houses Conference for Missing and Exploited Children in October of 2002 I was rather disturbed by the lie the Smarts told implying they had met with President Bush on that day. Perhaps Bush brushed by them and said 'God Ble...
As a person who was in attendance at the White Houses Conference for Missing and Exploited Children in October of 2002 I was rather disturbed by the lie the Smarts told implying they had met with President Bush on that day. Perhaps Bush brushed by them and said 'God Bless you,' but I know for a fact they did not meet with him. This book implied that they met with him and it was because of them the National Amber Alert was put into place. This is a total lie, there are many other parents who lost children and many children who died to make the Child Protection Act a reality. It was not all because the Smarts were in attendance and it makes me wonder if they lied about that what else they are hiding. Hmmmmmmmm??????

posted by Anonymous on November 7, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Bringing Elizabeth Home: AMAZING. A MUST READ

    This story written by the parents of Elizabeth Smart is an amazing story that really touched my heart. The family was an LDS family just like me so there strength and faith in the lord was incredible and it helped me gain a better testimony of my religion. The family went through so many traials but still seemed to stay very postitive in front of press and in theare home. They didn't let things get in there way and they didn't let people get in their way of finding their daughter. The major theme is going through your trials with a positive attitude and not letting things effect your attitude, even when they aren't going your way. I loved that the parents were so positive and had such a good outlook on the situation. I also loved that ELizabeth was brought home safe and sound. I reallly loved this book and think everyone Lds, or not should look into reading it because it can really change your perspective on your life and your personal attitude. Another book that you should read is, Handle With Care by Jodi Picoult because it is a great book with similar values. I would give this book 5 out or 5 stars hands down. This book is a great example of how we should handle things when trials come our way and it gives us a good perspective of how things can turn out when we do. I really reccomend this book and think that this story can change others lives. Elizabeth came home positive and happy and she didn't come home critical and negative. She got her life back on and really is living it to the fullest now. READ THIS BOOK IT WILL CHNAGE YOUR ATTITUDE AND PERSPECTIVE. I think that everything in this book was inspired and they really put their feelings into words. Getting Elizabeth home was a trial and conflict in the Smart's life but with theie positive attitude and willing heart they were able to bring her home safetly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    An Inspiration Without End!

    "Bringing Elizabeth Home" was an inspirational story of how a family was able to end up making the best out of a situation, even when it was one of the toughest decisions the parents (Lois and Ed Smart) have ever had to make. Elizabeth was kidnapped on June 5, 2002 but with their willingness to stay true to their beliefs, through prayer, faith, and love, they were blessed to have Elizabeth Smart returned. The family's dedication in searching for Elizabeth was unwaivering, with their faith put into God's hands. Elizabeth herself said, "You have to live life every day knowing how precious God's gifts are." This means to never take anything for granted and always be grateful for what you alredy have. It was inspiring to know that a girl just like me, my same age, had to go through all of that horror. With a bit more detail on the kidnapping, this book would have been "that" much harder to put down. I recommend everyone to read this book to inspire them to live every day to its fullest and never let your faith unwaiver. Anyone who does not read this book would surely be missing out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    This was AMAZING!

    This book was the best book that I have ever read. It was very emotional, but it really put their lives into perspective. I hope that everyone reads this book and really knows what actually happened. You can't judge a book by its cover & this book was AMAZiNG! I read this book in 3 days. I was really into this book. I usually dont like reading but this book was the one that I had been wanting to read. So PLEASE READ THiS BOOK!..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    Bringing Elizabeth Home: A Journey of Faith and Hope

    As a person who was in attendance at the White Houses Conference for Missing and Exploited Children in October of 2002 I was rather disturbed by the lie the Smarts told implying they had met with President Bush on that day. Perhaps Bush brushed by them and said 'God Bless you,' but I know for a fact they did not meet with him. This book implied that they met with him and it was because of them the National Amber Alert was put into place. This is a total lie, there are many other parents who lost children and many children who died to make the Child Protection Act a reality. It was not all because the Smarts were in attendance and it makes me wonder if they lied about that what else they are hiding. Hmmmmmmmm??????

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Fairly good

    Good. Slow at first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    A MUST READ FOR ALL PARENTS!

    I purchased this book this past week and read it in one day. It was impossible to put down. Every parent should read this and be inspired by this remarkable family and what happened to their daughter, Elizabeth. It is so uplifting to know that there are still families strong in their faith in a loving God. It is horrible, however, to see how police & investigators could have possibly believed they in some way could have been responsible for this horrific crime. It seems that it was handled in the same manner as the Ramsey case. I feel that the murderer of the Ramsey child was never found because the law enforcement spent way too much time on examining the family instead of finding the true killer. Also, it is hard to believe that all of our congressmen do not work toward passing laws to protect our helpless children. I recommend this book highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    AMAZiNG

    Well.. Im only 14.. and i had been dying to read this book. So asked for it for Christmas. & it was such a great book. It really puts your life and their life into perspective. I want to meet Elizabeth one day because she seems like the type of girl I am. I love the outdoors. & I hope that Elizabeth and her family and enjoying their life together as a family again. I encourage you to read this book. I cried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    The subtitle says it all, really.

    The subtitle says it all, really. Readers expecting to learn details of Elizabeth Smart's captivity should look elsewhere; there are no such revelations in this book. Her parents leave it to Elizabeth to tell that story herself, someday, if she chooses to do so. This is Ed and Lois Smart telling their own story, and that of their family's other members, during the months between Elizabeth's kidnapping and her return. Faith played a huge role in keeping the Smart family's hope alive during those months, so it's natural for them to speak of it often. For some readers this may give their book a 'preachy' quality, while for others it may strike exactly the right note. True crime this is not - it's more like a series of essays, sharing each parent's feelings while walking us through the events as they remember them. Worth reading, but oddly dry for all the material's tremendous emotional impact. I came away feeling that someone - authors, ghostwriter, editor(s), I couldn't be sure who - worked so hard at avoiding sensationalism that the effort backfired. 3.5 stars, rounding upward to 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    I Love Elizabeth!

    From the time Elizabeth came home until the time Elizabeth's parents wrote this book i was curious about what Elizabeth's parents went through. I could not put the book down until I was finished. I read it about 9 times before I got a handel on myself. Now people know ed and lois really do care about all their kids. It was a tragedy that somebody would kidnap a sweet, cute, innocent 14 year old. I also read Held Captive about 6 times until my teacher wanted to read it. I would recomend both books to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Awesome Story!! Worth Reading!!!

    When I first heard about Elizabeth Smart's kidnapping, I was worried for her parents. I was hoping that this would not turn out like the Danielle van Dam and Samantha Runnion tragedies. When I heard Elizabeth was found alive, I was overjoyed. I got this book as a Christmas present. I could not put it down. It does not preach too much and it was good to get the parents' side of the story. I would like to meet the Smarts one day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    yah ok already!

    I thought the book was alright. sure Elizabeth's parents went throught a lot but isn't the book suppose to be about Elizabeth? As a student who reads about true crime and things dealing with crime i have a hard time reading this book! I also have hard time believing some of the things they say about her case! All I can really say is read charle's manson's cases on brainwashing then compare it to the smart case and tell me you still believe it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    LOVED IT!!!

    I was really intrigued with this story, so reading this book brought closure for me. I found myself crying throughout the entire book....but it was the good kind of cry. It was a tragic story that had a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2003

    Excellent!

    I think this book is excellent, it is very heart warming and a great knowledge to go in to the life of their story and really understand what heppened!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    An Inspiration for Anyone with Trials

    'Bringing Elizabeth Home' was not only a story of one family's triumph over one of the greatest possible trials, it was an inspiration to anyone facing any type of personal trial. The Smarts' sharing of how they used their faith, scriptures, and prayers, helped me through my own personal trial. As big as my own problem seemed at the time I picked up the book, their much greater trial put my problems into perspective and helped me tremendously. I wish I could thank Ed and Lois Smart personally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    It touched my life

    Bringing Elizabeth Home was a very touching stroy. I recommend everyone to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    What a tearjerker!

    I cried off and on throughout the entire book! This family has my utmost admiration for what they've endured and how they've responded to their ordeal. They are an inspiration...and this book is an inspiration! It underscores what's really important in life. The book is a quick read; it only took me two days. It would make an excellent gift book for anyone needing a little inspiration and/or for those who believe in miracles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    Very Good!!!

    This past Friday I spent 2 hours reading this book, unfortunately I only got about half way through the book. But as much as I've read, it's a very good book. Ed and Lois tried hard to protect Elizabeth's story, but also showed readers what they themselves were going through, and in the end everything will work out. It's a book to keep on the shelf, and get out and read it if you're feeling down, it will bring you up. Two Thumbs up to Ed and Louis Smart. I'm only 17, and I've become very interested in this story, for whatever reason, I don't know.. But it's a heartfelt story of belief, faith and hope, very inspiriational to NEVER GIVE UP.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2003

    ELIZABETH HIS SAFE WITH HER FAMILY...

    WHEN I HEARD OF THIS I CANT WAIT TO WATCH AND GET THE BOOK.I AM HAPPY SHE HOME YOU GUYS ARE VERY LUCKY.I WOULD DO THE SAME THING IF THAT HAPPEND TO ME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    Bringing Elizabeth Home: A Journey of Faith and Hope

    This book really made me sick to my stomach. I suppose if you are a Mormon and wish to pad Ed and Lois' growing bank account buy this book otherwise stay away. This is way less about Elizabeth Smart and more about converting people to the LDS church. YUCK!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    Elizabeth is kidnapped

    The Smart family is full of faith and hope. they want her daughter back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2