BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Broke Diaries: The Completely True and Hilarious Misadventures of a Good Girl Gone Broke

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Laughable Even on Your Bad Days This book is a great read: it's

    Laughable Even on Your Bad Days
    This book is a great read: it's funny, smart, and well-written. Nissel will make you laugh along with her (and most likely conjure your similar experiences) - even on your bad days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Must read

    Ive read this so many times! Its a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Fun to read

    This was a great book, literally laugh out loud funny. I was sad to get to the end. Her take on things made me giggle more times than I can count, look forward to reading more by her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    The Broke Diaries is hilarious and a deffinite page turner!

    Although my title is very optomistic I'll have to say that the book is for a certain audience. There are cuss words, dirty jokes and some disturbing, but silly situations. Personally, I thought this book was great and in the end really showed the reader theres more to life then looking pretty.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    One of the best books ever!

    ANGELA NISSELL IS MY HERO! I have pribably read this book about six times and it never gets old! Do yourself a favor and prepare yourself to laugh like a maniac! She should be more famous! She is a genius! Great, great, great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Loved i

    Sounds familiar, like my life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Love it

    I LOVE THIS BOOK SO FUNNY!! I used to read it aloud to my sister and we would crack up . Recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Overview of incoming College Students

    I found this book very interesting and funny, I couldn't find myself putting it down after I started reading. It's not difficult to understand it's straight foward and to the point, As a 12th grader in high school, I believe this book opened my eyes a bit more on how my college financial experience is going to some what be. I would recommend this book to anyone especially my fellow seniors. I give this book 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    The Broke Diaries is hilarious

    Looking just at the cover of this book made me want to open it and read it. When I started reading, I immediately knew this was the kind of book that I would read from start to finish; it had me laughing non-stop. The diary entries contain real world uncensored language which makes Angela seem like a real person. Angela's humor made me think about how there are ways to have fun  no matter what. The book made me think about how I'm going to be like Angela in a couple of months and how I should use the information she presents to the reader to survive college. Angela taught me that no matter how broke one is you can still live a happy life and become successful at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Too Humorous

    This book was hilarious. This sounds like a FAM Network movie. I've read this book several time just for humor and have given copies to my friends who also enjoyed. I think I'm going to read it again. If nothing else, it teaches you survival skills - get creative!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ENTERTAINING

    This book is very interesting. It tells you alot about the struggles that angela went through while in college. I think that college students would be able to relate to this because they go through times when the money is low, and you have to be able to choose between spending it on something you will need such as food, or something useless. Overall its a very good book, and everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    I really enjoyed reading this book, it was very interesting and
    a delight to read. It was such a funny book that I laughed out loud. Angela Nissel is an ordinary person who is broke during college and I am sure that i will be able to relate once I get into college. I would recommend this book to everyone that wants a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Too Funny!

    This book was so funny, I couldn't help laughing out loud a lot of times. I loaned my copy to a friend and he was laughing at all the crazy things Angela does while broke. My absolute favorite is the electricity story. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    Halarious

    This book is off the chain! I read it a few years back and I couldn't just read it once. It was so real and halarious it had me rolling for days. To tis day I'll recomend it to anyone who wants some laughter and hope!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    Hilarious Book

    I read this book on a train and was laughing so hard, people were backing away from me until I had about half the car to myself. I didn't notice until about halfway through my trip and once I did, I just kept on reading. I recommend this book to anyone who is having a bad day. It is hilarious and one of the few books I have kept and re-read since I bought it a few years ago. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    A hearty laugh

    I read this novel quite some time ago and I must say that I was pleased! Angela Nissell is a broke college student just trying to survive. She keeps a journal of her everyday events and we are able to travel with her and go through her happiness and pain with her. I would recommend this book to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2005

    THE FUNNIEST BOOK I EVER READ!!

    I loved this book!!! I once being a broke college student( I just graduated in August and just caught up on bills last month) can RELATE! I love this girl! She made me feel RICH and I was down to $.07 in my checking when I finally started working. The things she went through and the comedic way she relayed them was just great. Despite the topic of brokeness being quite depressing, she somehow remained positive and kept her sense of humor!! THANKS, ANG for the great book. I have read this book like 4 times already and it is funny everytime. I would love to see this as sitcom...I'd watched in a heartbeat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2004

    hahaha!

    this book is a godsend for college students, excuse me, broke college students. funny and thought provoking. i wish this book was out when i was in college. broke diaries made me feel better about the 'special looks' my pals and i gave the cafeteria manager. though im sure that dating the chicken king was worse than babysitting the cafeteria ladies bad kids in exchange for free meals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    Do yourself a favor, and read this book

    To put it simply- HILARIOUS A broke college student myself, I felt inspired by the broke diaries, often thinking to myself that Angela was a Genius for cheating the postal system, and receiving text books for free... The book Cracked me up, and I couldn't put it down... You will LOVE it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Therapy for the Us Broke Folks!!!

    Well if you thought that you were the only person who has 'lived the broke life' this book definitely shows that you are in good company. The author's hilarious mishaps may even make you feel somewhat better about your financial plight than you did before you picked up the book. Her stories are hilarious and offer a bit of comic relief for those broke, rainy nights!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3