Customer Reviews for

Brisingr (Inheritance Cycle Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2679 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1983)

4 Star

(426)

3 Star

(146)

2 Star

(59)

1 Star

(65)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Pure artistry!

Brisingr actually made me cry at parts! Fantastic writing. Each book in the Inheritance Cycle is better than the last! Chris Paolini is an impressive writer! When I read his books, I can't put them down! The depth of detail and his writing style provide a vivid mental i...
Brisingr actually made me cry at parts! Fantastic writing. Each book in the Inheritance Cycle is better than the last! Chris Paolini is an impressive writer! When I read his books, I can't put them down! The depth of detail and his writing style provide a vivid mental image. I can read his books and it's like a watching a movie in my head. I love Eragon, and I get choked up every time Brom is mentioned. I hope he finishes that fourth book soon. It's as bad as it used to be to wait for the next Harry Potter book. And when will they make the next movie?!?

posted by VaBookworm on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

wow

I've never been more disappointed in a book. The writing is illogical. I finally gave up on it, because I got tired of shaking my head at the poor and/or forced imagery. The writer has gone backwards in his prose, trying to use as many profound words to discribe his ...
I've never been more disappointed in a book. The writing is illogical. I finally gave up on it, because I got tired of shaking my head at the poor and/or forced imagery. The writer has gone backwards in his prose, trying to use as many profound words to discribe his story as he can ram in, which robs the work of power. One of my "favorite" terms was describing someone "the color of an invalid". Offensive and very poor writing. I liked the first two books, but I'm said to say it this book turned me off in a big way. Writing isn't about using big words. Its about capturing your reader, and the author did just the oppisite with this work.

posted by WadeHunter on November 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 426 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Paolini at his best.

    Christopher Paolini does a great job at continuing the series. The ending left me wanting more and i can't wait for the next book. Paolini did a great job at making his characters grow and reveling more about the fantasy world that he created.

    26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2007

    Such A Long Wait, Now Seems Even Longer

    I had about given up on The Inheritance Trilogy. Now with a press date released, I have more confidence. After they massacred the book(s) with the movie, I hope this novel will not decieve readers with horrible writing and a bad plot line. Overall, I'm very excited to hear of Inheritance Cyce #3.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I keep rereading!

    I love this book! Actually, I love this series! I started reading "Eragon" in high school, and have kept up with it, 6 years later. "Brisingr" is a fantastic addition to the series, delving deeper into the story behind each character, and giving some understanding to WHY and WHO they are. Getting to Eragon's familial past, for example, changes him, and gives him more strength to fight Gallbatorix. Showing Roran's efforts in the war, and what it has cost him, is also changing and exciting. I cannot wait for the last book to be released; I think it has been far too long!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    A Captivating and Well-Written Story

    Brisingr, written by Christopher Paolini, is a great success. Mr. Paolini does a great job when detailing the many races introduced in the story as well as depicting the many battles that take place on the continent of Alagaësia. At first, Brisingr may intimidate most people because of its size, but once you start reading, you won't want to put it down.<BR/><BR/>Brisingr is a continuation of the Inheritance Cycle, book number three. The title of this book is well chosen and there is a lot of meaning that is added to the word "brisingr" in this story. Each character is depicted and visualized by words very well. Both Eragon and Roran are both equally important in this book and the story focuses on both their adventures and battles. This book also has some romantic scenes between Mr. Paolini's characters, as he tries to develop their personality (following up to the next book in the series) which I think adds to the emotional touch the reader feels. There was a chapter that Christopher Paolini wrote where the reader¿s view is through Saphira. This chapter felt a bit odd because Saphira's thoughts were not able to be written in proper English. It was a good attempt, and many Brisingr fans would say that it was new perspective that hadn't been seen on Alagaësia before.<BR/><BR/>Brisingr may have been a long book, but it was well worth reading. Time passed by so quickly when I read that I finished the book half the normal time it takes me to read any other book. Christopher Paolini has, once again, produced a worthy treasure in the Inheritance Cycle.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Totally Fun Read

    Dragons, elves, dwarfs, human, and those not-so-human weave a wonderful tale about a new Dragon Rider.
    My only complaint which I have found in all 3 of this Cycle of books is scattered here and there (not frequenty) are blank pages - which should have more of the tale to tell - simply aren't there.
    If you enjoyed Harry Potter as an adult you'll enjoy the Interitance Cycle Series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Brisingr A riveting book indeed

    This book shows the excellence of the greats. The work that Christopher displays is fun to see. Hats off to master Paolini

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Inheritance Book 3, just as addictive as earlier installments

    Paolini's third book in the inheritance series is just as exciting and addictive as its predecessors. The story is engaging, suspenseful and extremely imaginative. He's created a magical world with charming and terrifying characters that keeps us coming back for more. Looking forward to the next chapter in this dynamic series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    The epic tale continues...

    Brisingr by Christopher Paolini is the third book in the now Inheritance Cycle. The battle of the Burning Plains has just ended and everyone is anxious to see how things will turn out next. There are many tasks set before Eragon now that the battle against the empire has begun. There are many enemies he must defeat and friends to mourn. Loose knots are tied, but new questions are asked. The people need Eragon and Saphira now more than ever, but their oaths to the different races might interfere with their greater goal.<BR/> There is definite improvement as to how Brisingr is written compared to the first two books. There is much more detail and a greater variety of description styles. The story is easy to follow and the words flow smoothly in your mind. The writing style is simple, but not primitive. <BR/> The characters are very diverse in Brisingr. They aren¿t just different versions of one personality and they aren¿t your typical cool guy, or obnoxious girl. Each character is unique, complete with their own identity. <BR/> The humor is pretty dead in this book, but then again it has been for this whole series. Lines that are obviously meant for humorous relief are placed in uncomfortable places. It throws off the rhythm of the story and they aren¿t even funny. Humor fails in this book because the author doesn¿t do a good job at surprising the reader with unexpected reactions by the characters.<BR/> Unfortunately, unlike the first two books, Brisingr isn¿t quite exciting. It¿s more like you¿re reading just to get to the next chapter instead of reading to find out what¿s going to happen next. It isn¿t very exciting and it lacks in action. <BR/> It seems like most of the book is a filler and no noticeable progress is done towards the main plot of the story. Although this is necessary, otherwise the flow of the story might seem odd and unnatural. <BR/> Still, if you have read the first two books then you¿ll surely appreciate this one. Questions that rose during the first two books are put to ease in this book. You get to see Eragon and his friends develop and the book¿s share of unexpected twists are sure to keep you interested.<BR/> This would be a good book for someone who likes the fantasy genre or books like Lord of the Rings or Star Wars. A thirteen year old will have much more fun with this book and a seventeen year old. The vocabulary isn¿t too advanced, but I advice having a dictionary close by for those who aren¿t experienced with much vocabulary.<BR/> You don¿t have to read the first two books to read this one as the author has provided a brief three to six page summary on the first two books. Although I recommend reading the previous books to better grasp what is going on.<BR/> Overall this is a pretty decent book. It¿ll surely keep you satisfied while your read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    Good book, adds on to stellar series.

    I have read and re-read all the books in this series. The series starts with Eragon. It continues with the sequel Eragon, Eldest. The third installment in the series is Brisingr, which means fire in the ancient language. <BR/>This book is quite the page turner. I don't read a lot but i could hardly keep myself from putting this book down. It almost engulfs you in a whole other universe of mystical proportions. Paolini's universe revolves around an evil king Galbatorix, who realy doesn't show any mercy towards anyone or anything. The third book reveals the secret to Galbortorixs power. <BR/>The only real issue i had with this book( and it really isn't a big deal at all.) is the fact thta the book doesnt really end. The book just abruptly stops without much of a conclusion. All this considered it is still a great addition to the series.<BR/>Paolini has succeeded in creating a novel that appeals to many different bases of fans. People who love suspense novels will throughly enjoy this book. Also people that are into dragons and mythical animals and places will also revel in brisingr's immense amount of mythical character and locales. Finally people that love romance novels can also find a common ground with this book. Eragon is smitten with the elf, Arya, So therefore many of his thoughts and actions revolve around her.<BR/>I would highly recommend this book to any one that falls into any of the fanbases i previously mentioned. Pretty much anyone can enjoy this book. It is quite hard to put down. You can basically jump into this book from cover to cover. Go buy it now before all the pygmies buy them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    A good read.

    I almost put this book down and gave up on the series. It took me about 300 pages to really get into it. After that, the story seemed to pick up and I could not put it down. I agree with some of the reviewers that the story tends to parallel LOTR and other fantasy novels, but for the most part Paolini keeps it interesting. The whole dragon bond and shared emotions between riders and their dragon is quite appealing and unique. Overall, it was a good read and I look forward to the final installment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Brisingr: A good read, but many flaws

    People will find this book intense and exciting because it is full of contrasting emotions and epic battles. For example, when Eragon was attending the ¿clanmeet,¿ he experienced hatred from one of the dwarf clans towards him. He said, ¿If Saphira were here, they would not dare be so rude,¿ referring to the rudeness of the dwarf clan called Az Sweldn rak Anhûin. The book contains many mixed emotions. For example, one day, ¿Saphira wriggled with satisfaction all the way from the base of her head to the tip of her tail. Today was a perfect day¿her happiness had only one flaw, but it was a profound flaw¿she wished Eragon were there to share the day with her.¿ She says this when Eragon is attending the ¿clanmeet¿ and she had to stay with the Varden. This book also has the strong emotion of sadness, desperation, and loneliness. When Eragon and Saphira are in battle, they discover that their teachers, Oromis and Glaedr, have died in another battle. They say, ¿We are the last¿free dragon and Rider¿.we are the only ones left. We are alone.¿<BR/><BR/>There are many benefits of reading this book. They include a greater vocabulary range, a larger imagination, and an increased interest in reading. The downfall of reading this book, however, is that the book is often confusing if you haven¿t read the first two books in the Inheritance Cycle. Also, Brisingr¿s battle scenes may be a little too descriptive to some people. Sometimes it seems as if the book rants aimlessly for a while, but it is all worth it in the end. It¿s an excellent book that anyone could read and enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A very good read-not the best

    I eagerly waited for this third book to be released and bugged the sales staff at the store every week in anticipation. <BR/>I really did enjoy the book, but feel as many others do that it is very long winded and also too violent. I want to be entertained, not feel my stomach lurch. Paolini can suggest the violence and our imaginations would do the rest. We don't need graphic details. <BR/>I would have preferred spending much less time with the dwarves and more time with the elves. They have much more to offer in my opinion. Story lines were started and went nowhere (perhaps they'll be addressed is the fourth book)and after the big build up of the other secret dragon, it was incredibly disappointing that he was killed off so easily in a battle. <BR/>It's worth the read, but could have been better. Paolini has talent and imagination but needs to concentrate.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    Great story, but with a few flaws

    When I picked up this book I was beyond excited. I thought, "Finally I can read it!" Then I got home, got cozy, and began. And it didn't take long for me to feel immense disappointment. The beginning didn't feel like part of the series to me and certain aspects of it seemed a little illogical (I'm not talking about the dragons and stuff like that, but the actions of some characters). I also felt Paolini was also trying to force humor upon us that wasn't commonly that great and bored me with long dialogues that had little impact on the story. At that point I was thinking about stopping, but the curiosity that the other two books had built kept me going. I then reached the second half of the book, and that's where I could not put this book down.<BR/><BR/>Paolini has sharpened his skills immensely when it comes to combat. The fights that transpire were always involving and thrilling. I couldn't put the book down until late at night, when I knew I wouldn't be able to get up for school the next day if I didn't stop. like in eldest, Roran got the best and most exciting part of the story (in my opinion, at least), and his fights were just as exciting as a battle between two dragons. <BR/><BR/>The story itself left me with a bunch of moments where I think I know what's going to happen, thinking that Paolini has made it too obvious, but then he reveals his red herring along with the truth as well.<BR/><BR/>Other than that, I found that the insight we saw into each character was far more in depth, and we now have vivid detail into who these people are. I did, however, find Eragon strangely violent in his thoughts and solutions, so much so that I found my self shaking my head. I mean for God's sake, he thought about trapping people and forcing them to his will multiple times. <BR/><BR/>There is one more thing that annoys me, though, that I must say. Paolini, now that he uses much more detail, is prone to adding certain things here and there that are so pointless that they hurt more than do good. For example, when Eragon is talking with Oromis you're really into it. Then, all of a sudden, the talking stops and a humming bird flies in, drinks from one of their cups, and then leaves. Then the conversation continues. What the heck? <BR/><BR/>Overall, though, I thought this was a great read, and every fan of the series should read this without a moments hesitation. I would give it 5 stars, but the first half and endless dialogue was too much for me, so I must take one away.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Anonymous

    This book is great.like fighting at end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    He ran out of inspiration.

    Like all of Paolini's books his editor forgot to cut another hundred pages out. First off, a warning: DO NOT ATTEMPT TO READ BEFORE THE FIRST TWO

    If you enjoyed the first two this one is worth reading. Problems in the book are when the author attempts to make the dwarves japanese (boshidu), the elves native american and the story a second lord of the rings. No offense but it doesn't work in a european style fantasy. Plus all the ?&@! about Roran and Katrina is so cheesy and sounds like Paolini's wish to have a first girlfriend manifesting itself with in the endlesspages.

    The book starts off well with Eragon and Roran saving Katrina. I loved the beginning and it was great for getting you into the book.

    But then like in all his books the slow part. In "Eragon" it was the desert; in "Eldest" it was the first hundred pages... or so; and in "Brisingr" it is the whole middle of the book. The boring idle talks at Surda seem to stretch on for hundreds of pages... they DO stretch on for hundreds of pages.

    After skimming through all of that however you'll find yourself sucked into the book as in a race against time Eragon and Saphira return to the elves and find answers that will lead to Galbatorix's death. Eragon gets a new sword which is my favorite part of the book. Arya kills a shade and to much more for me to give away.

    If you wonder, like i did if the slow middle of the book is worth getting through... Yes

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Three time's the charm

    This was by far the best in the series so far. There was many more surprises and information revealed. Let's just say it pretty much slew all Star Wars comparisons. The only thing that has not improved was Paolini's writing. He has good talent, he just needs to be more disciplined. Such as writing a 16 page chapter on making a sword. Or flaunting his vocabulary superfluously. In one paragraph there was 6 words I didn't understand as he wrote about what bells sound like, not once, but TWICE, in the same paragraph no less. Anyway, besides the writing, I do enjoy the characters and plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Glad I Read It

    It had been such a long wait after book 2 that I was afraid I had forgotten the plot. Thankfully, Christopher Paolini gives a nice review of the previous action which allowed me to plow right into reading.<BR/><BR/>The author's writing skills have improved and I truly enjoyed this book. I didn't find there was too much "filler" as it helped me recall the experiences Eragon has had and will have as the book series concludes with (hopefully?) book 4. This book was about relationships more than action, although there was enough action to add tension to the reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2008

    Not a video game

    Many detractors of this latest entry in the now 'Inheritance Cycle' have complained of it being boring or slow or just filler. If you are an immature reader that requires a story to take you from one intense action sequence to the next and then to the battle of the 'bosses' then this is not the book for you. If however you enjoy the details of a growing story and the background behind the characters, then I think you will enjoy this book immensely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    HaterGonnaH8

    Really good. It had too many useless details though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Another great book in the series. Not as much action, but lots o

    Another great book in the series. Not as much action, but lots of political conflict. I'm really looking forward to the conclusion. Paolini has really set the stage for an awesome conclusion. I'm sure he'll deliver. Can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 426 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22