Customer Reviews for

Bringing Up Boys

Average Rating 3.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Very Provocative Read

My wife and I found this book to be very informative especially for parents that are weary of the negative influences of our society. We are in a cultural war that started in the 60's with flawed theories about our roles in society. Some reviews here may claim that th...
My wife and I found this book to be very informative especially for parents that are weary of the negative influences of our society. We are in a cultural war that started in the 60's with flawed theories about our roles in society. Some reviews here may claim that this book is full of anti feminism, but honestly, it only illustrates how men and women were made differently thus causing us to behave differently. He clearly points out how experimental education models are not working today in our society and we should be wary of the attacks on those of us that just want to raise children with high moral values. If you want to raise boys that have respect for women and will contribute greatly to society, this book is for you. If you are liberal leaning and do not want to admit the problems caused by our societies attacks on moral values and social responsibility, this book may not be for you.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Okay but I felt even worse as a parent

Dr. Dobson was on the right track. In the beginning I felt wonderful having a boy and excited for the adventure. But then I got to the part where he mentioned things such as 2 parent families, working, etc. I felt down. Not what I chose, but making a way for my famil...
Dr. Dobson was on the right track. In the beginning I felt wonderful having a boy and excited for the adventure. But then I got to the part where he mentioned things such as 2 parent families, working, etc. I felt down. Not what I chose, but making a way for my family. I am a single parent, working a full time job. I am proud of that. I should not be discouraged that my son will be different because of that. I just felt that if you weren't the 2 family stay at home parent, you already had the problem. Dr. Dobson, be more encouraging for those that choose other paths.

posted by mom2jess on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    I can't wait to return it

    Raising a boy can be difficult! That's why as I was running through the store chasing after my 19 month old son, I was so excited to see this book. I guess if I had been alone I would have had more time to review the book before making a purchase. This book is judgemental in several ways, but most overtly against homosexuals. I found this difficult to get past. Also, it makes several references to pop culture (MTV, Rock Music...etc) as "predators". I am only 28 y/o and this is not the 1950's Dr Dobson. I thought this information was supposed to be practical in it's content, instead it just comes across as judgemental and holier than thou. What would Jesus think of that? This is the kind of view that only drives a wedge between today's parent and the next generation. Congratulations, you just gave me some insight into how NOT to raise today's man.

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Judgemental and offensive!

    This book is NOT what the description suggests. It is sexist and homophobic, and preachy, preachy, preachy! There is no actual advice on raising children; the entire thing is the rantings of a religious nut. It implies not only that being gay is a preventable disease and the worst thing that could possibly happen to your child, but that single mothers are incapable of raising children. Dobson is under the illusion that without a fther figure in his life, your son WILL be gay, and if he is, you should try to get him to change. This is so, so wrong! Being gay is innate, and it cannot be "cured". Dobson doesn't understand that by making someone feel asamed and guilty of their attractions, you are not "curing homosexuality"; rather, you're setting them up for a life of misery by having them hide their feelings. Please, parents, do not listen to this advice, no matter what your religious beliefs are! Rather, practice the unconditional love so highly spoken of in the Bible - and I do mean unconditional. If your child is gay, reassure him or her that NOTHING will change your feelings for them. If your love for your child would diminish if you found out they were gay, you are no parent in my eyes. Practice loving, not shaming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    Disappointing! Shame on you B&N!

    After reading excerpts from the book in Parents Magazine, I ordered a copy. What B&N leaves out of the description is on the back cover; it offers "advice and encouragement based on a firm foundation of biblical principles." Not what I wanted! I had to stop reading by page 5 when he began preaching. <BR/>There is nothing wrong with the message that Dr Dobson is conveying. In fact some parents may find this book to be perfect for them. However, this is not the advice I was seeking for my family and am curious why B&N would hide the true nature of this book to it's customers.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2008

    Abolutely Crazy - Don't Waste Your Time or Money!

    I couldn't even read the first half of this absolutely offensive book. I have thrown it away. I would never refer or give this book to any of my family/friends with children. I would have to say this is one of the worst books I have ever read.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2006

    This book is Not Recommended

    If you want a book that is pro boys and pro family, try reading The Good Son by Michael Gurian. It's fabulous and so on point with what is going on in the world. It helps us to best parent our boys while keeping in mind that we all live under different circumstances. Mr. Gurian brings up realistic points and invites parents to think of the big picture when parenting - be mature and sensible yet do not lose the emotion or heart it takes to relate to our children.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2005

    Dobson should have retired a LONG time ago

    If you're a mother who plans on hugging your son past the toddler years and would consider letting him play with a kitchenette Dobson would call you a bad parent who is raising a son bound to be gay. This book made me sick and the fact that Dobson is considered by some to be an authority on family issues is just heart breaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    'Poor' is an understatement!

    Talk about backward thinking! Mr. Dobson needs to wake up and realize that we're not in the 19th century. Society grows and we must change with it or be left behind. Our views on various diseases, for instance, once thought to be 'God's punishment', now realized as physiological maladies that can be remedied or cured. If we applied Mr. Dobson's view of life to the world in which we lived, they would still be looked upon as 'God's punishment' and millions would die from something otherwise benign. He teaches that strong-willed women are 'bad' and that every boy needs a father - practically FORCING women who have faced the trauma of having their husbands killed in the war in Iraq to remarry or face, in Dobson's view, having your son grow up gay. This man is a danger to your family - he needs to focus on his own family and leave yours alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    This Book Reinforces NEGATIVE Stereotypes

    As an elementary school teacher and mother of a young son, I thought this would be a helpful and informative guide filled with powerful tools to help me be a good parent. What I found was a book filled with stereotypes. I feel that all this books serves to do is further complicate the lives of our sons, especially those who do not fit the stereotypes adhered to by Dobson. Dobson also claims that homosexuality is a disease that can be 'cured.' As an edeucated person I find this to be an ignorant and predjudice breeding belief. The book claims that boys are harder to raise than girls and that fathers should take an active 'rough and tough' role with their boys. It downplays the role of the mother and the significance of the mother-son bond. I wish I would have researched this before wasting money on it. As a side note, Dobson also believes that the cartoon character 'Sponge Bob' is gay and that children shouldn't watch the show. His comments waste time and spread hate in this world. Dobson's intolerant views will only lead to a further divided society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2004

    Too bad we can't give negative stars

    My husband and I received this as a gift and were appalled at the anti-feminist, homophobic, religious morality rhetoric contained within this book. It is a dangerous misrepresentation of imperical psychological data to formulate correlations that are not only incorrect but also insulting. The level of chauvinism and bigotry are astounding. The author includes amusing antecdotes and a few remedial suggestions for raising boys. However, this only hides the fact that he wants you to raise homophobic, masogonistic children that will be more confused about themselves and the world that they live in. You will be better served choosing another book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    WHAT?

    Terrible. Just terrible. Why would this win an award?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    Disappointed

    I was really hoping to get some good advice on raising my son. Unfortunately, this is not the book to read. Although I agree that children need their father's in their lives and need to be stronger role models for them, I found most of what Dr. Dobson said to be outdated and even offensive. If Dr. Dobson had just argued that boys need stronger male role models, it might have been ok. But the book was more of an attack on feminism and working mothers than anything. I definitely would not recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    Out of Touch

    I read this book to have a perspective on raising boys. As a mother of two sons and two daughters, I am interested in issues that specifically relate to each gender. In this book I found little that gave me new insight into my sons and to top it off a lot that was offensive to me as a woman with daughters. Dobson quotes feminists from the 60's to provide a current perspective. He also espouses highly offensive views on women, basically asserting that women who are a into mechanical items or don't dream of their own wedding are not feminine and a threat to men. To Dobson I say quit being afraid of strong women, we only raise strong men.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    Yikes!

    I must start by saying that I had not heard of Dr. Dobson before I purchased this book. As the mother of two young boys, I was attracted by the book's title, and I was hoping for some insight into the minds of boys. However, Dr. Dobson's ideas offended me on so many levels, I don't even know where to begin. Dr. Dobson believes that things were just fine until Gloria Steinem and the "liberal feminists" came along and changed everything. If you are a fundamentalist Christian who believes that the woman's place is in the home, and that the man should "serve as the leader of the clan", then this book is for you. However, if you have evolved beyond the 1950's, then you should pass on this one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1