Customer Reviews for

Broadway My Way

Average Rating 4
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Linda Eder IS THE VOICE OF TODAY!!!!!

    Linda Eder is considered the "voice of this generation" by critics and fans alike. I do not think she is a "Babs" wanna-be. She only sings one of her songs and does it well. If you don`t like her voice, simply don`t listen to it. The rest of us will continue to enjoy her for what she is a wonderful, kind person whose voice is soooo appreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Linda is our family's great friend

    I am 14 years old and i will not tolarate you "adults" to criticize this wonderfully talent woman! to you people who criticize her and her voice think about this: did you play a main charecter on a hit broadway play? have you made platium c.D's??? can you even afford to go see a broadway play? well... Linda can! she is an amazing singer and she has a judy/barbra/celion voice. I know her personally, she dated my uncle and her parents are best friends with my grandparents, and my mother went to prom with her brother hunce. So until you know her personally or have succeded in this industary better than this beautiful woman, you have no right to be as rude as you are being. Thank you for your worthless time. And goodnight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic

    Amazing voice, amazing everything! Must buy this CD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Spectacular!

    As I listen to the 13 tracks on this Broadway compilation, I am in "awe" as how this wonderful singer puts a new flare on traditional Broadway songs, as well as some new and cult classics(ie "Gold" and "Anthem"). And as to my surprise, there is more than one highlight of the album. "Don't Rain On My Parade"(a song made famous by Barbra Streisand, another great singer) is ultimately song on this album as she belts this song to it's greatest. Also "Unusual Way", a song that is usually sung by a woman with a more classical voice, is sung to it's utter best by Linda as she makes it her own. This album is a must for all, and literally all, Broadway and Linda Eder fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Live Is Excellent!

    Heard the CD and then saw her in concert...believe me, Celine Dion is not the next Barbra Streisand...Linda Is!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LINDA EDER STORMS THE WHITE WAY!

    LOOK OUT WORLD HERE SHE COMES!LINDA EDER.BACK WHERE SHE BELONGS BROADWAY.All i can say is: I LOVE HER,I LOVE HER I LOVE HER.I love LINDA EDER.I own every one of her cds.This one BROADWAY MY WAY is my favorite.You should see LINDA in concert to experience her incredible voice.Also buy this cd now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Broadway My Way

    Her voice only should sing Broadway....thank you Linda........U R the BEST

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfection

    This CD is awesome, Linda Eder is awesome. No other voice can be compared to hers and I doubt very much there ever will be. Awesome rendition of Edelweiss, Anthem is perfect, Don't Rain on My Parade is outrageous !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fair Try ----- No Fly!

    You have to give Eder a star or two for having the guts to try a Barbra S. song, but she's a no-fly in my book. I must admit being a huge fan of Barbra, but I bought the album with an open mind. Eder will never be a leading lady like Barbra. She has lots of wind power, but that's about the only comparison that I see. Barbra just knows how to sell a song. Eder does not. I had hoped that she would be more accomplished than this. The album isn't trash, but it isn't anything special. Eder seems to be so caught up in duplicating past arrangements, that she fails to make any of the numbers "her own." I would also have to agree with some of the earlier reviews posted. Eder needs to take some voice lessons, to improve her diction. It is impossible to understand the lyrics on the fast songs. I hate to give a scathing review, so I will just hope that her next effort is better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No More Linda Eder Albums

    I thought that I would like this Album, because I like Broadway Music. But all of the songs I liked were terrible. Linda Eder has a very bad vibrato effect in her voice that is worse than my 3 year olds screams in the middle of the night. I find no pleasure in listening to beautiful songs being screamed to, or obnoxious breathing sounds comparable to Michael Jacksons in classic Broadway tunes. Linda Eder needs to pay attention and learn from the likes of the Great Broadway singers such as: Barbra,Ethyl, Liza and Judy before she undertakes another Broadway project. Even Bernadette Peters is better than this. Maybe she should try a different style of music. A Broadway singer she's not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unsurpassed by greats of the past !!!

    Linda Eder's inventive musical intelligence is unsurpassed by greats of the past! It would really take the best of Liza Minelli, Judy Garland, Barbara Streisand & an angel to match the multi-dimensional perfection of Eder's gift. This album is a perfect balance of all the best in music history & stylistic approaches which are taken to a whole new level. Every facet of this masterpiece including the sequence of music is methodically linked each song to the next one carrying you through a delightful journey with showstopping surprises along the way. No doubt that Linda has earned her title as one of Broadway's Leading ladies creating a new golden treasure that will send an ear to another planet quicker than the jaw will drop!!!! Other artists have remade these classical American treasures-but Eder has distinct talent in making them originals. Yes, "titles" ARE the same- but NOT the songs themselves,they are like and unlike those you have never heard !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    I personally love this CD. The only song I was not a huge fan of is On the Street Where You Live. Linda shows off her amazing belting talent and her beautiful high head voice. Both are wonderful. She is truly a gifted woman. What Kind of Fool Am I is incredible and so is I am What I am. My other favorites are Some People, Impossible Dream and Anthem. Don't Rain on My Parade is also very well done, and I dont think she was trying to compete with Barbra. Linda and Barbra are both very talented. This cd is Excellent!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Linda hits a home run!!!

    There are few voices, that can make you, cry stand in awe and just go."Wow" and Linda eder is one of them! "Broadway My Way" has got to be the best album I've ever heard! When Linda sings "Impossible Dream" I get the chills. she sings "Don't Rain On My Parade" better than that OTHER person !! Linda, enjoy the sucess of this album you've gone above and beyond the call of duty! Love ya Linda!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Linda, You outdid yourself again

    As a HUGE Linda Eder fan, I was excited for her latest album: Broadway, My Way. I grew up on listening and going to Broadway shows so all the songs Linda had chosen for this album were spectacular especially,Edelweiss, which I think Linda gave a new sound to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Linda's Voice is Incredible, The next GREAT!!

    I'm sorry but the last three reviews are pathetic, if you have something against Linda, then shut up and keep it to yourself, I hope this album goes platinum and shows you jerks up. Her renditions are superb and i listen to them over and over. I love Broadway, belting and Barbra. Don't criticize Linda for sounding like one of the highest selling female artists ever. She can't help that her God-given talent is just that good. Her voice clearly soars through numbers like What Kind of Fool Am I?, The best version of Impossibler Dream I've ever heard, I was in suspence until the very end, just the way I like it. The best redo of Don't Rain on My Parade since the great Lady sang it herself, and those reviewers said to look to Judy and Liza on singing? Yes they're great talent, but I can recall them dueting Don't Rain on my Parade and it was awful! A great album that I've been waiting years for Linda to make!! Keep iy up you're the greatest. Don't listen to the critics, they're just JEALOUS!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Weak Attempt At Broadway Classics

    Linda Eder shows all of her weaknesses on this album. Her attempt at showing up Barbra with her new rendition of "Don't Rain on My Parade" fails. What was Ms. Eder thinking. Obviously from the title, "Broadway My Way" she was trying to show off; it didn't work. The orchestra controls her, and she's constantly behind the tempo, sometimes laughably so. She has no phrasing, no special suttleties to her voice like Barbra, leaving Barbra with the last laugh. Linda Eder's attempt at showing off with comments "as long as she's not singing it, I will" backfired. As for the rest of the album, old songs-weak singing-one constant loud roar-poor arrangements, just a poor attempt period. If you thought the album Gold was bad, this takes the cake. Obviously, Linda Eder needs to find her own style with her own songs, instead of constantly copying everybody elses or give it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    poor production

    How sad that such a wonderful talent is in the hands of such bad producers. This record sounds like it was made on a shoestring budget. It is swimming in reverb and the mixing is so strange that Eder sounds like she is yelling at the listener. I don't understand why Atlantic allows her to make these kinds of recordings. We need less of the Wildhorn/Eder ego-driven performances and more of some real music with great arrangements. Not this cheesy stuff I am saddened by this product from an otherwise talented vocalist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely spectacular

    I seldom feel motivated enough to post a review of any perfomer, but I'm making an exception with this sensational CD by Linda Eder. I happen to be a long time broadway fan, and have seen the best of them perform..Barbra, Audra, Kristen Chenoweth, Liza, Barbara Cook, etc. and I'll have to say that this woman fully deserves to be placed in the company of not only these performers, but also legends like Judy Garland. As a long time broadway fan, I also know there are certain "Agendas" people have with Linda. They appear to stem from either a dislike of her husband's music or some perceived threat they believe she represents to the stars they champion whether it be Liza, Babs, etc. On "Broadway, My Way", Linda tackles and puts her own stamp on songs made famous by people like Babs and Liza. In fact, she succeds at doing the impossible..reinventing the song! This tends to anger the originator's fans. Simply, put Linda Eder has one of the finest vocal instruments ever heard, and its on fine display on this CD. Her voice is one of great power, but equally great softness. She is easily the best belter in the business. Many aren't use to hearing songs belted properly, with a loud, controlled power...the way it is intended. Listen to Don't Rain on My Parade, Anthem, I Am What I Am, The Impossible Dream....all sung with power and are triumphant. On the other end of the spectrum are songs like " On the Street Where You Live", "I'll be Seeing You", "Edleweiss", and "Unusual Way" which fully highlight her beautiful soprano range, which glide away into these elegant whisper notes. Without compromising the material, she puts some original marks on phrasing and interpretation, and the arragements are fresh and original. Of course, you might just think I'm only a fan and what do I know? In that case, I'd advise you to check out her latest absolute RAVE review in Variety of her February 19, 2003 Carnegie Hall concert featuring songs from this CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Title of Album is the only catchy thing

    I give this album 1 star, for Eder having the sense to at least name the album with something catchy. Obviously, Atlantic Records keeps hammering away at the public with Husband and Wife team Wildhorn and Eder, thinking that the public needs this kind of punishment. Atlantic needs to move on, and find some new theater talent to develop their label. Eder finally proves to the world, that she can't play with the big boys. With a harsh brassy voice and no sense of musicality, she falls flat on her face in the gendra of music that has been her only hopeful claim to fame. If You want to hear good versions of these outdated songs, pick up the original "I am What I Am" on the "La Cage" cast album, Liza's rendition of "Some People", and Barbra's original studio version of "Don't Rain On My Parade" to find out how these songs should really be performed. Linda Eder does these songs no justice. My biggest question to her, is why she would even attempt. It only leaves her with an egotistical, self - indulgent image. Although she adds a few of Wildhorn's paltry original songs to the mix, they are typical album fillers, and just add to the albums worthlessness. In these days of a poor economy, go to Atlantic records web site and give a listen. It will save you the money. I wish I had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TRIUMPANT!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVED THIS CD!It gave me chills just listening to it.I must say Im a BARBRA and Linda fan.Both ladies are extremely gifted performers.I dont compare them.I just enjoy listening to there music.I know Linda and Barbra both have a huge fan following.Alot of people enjoy listening to both of them.I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS CD.ITS TRIUMPHANT!WHAT A VOICE!ITS 100%GOLD!Make sure to see Linda Eder in concert.Shes sensational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5