Customer Reviews for

Brisingr (Inheritance Cycle Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2690 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1991)

4 Star

(426)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(60)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Pure artistry!

Brisingr actually made me cry at parts! Fantastic writing. Each book in the Inheritance Cycle is better than the last! Chris Paolini is an impressive writer! When I read his books, I can't put them down! The depth of detail and his writing style provide a vivid mental i...
Brisingr actually made me cry at parts! Fantastic writing. Each book in the Inheritance Cycle is better than the last! Chris Paolini is an impressive writer! When I read his books, I can't put them down! The depth of detail and his writing style provide a vivid mental image. I can read his books and it's like a watching a movie in my head. I love Eragon, and I get choked up every time Brom is mentioned. I hope he finishes that fourth book soon. It's as bad as it used to be to wait for the next Harry Potter book. And when will they make the next movie?!?

posted by VaBookworm on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

wow

I've never been more disappointed in a book. The writing is illogical. I finally gave up on it, because I got tired of shaking my head at the poor and/or forced imagery. The writer has gone backwards in his prose, trying to use as many profound words to discribe his ...
I've never been more disappointed in a book. The writing is illogical. I finally gave up on it, because I got tired of shaking my head at the poor and/or forced imagery. The writer has gone backwards in his prose, trying to use as many profound words to discribe his story as he can ram in, which robs the work of power. One of my "favorite" terms was describing someone "the color of an invalid". Offensive and very poor writing. I liked the first two books, but I'm said to say it this book turned me off in a big way. Writing isn't about using big words. Its about capturing your reader, and the author did just the oppisite with this work.

posted by WadeHunter on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Disappointing

    The first two books were great... but Brisinger was 'much to do about nothing'. Shame we had to wait so long. I will not be so anticipatory for the fourth book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Not as good as I had hoped

    About half way through this book, I wanted to bang my head against the wall. It got really boring for a while- there really wasn't much action until the end. And that's saying a lot for me to find something boring, I read a ton. The ending was the best part, I think. But very sad. =( Although I rather enjoyed the 'Doctor Who' reference. Hah, I'm such a nerd. I really hope the last book is good. I'll probably chuck it in my fireplace if it isn't, because I really liked 'Eragon' and 'Eldest' and I hate to be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Disappointing

    I was expecting much more out of this book considering it was the third in the series. This book made me at times wonder why it was even written. It was just completely slow throughout most of the book, without anything amazing happening. I was expecting the character of Eragon to grow in this book, but he just seemed to just stay the same. I was hoping in this book there would be less Roran and Katrina, but there was even more than in Eldest to me. I just wanted the focus to be on Eragon and his growing education. The book seemed to be pointless until the end, when it seemed like things finally started to get exciting. I do enjoy this series though and can't wait for the next book. Overall, I enjoyed reading this book I just wish it had the same quality story as the first two books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Just a filler

    This book is pretty much only a filler for the FOURTH book. That is all you need to hear. You should wait until it goes down in price to buy it. That, or just borrow it. But I guess it is worth reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    Okay, but so similar

    well i do admit that eragon and eldest are very good, but the story line is something many people have already heard from LOTR and star wars! The romance part of this book is not great either. Ayra should decide to be with Eragon, or Eragon should get over it and find someone else. This part of the plot has been carried on for too long. I also hate the movie and was suprised chris allowed the movie to be so different from the book. I am excited for Brisingr but i hope chris explores something new in this book and keeps away from the similar plots of LOTR and star wars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Yet another Dragon title

    I guess we'll never tire of Dragons

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    Good, but derivative

    Inheritance is a compelling series to read but it takes so much shamelessly from greater series. The writing style is also somewhat simple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Too Bad...

    Its too bad that this book just leaves us hanging for the 4th and final book. It was not an exciting read until the end. Eragon's character hasn't seemed to grow and he still lacks alot of wisdom that you would think would be greater at this point in the story. Overall, while the book is still worth a read I would not recommend people buying it at the hard-cover prices and definitely wait until it comes out on paperback or go to your local library to pick up a copy. We have waited three years for this book and I wonder how long we will have to wait for the last book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Typical filler, moderately entertaining.

    I had no idea the Inheritance Trilogy became Inheritance Cycle. Either Paolini wanted to answer a lot of questions, make more money, or was pressured by agent/publisher to turn three best-sellers into four. I would be much more pleased if at least there was substantial advancement in Eragon's character and abilities, and we didn't get much of that. Paolini could have added another 100-150 pages to the book, cut out the boring nonsense and finished the series. Too bad for us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    A Complete Review Of Brisingr Please Only Read Review If You Have Alreasy Read Brisingr

    While Brisingr was a much antisipated book, and I will give it credit for being well written, it has one major flaw i that there is very little plot or twists that happen in all 784 pages. I enjoyed Eldest very much because it did just the thing that Brisingr didnt do. In Eldest, the story grew a great deal. Ajihad is killed, the twins are revealed as traiors, Eragon travels to Du Welden Varden to continue his training and discovers the exsistence of another Rider and Dragon, Katrina is kidnapped by the Razac, the entire village of Carvahall is forced to flee thier homes and join the Varden, Eragon is transformed by the dragons and given the abilities of an elf, the Varden and the Empire finally converge, Murtagh is now a Rider, and Eragons father is revealed as Morzan, just to name a few. These are all the things that make the story interesting, that give it substance. But in Brisingr, I can think of only five things that effect the story in general, and a few of them most of us already predicted the Razac are killed, Orik is elected dwarf king, Eragon gets a new sword, the source of galbatorix's power is revealed, and Oromis is killed. That and the fact that Brom is actually Eragons father are the only things that really happen in Brisingr. The rest is just a boat load of un-necessary dialogue and unwanted politics that really dont amount to much in the end. The fact of the matter is that more plot happened in the first 200 pages of Eldest than in all of Brisingr. If CP had really wanted to, he could have kept it as a trilogy instead of turning it into a cycle, because if he had cut out all the un-necessary dialogue and politics, the book would have consisted of about ten chapters. The thing that is most disapointing about Brisingr to me is the ending. In Eldest, the ending was shocking and it left me hungy for more. In Brisingr, the ending is rather boring and leaves you wandering were can the story can go besides the Varden storming Uru'Baen and Eragon slaying Galbatorix. The creation of the shade had me excited for a couple pages because I thought that Eragon would have a new foe to battle in the next book, but I was disapointed when the Shade was killed about two minutes later. In the end, Brisngr left a bitter taste in my mouth because I was expecting another thrilling novel like Eldest and Eragon. The only reason I am giving it three stars and not two is because this book is the bridge from Eldest to Book Four. I am still a huge fan of the Inheritence Cycle, and I cant wait for the next book to come out, but overall this book just didnt come up to par.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    this book sorta sucked

    it took me longer to read this book than the rest it was pretty boring for the most part i was rather dissapointed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    Great Themes, But A Bit Too Bloddy

    My family has enjoyed the first two books in the Eragon series and we have been looking forward to Brisngr. I finished it today and while I enjoyed it I feel that, as a mom, I should warn other parents that there is quite a bit more blood and gore in this installment. While the themes stress that war is never the answer and that killing for the sake of killing is wrong, the descriptions of the battles and assorted mutilations are the stuff of nightmares. Watch out!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    Long, dull

    Very long and boring. I'm more than half-way through, and the total time elapsed is about 2 weeks. It keeps switching between Roran, (as if we could care less about him), Eragon (like every 2 or 3 chapters) and Saphira (BORING). Not reccommended for the light reader. It seems like the author did not know where he was going, and, like Harry Potter 4-6, could have cut out alot of stuff. Roran has all the battles: about 2 so far. Eragon had one with Thorn and the Ra'zac near the beginning. Other than that, its pretty dull.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    he has no loyalty to his fans

    i read the first two books and they were great...i could not put the books down ...however i was not happy with Brisingr ...there were many pages on nothing .You should have shown some loyalty to the fan who read the book and stick with the three books as it was planned originally ...The last few chapters relating to orik and orimis and the sword could have been the first few page of the third book they were the only eventful thing to happen in the book..... PS at least JK Rowling after doing her seventh book as promised from the beginning did not add an eight just to make more money.......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Its good

    This story is just a filler. The only thing this book does is explore more of the character's personality... The plot doesn't really change... Its a decent read, if you have nothing else to do.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    Unnessesary in length and it left me wanting

    I enjoyed Eragon, and it kept me reading consistently. I skipped the first few chapters in Eldest because they were completely unnecessary and boring, but after a few chapters I was captivated and I couldn't put the book down. Brisingr, I found, was mixed. I didn't want to skip entire chapters, but often there would be paragraphs and pages at a time that were so boring I had to skip them. I read it as thoroughly as I could, but I found myself racing through the book to get to the good parts. Yes, there were good parts, but they were few and far between. I still don't understand why C.P. killed Oromis as a 'side note' without describing with more detail what happened. Perhaps we'll get an insight during the fourth book. Being that C.P. wrote Brisingr as a filler for book four, he had better hit us with a seriously good novel in book four, because he's heading down a slippery slope into mediocrity. I can definitely see how a middle-school student would be completely entranced, but the more mature reader is left wanting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    Very Derivative, but Fun

    The Inheritance Trilogy-excuse me, Cycle-is a hotly debated book series. The first book sold on hype alone the fact that it was written by a 15-year-old sealed the deal for most people. But reading the books more closely, one notices that these books are no great work of fiction. The Inheritance Cycle is not very original at all. It seems more like the dream of a 15-year-old fantasy lover. It's a mash-up of Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, and other popular fantasy and sci-fi works. But that doesn't necessarily make it less fun to read. The Inheritance Cycle is a book you can get into easily, and you don't feel bad about picking it up or leaving it off at any time. Reading it isn't as much of an investment. So if you're looking for a book to read on a plane ride, or in a car trip, this is a good one. But if you're looking for a deep, involving read, don't go for the Inheritance Cycle.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Unoriginal..

    When Eragon first came out, I was very eager to read it because I am a fantasy lover, and I heard that the author was very young. I was utterly disappointed to find a book that draws so much from other series, and from standard fantasy themes. Eldest wasn't much of an improvement, though Paolini's writing style does get better. I look forward to reading Brisingr simply to see how his writing has developed, though I hope as well for a more original story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    The Much-Contested Mr. Paolini

    I have read Mr. Paolini's books and to a degree, I have enjoyed them. They are lacking, however, a certain degree of finesse 'especially as regards Mr. Paolini's clumsy handling of romance'. Not a bad effort for his first forays into authoring. That being said, he's got awhile to go before he can compete with the Robert Jordans of the world. To create and maintain so massive and comprehensive a world with the ease by which Jordan did is perhaps something that Mr. Paolini can aspire to. Personally, I believe a bit more real-world experience will temper the young author's views and will actually help his fantasy writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    Just saying

    Ok so no one's read the book but i have faith that you did a wonderful job so keep writeing an d have fun!! =

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 146 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8