Customer Reviews for

Brink of Death

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    Don't Forget to Breath!

    This was my second book that I have read by Brandilyn, the first one being her novel, Deceit. Was I disappointed? I am glad to say that I was not.
    Brandilyn's style of writing is the same as it was in Deceit: Quick-paced and thrilling. The plot was definitely a great one.
    The imagery was wonderful and I especially enjoyed the description of the Kingston's street. You will know what I am talking about when you read the novel.
    This book (and I am sure the rest of the series) gives us a look into the profession of forensic art. This is a topic that has always fascinated me and I am glad that Brandilyn put some good focus and gave us some good information on it.
    This book is written in the first person (with the exception of the prologue which is in the point of view of the victim's daughter. There are also multiple chapters in which it is the killer's point of view third person). Brandilyn succeeds in putting us in Annie's mind and letting us see all her emotions.
    All the characters are great and I hope to see all of them come back in the next book in the series which is called The Hidden Faces Series.
    Brink of Death definitely lives up to Brandilyn's logo, Seatbelt Suspense: Don't Forget to Breath.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Great book

    I was unsure if I'd like this "Christian" mystery as I am not religious, and I enjoy very gory, hardcore serial killer-type novels. I was pleasantly surprised. I didn't feel that the parts focusing on God were overwhelming or too lengthy to lose my interest. The book was suspenseful and fast-paced enough that I didn't miss the gory details I usually like. I am looking forward to reading the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Fantastic1

    Found the first book at Goodwill! Quickly read and bought the next three ebooks!!! Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Christian Mystery Writer

    I really enjoy this author. I enjoy her writing style and the gripping stories of murder and mystery. They also include a search for a relationship with God throughout her stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    Wow! Intense! Emotional!

    I read the third book in this series first and couldn't wait to get my hands on the first book. Brink of Death starts off with heart pounding intensity and carries you on a wave of suspense to a nail biting and emotional climax. So intense, it brought tears to my eyes! Heartily recommend the other books in this series! - Cynthia M. Hickey, author of Pursued By Evil and A Dream Fulfilled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2004

    New Series Gets a Grip

    From the opening scene in BRINK OF DEATH you know you¿re in good hands. You¿re also in for a ride - one that thrusts you into the world of Annie Kingston - single mom, former courtroom artist, and a woman about to live a nightmare. Told in Annie¿s engaging first person point of view (except for the prologue and the scattered scenes following the villain in third person), there are no wasted words. Every chapter leads you seamlessly into the next. Tight, suspenseful, and peppered with compelling details about forensic art, BRINK OF DEATH will keep you up waaaaaay past your bedtime. And the good news is it¿s book #1 in the Hidden Faces series (#2, STAIN OF GUILT available October 2004). Without compromising the thrills, Brandilyn keeps her story clean, which is something Christian readers will appreciate. But this is also a book you could give to friends or relatives with no concern about hitting them over the head with its religious message. We¿re gently led to think about God as we follow Annie¿s story. Final word? The characters in BRINK OF DEATH are REAL (no cardboard stereotypes here), and this series will win Brandilyn many more loyal fans, myself included.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2004

    Sit Down and Hold On

    Annie Kingston is in the race of her life. It is a race to help twelve-year-old Erin Willit create the face of the man who killed her mother before he can finish what he started. And a race for Annie to find the faith she wishes she had. In Brink Of Death, the first book in The Hidden Faces series, Brandilyn Collins has raised the bar in Christian Fiction. This one has more jolts than an IV bag full of Turkish coffee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    Brink of Death by Brandilyn Collins

    A chilling murder mystery plays out against the backdrop of families broken apart. Annie Kingston is trying to protect her family, especially her teenage son, from the evils of the drug culture. Finding a haven in her deceased father¿s second home, she is drawn into a bizarre mystery. Her skills as an artist are needed to help apprehend the murderer of a neighbor. Brandilyn Collin¿s mastery of language paints layers of feelings for the readers as she takes them inside Annie¿s head as well as into the thoughts of the perpetrator. You won¿t want to put the book down until you¿ve finished it. I can hardly wait for the next book in the Hidden Faces Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2004

    Breathtaking!

    Once again, Brandilyn Collins has written a book I couldn't put down. Brink of Death made my heart race from page one. The story of Annie Kingston is one that will stay with me for a while. She is one of those rare characters who is so well-written, I feel like I've just been through the story with her. And what a story it was! Brandilyn is a master of suspense. The twists and turns left me scared to turn the page! And yet, Annie is a mom with worries about her children, with real faith struggles and quesions. It made me root for her all the more. Annie is a heroine worthy of this excellent story. I can't wait for book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    Hauntingly Beautiful

    Brink of Death by Brandilyn Collins is a horrifyingly grand murder mystery. With its hauntingly beautiful narrative, and its vivacious characters, it¿ll do more than have you turning pages non-stop. It¿ll have you saying, ¿Is one nightlight enough?¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2004

    My Top Pick for the Month

    Annie Kingston doesn¿t believe for one minute that she has helped with a murder investigation. In fact, she worries she may have actually caused a grave error that can only hinder the search for the killer. Despite her reservations, Annie bravely continues to seek after the truth. Is she confused and heading in the wrong direction? Or is she about to face her own BRINK OF DEATH? This first book in the series, by Brandilyn Collins, will have you on the brink of sleep deprivation with enough doubt to confuse even the most prolific reader. Make sure you leave all the lights on and try not to breathe too loud ¿ if you even remember to inhale, that is! Well done, Ms. Collins!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    Still Shivering . . .

    I can¿t remember the last time I caught myself literally holding my breath as I read a book. Brink of Death gripped me from page one. The scenes are so real and so vivid, I knew without question I was the one walking in Annie Kingston¿s shoes, not Annie! Brandilyn Collins has crafted a story filled with angst and mystery on several different levels. She draws us into the world of forensic art and whets our appetite with the promise of more in her new Hidden Faces series. At the same time, she portrays a character struggling to trust a God she¿s not even sure exists. Brandilyn carefully weaves all these threads into a great read. Without question, one of the best mysteries I¿ve read in years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1