Customer Reviews for

Broke: The Plan to Restore Our Trust, Truth and Treasure

Average Rating 3.5
( 513 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(246)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

A must read for everyone...yes...everyone

Amazed at the negative reviews from intellectual baron individuals who comment on books without reading them. If you are TRUE LIBERAL THEN BE OPENED MINDED. It is time for us to wake up and know that we the people have the control. Not the White House, Wall Street o...
Amazed at the negative reviews from intellectual baron individuals who comment on books without reading them. If you are TRUE LIBERAL THEN BE OPENED MINDED. It is time for us to wake up and know that we the people have the control. Not the White House, Wall Street or the Business Plaza. Read this book with an open mind. You may not like all it says but I bet you will find points that you can not disagree with. Think about it...Clinton, to Bush, to Obama. Where are the great men or women in our society. Bring back our common sense. This country will make it!!! I was once left of center. However, my party has left me. Read before you comment. Right or Left! Great book Glenn.

posted by TONYC2010 on October 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 172 people found this review helpful.

You are all moronic slaves

This book will offer you no salvation, no self-help tips, no actual history, and nothing of value. It will offer you a path to elect officials who represent corporate interests. These same corporate interest want nothing more than to continue the consumerist culture tha...
This book will offer you no salvation, no self-help tips, no actual history, and nothing of value. It will offer you a path to elect officials who represent corporate interests. These same corporate interest want nothing more than to continue the consumerist culture that will lead to our nation's moral, intellectual, and financial bankruptcy. If you believe Glenn Beck, you are a fool. Read a REAL history book, use critical thinking skills, think divergently, and STOP obeying those who wish to keep you on a leash. I am not saying that either party should be listened too, but Beck is a demagogue for Republicans. The right does not care about working people. They only care about keeping you complacent, scared, and dumb so they can destroy our country and planet with impunity. Please STOP and THINK. Then find authors and thinkers who actually want to look out for your interest. Beck is a shill, nothing more. If you can't see it, you are already a slave. For a real understanding of our world, I'd try Orwell, Huxely, Neil Postman, Tony Judt, Glenn Greenwald, Robert Putnam. If you want to go further into the weeds you can move on to Noam Chomsky, Matt Taibbi, Jeremy Rifkin, Chris Hedges, or Slavoj Zizek. Good luck.

posted by 358282 on October 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 519 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    Spot on!

    The facts speak for themselves in this well researched and documented book. Very well organized and easy to comprehend. This is a must read for anyone who wants to understand the political and financial mess we've let our government get us into.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Great book for a High School Student!
    I use this book all the time in Government class, and American History when learning about the "New Deal" and "Great Depression"

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Spot On!

    Every fact is detailed with extensive foot notes and references. Well laid out and presented in a easy to read flow. Any review challenging the accuracy of this book is emotional bias and little else. There is several pages in the back section of the book with details where to find the sources of his statements.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Great Book to Read!

    This book has really taught me a lot. Another book that was recommended to me when buying this book was "Life After Foreclosure" by Dean Wegner. Both are great books but Glenn Beck did an outstanding job!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    A must read

    keeps you interested while learning.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Truth

    I have read several of Glenn Beck books and this is my favorite. It is easy to read, to the point and actually very disturbing how far we have gone astray as a nation. Beck's writings make you get off your duff and begin to realize that in order to protect the freedoms we have so long taken for granite, we have to WAKE UP! I would highly recommend this book to anyone that is serious about trying to restore some basic principles to our Federal Government and how our tax dollars are being spent! On a lighter note, I read a great book over the holidays that belongs to my grandson. It is supposed to be a kids book; but, we need a little relief and laughter from the very serious situation we find ourselves in as a nation. The Defense Of Thaddeus A. Ledbetter will make you laugh a lot and we need some laughter in our lives at this time.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommend

    I found this book to be very insightful. It lays out the "real" issues and misdirected information our political system has been manipulating with the American Citizen over many years. If you care about this country, it's Constitution, and what the Founding Fathers wanted for this nation - then this is a must read for you.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    Highly recommend

    This is a great synopsis of the USA's current financial situation, it's root cause(s) and proposes well thought out solutions. The book is factual, well written and well documented.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Broke

    everone needs to read this book, it most be read schools.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Vampires Werewolves and Zombies

    I will maintain a neutral rating until I actually read the book. It is always easier to keep your head in the sand all the while our country is sliding into an abyss. Yet, I understand that reading about vampires would be more entertaining. (Best read in places where the sun don't shine). It will take a "transformation revolution" to turn this country back towards the genius of our constitution. Whatever it takes to wake the masses.

    2 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I would be broke buying this book. I am a fan of Glenn's but twe

    I would be broke buying this book. I am a fan of Glenn's but twenty dollars for a digital file is absolutely ridiculous.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Horrible book... just like the author!

    Nothing in this book but the usual rantings of a madman. Don't waste your time or money.

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Utter waste of time

    This man is not of sound mind.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Excellent and full of facts

    Glenn Beck definitely does his research on this one. This book is full of facts and history that mainstream media and history books don't tell you. I find myself reading many excerpts to my teenagers because I want them to know the truth about our out of control government and it's history that they won't learn anywhere else. I don't agree with everything Glenn Beck says but with this book he has hit the nail on the head!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT BOOK

    Another added in my library. Liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    I NOTICED THAT ALL THOSE "BRILLIANT" PEOPLE OUT THERE WITH THE NEGATIVE COMMENTS, NEVER READ THE BOOK.
    WHEN YOU RATE AND REVIEW A BOOK, IT IS SUGGESTED THAT YOU ACTUALLY READ THE BOOK AND NOT LISTED TO ALL THE CRAP YOU SEE AND HEAR ON THE INTERNET.
    BECK "ALWAYS" SAYS NOT TO BELIEVE WHAT HE SAYS BUT TO DO YOUR OWN HOMEWORK AND IF YOU FIND SOMETHING UNTRUE, LET HIM KNOW. TO THIS DATE THERE HAS NOT BEEN "ONE" UNTRUTH SENT TO HIM.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    Eveyone should know what is in this book

    Wow I am blown away, but on a nook you cannot enlarge the graphics so buy the hard copy and share it with every tax payer you Know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    bull

    puckey

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Awesome!

    Another brillint work! I couldn't put it down. So much history, and how to prevent repeatingit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    A must read!

    If you really want to know how far up the creek we are, then open your eyes to this book. Glenn spares no one, whether you're on the right, left or middle. He tells it like it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 519 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 26