Customer Reviews for

Bringing Up Boys

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Very Provocative Read

My wife and I found this book to be very informative especially for parents that are weary of the negative influences of our society. We are in a cultural war that started in the 60's with flawed theories about our roles in society. Some reviews here may claim that th...
My wife and I found this book to be very informative especially for parents that are weary of the negative influences of our society. We are in a cultural war that started in the 60's with flawed theories about our roles in society. Some reviews here may claim that this book is full of anti feminism, but honestly, it only illustrates how men and women were made differently thus causing us to behave differently. He clearly points out how experimental education models are not working today in our society and we should be wary of the attacks on those of us that just want to raise children with high moral values. If you want to raise boys that have respect for women and will contribute greatly to society, this book is for you. If you are liberal leaning and do not want to admit the problems caused by our societies attacks on moral values and social responsibility, this book may not be for you.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Okay but I felt even worse as a parent

Dr. Dobson was on the right track. In the beginning I felt wonderful having a boy and excited for the adventure. But then I got to the part where he mentioned things such as 2 parent families, working, etc. I felt down. Not what I chose, but making a way for my famil...
Dr. Dobson was on the right track. In the beginning I felt wonderful having a boy and excited for the adventure. But then I got to the part where he mentioned things such as 2 parent families, working, etc. I felt down. Not what I chose, but making a way for my family. I am a single parent, working a full time job. I am proud of that. I should not be discouraged that my son will be different because of that. I just felt that if you weren't the 2 family stay at home parent, you already had the problem. Dr. Dobson, be more encouraging for those that choose other paths.

posted by mom2jess on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    Very Provocative Read

    My wife and I found this book to be very informative especially for parents that are weary of the negative influences of our society. We are in a cultural war that started in the 60's with flawed theories about our roles in society. Some reviews here may claim that this book is full of anti feminism, but honestly, it only illustrates how men and women were made differently thus causing us to behave differently. He clearly points out how experimental education models are not working today in our society and we should be wary of the attacks on those of us that just want to raise children with high moral values. If you want to raise boys that have respect for women and will contribute greatly to society, this book is for you. If you are liberal leaning and do not want to admit the problems caused by our societies attacks on moral values and social responsibility, this book may not be for you.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    Okay but I felt even worse as a parent

    Dr. Dobson was on the right track. In the beginning I felt wonderful having a boy and excited for the adventure. But then I got to the part where he mentioned things such as 2 parent families, working, etc. I felt down. Not what I chose, but making a way for my family. I am a single parent, working a full time job. I am proud of that. I should not be discouraged that my son will be different because of that. I just felt that if you weren't the 2 family stay at home parent, you already had the problem. Dr. Dobson, be more encouraging for those that choose other paths.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    Mixed feelings

    All of the reviews about this book seem to be either 5 star or 1 star and I would like to give a middle of the road review. This book was a gift from a conservative cousin and I am quite a bit more liberal. Despite my trepidation about reading this book, which was based only on my knowledge of Dr. Dobson and Focus on the Family, I found there were some very good concepts in this book along with the things I did not agree with. Despite my personal feelings about Dr. Dobson's views on homosexuality (which I knew upon receiving the book I would not agree with) he makes some very good points about safe-guarding the emotional well-being of our boys and the importance of male role models. Overall I preferred Michael Gurian's "The Wonder of Boys", but frankly he makes similar arguments to Dr. Dobson simply from a less conservative/religious point of view. I think people with conservative leanings are more likely to enjoy this book, there are concepts in it that can be a difficult read for those of us that are more liberal.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Best advice for parents of boys period!

    It is so refreshing to read good sound advice on raising boys to be men. Dr. Dobson hit it right on the head. A must read for everyone not just parents.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2004

    A Must For All Parents Raising BOYS!!!!!

    As A mother of 4 active boys (ages 2,4,6,8) I needed moral and valuable insights into the upbringing of these wonderfully masculine creatures. I feel more confident about the character and faith formation of my wonderful boys. After reading Dr. Dobson's book, I can honestly say that I feel blessed now to have the opportunity (with the help and influence of my husband, a more involved father as a result of this book!) to raise up 4 much needed Godly men!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    huge disappointment

    I had big expectations from this book, tips on how to raise boys to be precise. Unfortunately the whole 300 + pages will mostly be useful to those who are interested in statistics and sophisticated language. It is just rambling about social issues. The author is defending conservative views throughout the book. There is no need to defend them, I already agree with them. There is nothing new, no details on bringing up boys. Waste of money, waste of time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    I can't wait to return it

    Raising a boy can be difficult! That's why as I was running through the store chasing after my 19 month old son, I was so excited to see this book. I guess if I had been alone I would have had more time to review the book before making a purchase. This book is judgemental in several ways, but most overtly against homosexuals. I found this difficult to get past. Also, it makes several references to pop culture (MTV, Rock Music...etc) as "predators". I am only 28 y/o and this is not the 1950's Dr Dobson. I thought this information was supposed to be practical in it's content, instead it just comes across as judgemental and holier than thou. What would Jesus think of that? This is the kind of view that only drives a wedge between today's parent and the next generation. Congratulations, you just gave me some insight into how NOT to raise today's man.

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    A DEFINITE WINNER!

    I'M SO GLAD THERE'S FINALLY A BOOK ABOUT RAISING BOYS THAT IS HELPFUL AND NOT FULL OF THE LIBERAL DUNG THAT MOST IDIOT'S ARE FEEDING PEOPLES MINDS WITH! I'M ALSO GLAD THAT THIS BOOK EMPHESIZES THE NEED FOR A MALE FIGURE IN CHILDRENS LIVES! TO ANYONE WHO PUTS THIS BOOK DOWN,TRY LOOKING FOR A BETTER BOOK ABOUT RAISING BOYS!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2006

    Thank you Dr Dobson and Thank you Lord!

    It does my heart and soul a great service to know that there is a man like Dr. Dobson out there that wants to make sure that boys are being raised as they should be and has generously taken his time to educate society on the proper way to raise boys in this messed up and confused society. I have four grandsons and am very pleased and blessed to know that my daughters will raise there sons the way God meant for them to be raised. Thank you again Dr. Dobson, I greatly admire and respect your views! It is my prayer that the narrow minded views that some of these readers have expressed will have their hearts and minds opened to the truth. I feel deeply sad for the sons and grandsons of these people that feel the way they do about your book. I pray that they too do not grow up to believe that they are 'gay' or should be treated disrespectfully by some television shows that portray men to appear like brainless and heartless idiots. God help them for they do not know what they do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2008

    Loved this book!

    I found this book to be very helpful with my own son. I would recommend it whole-heartedly to any parent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    great read

    I believe the book to be an informative read and commend Dr. Dobson on writing a great book. When children are killing other children in schools, we have a problem. This book teaches you to be the childs parent, not his friend. Some people might have a problem with that notion, I do not.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2004

    Totally Outstanding!!!

    This Christian based, honest outlook on raising boys in today's society was just outstanding. I felt that I really connected with this book. My husband and I are raising two young boys and can relate to alot of issues presented in these chapters and alot of issues we yet to deal with. But with the help of this book, we can feel more at ease with how God would want us to handle each situation. Society today has been drawn away from good morals and the teaching of Christ. I recommend this book to everyone whether you have boys or not. It has so much information about males in general and would be informative for understanding husbands, fathers and boys. Wish they had 10 stars for this one!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Thank Goodness!!!

    I am a married mother of three, 2 of which are boys 8 & 4. I struggle daily to understand my role as a mother with them and have questioned my parenting thus far, whether too strict or wanting them to 'behave'. I have always wondered why the boys behave the way they do. This book has helped me understand where they are coming from emotionally, physically, hormonally etc. and has helped me realized they are 'being boys'. I have been amazed at the statistics that are provided. Especially those regarding the prison system, learning disabilities and children born out of wedlock and the role that the presence or non-presence of a father plays in these areas. After reading this I have also learned alot about my husband as well and the needs he has from me as a wife, for support and confidence. Dr. Dobson gives a easy, open read that is Biblically based. This book has helped me raise my children not just as Christians but raising them to be confident and secure in who they are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2002

    Single Moms...stop the whining!

    Dr. Dobson hits the nail on the head! Boys and girls are DIFFERENT!!! Gloria Steinem and her band have been proven wrong. Not only by Dr. Dobson, but by a host of other authorities from Johns-Hopkins studies to non-Christian researchers. Studies are coming forward that the fall of our nations morals and the rise in the divorce rate stems from women thinking that there can be 2 bosses in the home, men have been raised to think that they are bumbling fools. This is pretty evident from the current sit-coms that display men as mediocre and the women as the wise, know-it-alls. This is not a "How-to" book, but a guide to understanding your son and if you are a parent of an infant son, it's a guide to filter certain elements from the home. To the single moms/working moms, this may seem as a slam. Well, maybe it is. Not only the Bible, but in other philosophies through out the world, it is written and evident that a child warehoused to a paid individual will suffer. Confucius stated that 'A son without a mother to guide him morning, noon, and night will be a lost ship the rest of his life. A son without a father to lift him up to touch the stars will forever be a ditch digger.' European countries have long realized the importance of the mother being at home with her children. Simply by the generous maternity leave these countries give their women . Norway gives up to 3 years maternity leave...paid! And Fathers are required to take a 30 day leave to spend time with the baby the first year or they lose their benefits. And vacation time in Europe is so generous and becoming more so due to the fact that their culture is watching America fall and sees that dads need more time at home to raise their kids. This is the most AWESOME book for parents for boys and should be required reading for todays teachers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    Your on to something here

    I was very disappointed in the book¿s excessively idealistic view of raising boy¿s. We all live in a realistic country in which all sorts of people must interact while dealing with unique interests and ideals (public vs. private schools). I consider myself to be conservative by nature and agree with the majority of the book's ideas. However, some of these concepts are stretched into an ultra-conservative and non-realistic point of view.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2002

    All boy!

    In the book Bring up Boys, has helped me to see that boys WILL be boys.untill I read this book I was real worried that my son was so rowdy and bad.(he is only two) The book uses real people and stories from other mothers with boys, how to give them what they need without spoiling, how to repremand your child to see what they have done is wrong and many other helpful tips for mothers or aunts,grandmathers, and even fathers. There is a chapter or two just for the fathers. I think that this book is an excellent adition to anyones collection who has a son or is expecting a son. I was from a family of all girls on both sides, so when my son came along I was shocked, but now I see that he is not a monster, just a normal little 2 year old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    Very Disappointed

    My wife and I were very disappointed with this work. We found that the book was almost exclusively directed to the very rowdy boy. The more quiet or sensitive boy was hardly addressed and when he was it left the impression that this type of boy was pre-homosexual at worst and just odd at best. We were also disturbed at the numerous and what we felt were outrageous and ludicrus examples he used aimed at what he called "feminist" or strong women and the perceived danger that they do. It seemed as though he was angry with women. We did pick up a few good points but not enough to recommend anyone purchase this book..

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Judgemental and offensive!

    This book is NOT what the description suggests. It is sexist and homophobic, and preachy, preachy, preachy! There is no actual advice on raising children; the entire thing is the rantings of a religious nut. It implies not only that being gay is a preventable disease and the worst thing that could possibly happen to your child, but that single mothers are incapable of raising children. Dobson is under the illusion that without a fther figure in his life, your son WILL be gay, and if he is, you should try to get him to change. This is so, so wrong! Being gay is innate, and it cannot be "cured". Dobson doesn't understand that by making someone feel asamed and guilty of their attractions, you are not "curing homosexuality"; rather, you're setting them up for a life of misery by having them hide their feelings. Please, parents, do not listen to this advice, no matter what your religious beliefs are! Rather, practice the unconditional love so highly spoken of in the Bible - and I do mean unconditional. If your child is gay, reassure him or her that NOTHING will change your feelings for them. If your love for your child would diminish if you found out they were gay, you are no parent in my eyes. Practice loving, not shaming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    I think Dr. James Dobson has a very good insight on raising our

    I think Dr. James Dobson has a very good insight on raising our boys to become productive in society! I believe Dr. James Dobson will honestly tell it like he see it and what God expect from parents now-a-days! We need all the help we can get because otherwise our society will suffer also our boys that will become men will be cheated out of some healty choices! People take a look at our world, our nation, our society, our schools, our chruches! We need to wake up and have an open minds to those that are connected to wisdom!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Been waiting for this on nook

    Thanks for having this on nook. I have 2 boys, and this book would help me much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3