Customer Reviews for

The Bro Code

Average Rating 4.5
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

BroCode is a Great read!

A very funny book. Writen as-if from the viewpoint of Barney Stinson. Barney if the character played by Neil-Patrick Harris on the comedy 'How I Met Your Mother'. The book is writtten to be read very easily. It's broken up into article points, approximately one-per-p...
A very funny book. Writen as-if from the viewpoint of Barney Stinson. Barney if the character played by Neil-Patrick Harris on the comedy 'How I Met Your Mother'. The book is writtten to be read very easily. It's broken up into article points, approximately one-per-page. So it's easy to pick up and read from anywhere in the book.

Barney is characterized as being a very overt Womanizer. No woman could resist him, and he would do almost anything to get the woman (for their one-night stand). But his character believed whole-heartedly in the adage 'Bros before Hoes'. And that he would do anything/everything in his power the help his 'Bros' score, and that they should do the same for him.

In the TV-series he makes reference to 'The Bro Code' many times. Claiming it as an actual legitimate printed text, not just an imaginary code of honor amongst fellow males. This book is that printed text.

Many humorous refences/instructions on how to look out for your bros. Whether it be hiding him from an ex-girlfriend, to lying for him to help him score the uber-babe.

He does site that some 'chicks' (women) are better bros in some cases. Like they know what a prospective one-night stand may wanna hear about you, to seal the deal and what-not.

To wrap-it-up. If you are a fan of the hit Television show, a fan of good-natured humor, or just wanna have a good coffe table book you know your friends won't be able to resist picking-up and thumbing thru. I recommend this book. I've had many a friend just casually pick it up and after a quick glance start reading passages aloud.

posted by RazorGolem on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Bro Code

I couldn't help but laugh the entire time I read the book. It's pretty funny how many trigger memories from my life with my best friends.

While the book is funny, it insults the continuity of the show. I watched the episode from season 3 ("The Goat") that i...
I couldn't help but laugh the entire time I read the book. It's pretty funny how many trigger memories from my life with my best friends.

While the book is funny, it insults the continuity of the show. I watched the episode from season 3 ("The Goat") that introduced the Bro Code. In that show, certain articles of the Bro Code and the article numbers mentioned do not correspond to the book except for Article I and Article 34. The others have different article numbers in the book. Matt Kuhn, the write of the book, is a complete idiot.

posted by 718320 on December 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Awesome

    This is legen wait for it dairy

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    BroCode is a Great read!

    A very funny book. Writen as-if from the viewpoint of Barney Stinson. Barney if the character played by Neil-Patrick Harris on the comedy 'How I Met Your Mother'. The book is writtten to be read very easily. It's broken up into article points, approximately one-per-page. So it's easy to pick up and read from anywhere in the book.

    Barney is characterized as being a very overt Womanizer. No woman could resist him, and he would do almost anything to get the woman (for their one-night stand). But his character believed whole-heartedly in the adage 'Bros before Hoes'. And that he would do anything/everything in his power the help his 'Bros' score, and that they should do the same for him.

    In the TV-series he makes reference to 'The Bro Code' many times. Claiming it as an actual legitimate printed text, not just an imaginary code of honor amongst fellow males. This book is that printed text.

    Many humorous refences/instructions on how to look out for your bros. Whether it be hiding him from an ex-girlfriend, to lying for him to help him score the uber-babe.

    He does site that some 'chicks' (women) are better bros in some cases. Like they know what a prospective one-night stand may wanna hear about you, to seal the deal and what-not.

    To wrap-it-up. If you are a fan of the hit Television show, a fan of good-natured humor, or just wanna have a good coffe table book you know your friends won't be able to resist picking-up and thumbing thru. I recommend this book. I've had many a friend just casually pick it up and after a quick glance start reading passages aloud.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Gay or Straight a Bro is Still a Bro

    The bro code is fullof usefull bro standards and rles. Out of all of the man rule books i have read this is by far the most reasonabl and publically acceptable behavior. I highly reccomend this book for any bro or man who wants some great rules to live by.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    Penetrating Parody

    The premise: we are all presided over by innate rules of conduct and behavior - some call it morality - but Bros in the know call it the Bro Code. This side-splitting prize comes fully loaded with penetrating parody. Although a quick read, "The Bro Code" is suitably weighted with entertaining one-liners. Men, keep this awesome book on your coffee table, or your desk. Women, buy this book for a peak into the psyche of a Bro in the know. This effortless and gratifying book makes a great gift.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    An awsemoe achievment

    Best guide ever need to now

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Forgive the ignorance of the peson below

    This book reminds me greatly of the many misadventures of Barney Stinson on the LEGENDARY show How i Met Your Mother, it is a funny book whether or not the author is gay or straight

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Great for fans of Barney Stinson!

    Written as if the character from the show was alive and well and living in New York City. This book was great fun to give as a gift to my son, who is a big fan of the show "How I Met Your Mother". It brought about a great deal of laughter and even more when he shared it with his friends back at school!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    Barney Stinson and Matt Kuhn have made it EASY for us BROs!

    Here I am, wingman to many friends but constantly wondering about two questions.

    "Am I the BEST wingman a bro can have?"
    "When I choose my BRO, what test can I use?"

    Well, Barney Stinson and Matt Kuhn have come to the rescue with a set of easy to remember and analytically based rules and tests that will give guidance to all wingmen and bros out there.

    Barney Stinson has inspired me, motivated me, and made me feel good about myself and my ability to be the best bro my buddies can ask for. He is my Oprah!

    I heartily recommend this book for all high school boys who want to learn the sacred responsibilities of being a bro. They should use this book in health class as it will stop these young men from making many mistakes that all of us bros make before learning how to be a bro.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny stuff

    I bought this as a gift for my sister, but being a fan of the show ("How I Met Your Mother"), I ended up reading it before I gave it to her. This is classic Barney, so if you're a big fan of the show and you find that whole totally mistaken male mentality thing amusing, this is a great book. It's definately good for light reading and entertainment. Guys, I wouldn't count on using any of this advice in real life!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    The Bro Code

    I couldn't help but laugh the entire time I read the book. It's pretty funny how many trigger memories from my life with my best friends. <BR/><BR/>While the book is funny, it insults the continuity of the show. I watched the episode from season 3 ("The Goat") that introduced the Bro Code. In that show, certain articles of the Bro Code and the article numbers mentioned do not correspond to the book except for Article I and Article 34. The others have different article numbers in the book. Matt Kuhn, the write of the book, is a complete idiot.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Great book!

    Perfect, plenty of laughs and awesome adventure.
    I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Pages and articles

    There are 195 pages and 150 articles

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Legandary!!!!!!

    This book deserves a freeze frame high-5!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Legen (wait for it) dary!!

    Awesome book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Hilarious

    Funny, short book. Fans of the show will love it. Those that arent fans still love it, but wont understand jokes that refer to "How I Met Your Mother". It's truly the ultimate guide on being a bro

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    THE bro code

    Awesome

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    I can't believe I found this

    Best find ever!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Funny stuff

    Need a good laugh this is the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    Brotacular!

    I love How i met your mother and this book just makes me love it 10x more! Even though I am a women, I find this book so funny! I'm just sad that it was such a quick read. I'm planning on reading the Playbook next. Great book :) If you need a good laugh, READ THIS BOOK!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    Add On

    Result Nine- Eris Cabin

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9