BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Brisingr (Inheritance Cycle Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2698 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1997)

4 Star

(427)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(60)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Pure artistry!

Brisingr actually made me cry at parts! Fantastic writing. Each book in the Inheritance Cycle is better than the last! Chris Paolini is an impressive writer! When I read his books, I can't put them down! The depth of detail and his writing style provide a vivid mental i...
Brisingr actually made me cry at parts! Fantastic writing. Each book in the Inheritance Cycle is better than the last! Chris Paolini is an impressive writer! When I read his books, I can't put them down! The depth of detail and his writing style provide a vivid mental image. I can read his books and it's like a watching a movie in my head. I love Eragon, and I get choked up every time Brom is mentioned. I hope he finishes that fourth book soon. It's as bad as it used to be to wait for the next Harry Potter book. And when will they make the next movie?!?

posted by VaBookworm on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

wow

I've never been more disappointed in a book. The writing is illogical. I finally gave up on it, because I got tired of shaking my head at the poor and/or forced imagery. The writer has gone backwards in his prose, trying to use as many profound words to discribe his ...
I've never been more disappointed in a book. The writing is illogical. I finally gave up on it, because I got tired of shaking my head at the poor and/or forced imagery. The writer has gone backwards in his prose, trying to use as many profound words to discribe his story as he can ram in, which robs the work of power. One of my "favorite" terms was describing someone "the color of an invalid". Offensive and very poor writing. I liked the first two books, but I'm said to say it this book turned me off in a big way. Writing isn't about using big words. Its about capturing your reader, and the author did just the oppisite with this work.

posted by WadeHunter on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    Does not live up to the other books in the series

    At former student recommended that I read Eragon a few years ago. I finally got around to it this summer. I loved the book and got the second on in the series before I completed it. The second book was also very readable. I was very disappointed in Brisingr. It was completely unnecessary and I truly wish that Christopher Paolini had stuck to his original plan of make this is a trilogy. Brisingr was full of stale and uninteresting dialogue. I also didn't appreciate the many times that events from the previous two books were explained in detail for those that were not in the know could be caught up to speed. There was also so much blood and gore that I thought that the genre had switched to horror.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very disapointing

    I first read Eragon knowing it was more for younger readers and I thought it showed alot of potential and when Eldest came out it was a definate improvement for the series and now I have waited years for Brisingr only to be horribly let down. This book really was nothing but pointless filler. There is nothing wrong with books that have little action and of course you need back story and what not to advance the plot but all of that needs to be relavent. Alot of the new plot points really should have been cut and had no place in the story. Really we need to read 5 or 6 chapters on Eragon trying to decide if he should/can punish Sloan blah blah blah. It was pointless. I really think that CP is afraid to finish the series because he doesn't have anything else so he wrote in a bunch of nonsense to make it into a fouth book. Not to mention he needs a better editor because there were so many errors in grammer I almost started correcting them in my book. I don't think I'll be picking up the fouth one.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    To hi you wrote this on Feb. 7th

    Do u have a nook if u do, do u want to be nook friends??????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    hi

    Im bored i wish i had a ipod touch soooooooooo bad. Mom says to much your not old enough bla bla bla

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Wow

    Iloved the first second and 4th nut this one is boring

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Disappointed

    I wanted to read this book sooo badly, (great book but didnt work out on my nook) so i bought it and read it till, like, pg 156 then it just deleted itself from my nook!!!!!!!! Buy it if u think u want to read it once then have it deleted.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Yes, I finished Brisingr. I risked not rereading Eragon and Elde

    Yes, I finished Brisingr. I risked not rereading Eragon and Eldest, but thankfully, it wasn't needed - Christopher Paolini summarized the two again in the prologue to spark my memory.

    Spoiler alerts for those who haven't read Eldest yet.

    A great novel, except for the fact that Eragon gets annoying and ponders things far too much...

    [SPOILER ALERT]
    Christopher, I'm disappointed. I saw the whole Brom thing coming, I called that he would get a new sword, and I believed with a certainty that he and Arya would get closer.

    Honestly, with the exception of the dragon's heart-of-hearts, I wasn't that surprised by anything. It's still a great novel, mind you, and written well, and you can get into it. It just wasn't as shocking as I expected.

    I still really want the next one to come out, like, now, because I want Galbatorix dead.
    [/SPOILER ALERT]

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Worst of the Inheritance Cycle

    Let's be honest...Brisingr doesn't pull the same punch as do its predecessors, Eragon and Eldest. This book lacks any element of freshness, though Paolini's writing remains excellent. Character development is lost amid the onslaught of battle scenes and rescue missions. Although Brisingr expands on some themes from Eldest, it does not provide enough description to make these themes look natural and authentic. The pacing in Brisingr is abrupt and at times nonsensical, as scenes do not always flow into one another. There are also many scenes that could have easily been eliminated with no harm done to Paolini's plot, but Paolini chooses to keep them, making the book a long, slow and tedious read. If you must read Brisingr, then do so for the quality of Paolini's writing style, which is excellent. Just be aware that this book contains lengthy descriptions, various tangents and an excessively mechanized plot, making it grossly inferior to Eragon and Eldest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Se onr sverdar sitja hvass!

    BUY IT NOW!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    None

    You cuss?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Ok

    It wasnt all that great it took me a few months to get through it. I felt the storyline dragged and that it was all over the place. The charcters got on my nerves half way through. I hope that the next book is better.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    Ok

    Could have been better but the new one will be awsome

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Please make it stop!

    I have an obsessive-compulsive need to finish what I've started. Thus, I have now finished Brisinger, the third book of what WAS the Inheritance trilogy. Why, oh why, did he not let the misery stop?! The story line of the series is cute but amateurish, and borrowed from other classics. Instead of getting on to the ending of the series (as he should have) Paolini dribbles about here and there adding in pages of details and politics that very few of us are interested in reading. If he had cut out all that stuff, and got along with the story, we'd be done now! Also, Paolini's writing style still hasn't matured any from the first book: he still tries way too hard. I'm finding the characters less likable, and the story has gotten a bit bloody for my tastes. Normally I'd ignore the violence for the sake of the plot, but I lost the plot amid all the dithering in details.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    A Disappointment

    After reading Eragon and Eldest, I was extremely disappointed in this book. Compared to Eragon and Eldest, which I would recommend to any middle/high school student who enjoys the fantasy genre, I found the story to be slow pace, and it was difficult to get into the story. Despite a few events here and there that were interesting and exciting this book did not get good until 3/4ths of the way through, when you finally started getting to the battle scenes. I am interested to see if any of the seemingly uninteresting dialogue will actually lead to anything in the final book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    Wow. That's really all I can say. I was waiting for forever for this book to come out, but it really didn't live up to my expectations. I don't know if this is because of the book itself or my heightened expectations after the dramatic ending of Eldest, but I'm disappointed. The real mistake was in splitting the last book. No matter how full the last one was going to be, creating Brisinger in between just expanded the series and made it drone on. There was so much in the plot that Eragon needed to do, but didn't provide anything for the story as a whole. The huge dramatic ending of Eldest was dampened by Eragon's random travels (to placed we've already seen) and the absence of Murtagh. The climax, especially, felt like it was just thrown together, so that characters would have something to do that felt almost pivotal. The only satisfying part of the book was Roran's insubordinate actions, and even that seemed rushed. As a whole, Brisinger was an unneeded sequel that contributed nothing to the series. Although I do not think highly of this book, I still plan on reading the final installment, in the hope that it will be as satisfying as I expected Brisinger to be.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    Pointlessly long...very dissapointed...after Eragon, this whole series is just going downhill.

    I LOVED Eragon...i couldn't put it down when i first read it in middle school.
    Eldest was just extremely boring...
    and Brisingr was just pointless!
    I hated how the auhtor had trouble just sticking with one plot.
    The book overall was not continuous at all, and that made it really boring cause you couldn't be drawn into the story...
    Just like i did in Eldest I was always tempted to skip pages(and sometimes even whole chapters).
    And the author doesn't really seem to develope characters very well.
    They all just seem like empty shells.
    I really hope he does better in his next book.
    I mean i love long books....when they're actually exciting to read.
    Brisingr was just .... a blob.
    It's a sin for a book to be this long, and this boring.
    Harry Potter books are long but they are NOT boring, cause the author can actually stick with the story and make it an adventure...
    Was very dissapointed when I finished reading this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    what?!!!

    I was very excited when i heard about brisingr being a fan of eldest<BR/>and eragon im also a homeschooler like the author and even if i didnt<BR/>want to i would feel obligated to read the the series. I have to admit<BR/>that obligation is whats gonna be driving me to read the next one. This<BR/>book really sucks i guess all authors have problems here and there this<BR/>i suppose is paulinis first. In this book we are fed a plot that is in<BR/>no way suprising at all there are things wich i guess paulini intended<BR/>to be suprises after learning them i wasnt the least bit suprised in fact<BR/>i expected half the things that ended up happening. Paulini really wasted<BR/>alot on dwarf politics wich arent interesting like at all we have to<BR/>trudge through 100+ pages of stupid dwarf stuff only to find a conclusion<BR/>that we have long expected in the first place.The book reveals the secret<BR/>to galbatorix power and it is one of the corniest things i have ever read.<BR/>Plot aside the writing in the book is pretty much top notch in that category couldnt have asked for more. All i ask is that book four isnt like this one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    It would have been amazing...if it were 300 pages shorter!!

    Big fan of the series for the record, so I was thrilled to have it in my hands and ready to be read. But honestly it took a lot longer to get into than I would've hope. A lot of the stuff in this book could have been easily cut out. Quick poll: Do I care about Kull legends? No. Do I care about Dwarf legends? No. Do I care about the many topics the dwarves need to cover before choosing a King? Again No. Anytime someone said "Do you know the story of [insert titles here] I thought to myself, well I can skip the next five pages. Touching on the Dwarf topic again. Honestly Eragon was bored stiff during the process, so why do we as readers need to suffer along with him? I didn't see the point. I also noticed I liked Eragon less as a character he seemed to be I don't know dumber this time around, just not making the best choices. Yet another annoying thing I didn't want to see continued from Eldest: Switching back and forth from Roran's point of you. I understood it in Eldest and I didn't like it but I understood it. But this time I didn't find it necessary. Why couldn't we just speculate what going on missions and newlywed life was like. We even got some other points of view, if I'm not mistaken...again not necessary. These books are focused on Eragon so please for the sake of my sanity and free time let's keep it that way! A few of the events seemed very cliche, but I won't spoil them for people who haven't finished the book yet. I really was disappointed, and I hope the fourth one will tie up all the loose ends and maybe be more of a page turner. Overall disappointment, just read a summary from a dedicated source and you'll have spared yourself many a wasted evening.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    We waited years for this?

    I dont see how/why it took Paolini so long to write this 'much ado about nothing but filler'. How old will we be for the 4th book 5th,6th? I dont mind extending the series, but lets not wait while us Joes go through puberty-college-marriage-retirement-death(I knew an old man that was waiting for this book to be released) between book releases. At this rate, how can the story ever finish... Did someone swear another secret oath to delay substance? Thanks for making me wait C.P.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    I'm questioning whether I should finish this series.

    I read Eragon and it was good enough to get me to read Eldest, I read Eldest and I really liked how the story was progressing, I just finished Brisinger and let's just say I wish i hadn't bought the book at all. Now I'm questioning if I should even bother with the last book. The book can pretty much be summed up into a few major plot points with a TON of filler in between. The filler I can deal with though. If Chris feels like it was important to further the story and immerse you into this world so be it, the thing that really dissapointed me was the fact that all the twists are predictable ones, and even the ones that you might not have seen coming aren't nearly as good as they good have been. I was more than willing to read through a little descriptive text (however boring the Dwarf Election was) so I could get to some story changing plot points that would surprise me and maybe make me go wow. Only they never came. I battled my way through what I would say was about 300-400 pages of filler only to get to predictable twists? My advice, wait until it comes out on paperback and then wait a little more then MAYBE if you got some spare change you've been saving up you might wanna go buy it from a used book store. As for the library, its not worth risking the late fees.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3