Customer Reviews for

Brokeback Mountain

Average Rating 4
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

BRILLIANT, MOVING, AND VERY 'DEEP'

I READ THE SHORT STORY ABOUT 3 WEEKS BEFORE THE MOVIE WAS RELEASED, AND I WAS SO MOVED BY THE CHARATERS,SETTING,AND THE WHOLE CONCEPT OF A FORBIDDEN LOVE. ANNIE PROULX HAS WRITTEN A MODERN DAY MASTERPIECE THE SHORT STORY SHOULD BE READ FIRST TO REALLY APPRECIATE THE FI...
I READ THE SHORT STORY ABOUT 3 WEEKS BEFORE THE MOVIE WAS RELEASED, AND I WAS SO MOVED BY THE CHARATERS,SETTING,AND THE WHOLE CONCEPT OF A FORBIDDEN LOVE. ANNIE PROULX HAS WRITTEN A MODERN DAY MASTERPIECE THE SHORT STORY SHOULD BE READ FIRST TO REALLY APPRECIATE THE FILM,BUT IF YOU'VE SEEN THE FILM PLEASE READ TEH STORY I LOVE THEM BOTH, THIS IS A 'TRUE LOVE STORE' REGARDLESS TO THE FACT THAT BOTH CHARATERS ARE MALE! LOVE IS LOVE, GOD BLESS ANNIE PROULX AND ANG LEE (MOVIE DIRECTOR) FOR THEIR CREATIVITY!

posted by Anonymous on April 18, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I did'nt get the connection from this short story.

I think if I had read the actual story and not the movie tie-in I would have felt more connected to the charters. The story is one that I'm sure a lot of people can relate to. I am the mom of a gay man who recently came out to me. Reading this book did give me some insi...
I think if I had read the actual story and not the movie tie-in I would have felt more connected to the charters. The story is one that I'm sure a lot of people can relate to. I am the mom of a gay man who recently came out to me. Reading this book did give me some insight to what he must have struggled with his whole life. I will definetly see the movie.

posted by Anonymous on February 24, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    BRILLIANT, MOVING, AND VERY 'DEEP'

    I READ THE SHORT STORY ABOUT 3 WEEKS BEFORE THE MOVIE WAS RELEASED, AND I WAS SO MOVED BY THE CHARATERS,SETTING,AND THE WHOLE CONCEPT OF A FORBIDDEN LOVE. ANNIE PROULX HAS WRITTEN A MODERN DAY MASTERPIECE THE SHORT STORY SHOULD BE READ FIRST TO REALLY APPRECIATE THE FILM,BUT IF YOU'VE SEEN THE FILM PLEASE READ TEH STORY I LOVE THEM BOTH, THIS IS A 'TRUE LOVE STORE' REGARDLESS TO THE FACT THAT BOTH CHARATERS ARE MALE! LOVE IS LOVE, GOD BLESS ANNIE PROULX AND ANG LEE (MOVIE DIRECTOR) FOR THEIR CREATIVITY!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    One of the Best Love Story Ever Told!

    Annie Proulx has created a masterpiece. The love story between Ennis and Jack took hold of the reader's heart and never let go. This tragic story of love and loss is one of the most refreshing and endearing book I've ever read. In the end, you couldn't help but feeling something in you has died just like Ennis and the way he felt. Love is universal. It can be between a man and a woman or between a man and a man. Why do we have to categorize that love should only be between a man and a woman, so typical of our society's norms and cultures. Love is the greatest thing that can happen to a person and when you have that, you hold on to it and never let go. In the end, Ennis will always love Jack. And Jack will always love Ennis. They will always have 'Brokeback Mountain.'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2005

    Heartbreaking and Beautiful

    This is my favorite short story by far. You don't have to be gay to relate to the characters and the setting. To call it a gay cowboy story would be to undervalue it. It's so much more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    love it

    great

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    Beautiful, Moving, Sad

    Many people have labeled this book and the movie as "the gay cowboy story" but it's nothing like that. I am straight and a teenager, and I love a good film. I was just a little hesitant to see this movie at first but now it is one of my favorite movies and i watch it all the time. The book is amazing as well as the movie. The way the characters are portrayed is breath taking, you get so into it it gives you chills of how real it seems. Overall the book is amazing, the writing and story is superb and the movie is truly deserved the oscars it got, the acting of was very belivable (R.I.P. Heath Ledger you were one of my favs).
    5 stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2007

    Magnificent! A description of love and tears

    Brokeback Mountain is a story where two guys discover that love is not what they thought. They meet, gain confidence with each other and then fall in love, but one of them (Ennis) is not so sure about what is going on between him and Jack Twist, rejecting him at first. Then, he realizes how much he loves Jack and what he feels for him and they start a lifetime love relationship. Pride and their respective obligations in life separate them for 4 years, until they meet again to make their love save their own lives. They start having trouble with their wives and Ennis with his daughters and money. It gets so hard for both of them, but still deeply lovong each other. Until Jack is murdered. Their love continues in their minds, in their hearts, only. It is indeed a moving story, made me cry though. A movie and a book highly recommended. It makes you appreciate life because if you have been hurt because of love, keep trying because life and God will recompensate you with blessings.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2006

    Outstanding beyond words

    I was so touched and moved by this movie. I am a heterosexual but I know a good movie when I see it. Kudos to Jake and Heath for a very compelling performance. I was moved in ways I could not even begain to describe. This is an example of fine acting, screenwriting, and production. I can't wait to read the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Great movie.

    I haven't read the book yet, but the movie was so moving and enotionally involving. I got really into it and loved every minute of it. I hope to get the book very soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    AMAZING!!

    I saw the movie this past weekend and I cannot stop thinking about it. The storyline is wonderful, and the scenery, breathtaking. It almost seems as though you are there with these two guys following thier lives. Coming from a small town, I guess this movie is somewhat haunting, but all the most, worth every minute to let your mind indulge in the beauty of life no matter gay,bi, or straight.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    This book haunted me for days

    When most people hear the term 'the closet', they think of a person having a secret that society disapproves of, especially a sexual secret. I don't think most people think about what it must be like for the person keeping the secret. This book talks to what it is like to fear being found out and to what extent a person will go to protect their secret. Now when I hear the term 'closet' I think of the price the person keeping the secret pays. Great book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    A new way to look at love

    I first saw the movie and then I read the book. I loved both of them. Your heart aches for them. You can't help what you are or who you are! It is a story of love and friendship that is so well written and you can picture the mountains and scenery. I felt like I was there with them. Excellent Read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2006

    Truly Enjoyable and Refreshing

    This is a story long over due. I really enjoyed and appreciated the storyline and the plot of both the book and the movie. I can't believe that this story wasn't told before now. The author captures the true esscence of a real love affair. I know that in real life their are a lot of ordinary people, who are caught up in a seemingly hopeless love relationship, that because of the prejudices of soceity or some other circumstance, the relationship, cannot become a reality. I know, because I am one of those people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2006

    the universality of love

    I read this story about 10 times, each time going a bit deeper. Then the movie came out. It was so true to the story that Annie wrote. Most unusal for movies not to take certaim liberties. It's being called the story of gay cowboys...how cheap! This is a story about the universality of love, real love, the stuff that is of God. Its only we humans that must categorize it and kill that which we can't or don't understand. After the movie I real the story several more times. It haunts you, stays with you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    Just Amazing and Simply Wonderful

    This short story is a masterpiece. It really haunts you and challanges you to expand your understanding of love, compassion and sorrow and joy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Memories are forever..

    At one time in each of our lives..we have experienced the touch of a memory deep inside of a lost or longed for love...the 'shirts on the nail'...a gentle reminder of the ache we hide so deeply...the memory so precious. A lovers love story wonderfully protrayed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    the story that you never hear

    I am a 18 year old guy...and until I read Broke back Mountain I was some what unsure about the whole 'gay' situation. I just had just never really thought about it. However the writing style that is used by Annie Proulx amazed me. She truly captures the innocence of falling in love. Her words and descriptions about the comradery between Ennis and Jack is heart warming. The love that is shared between the two of them is so amazing because you don't usually see that in life these days. Her use of an ever day vanacular only ads so the story. I enjoyed how there was a lot of slang and sometimes you had to think about what they were saying however it only makes the story seem closer to home. The ways in which she describes the mountain and the senses is truly breath-taking. How could you not fall in love with someone in such a beautiful setting? I was amazed at my ability to conjure the images in my head of the bubbling streams and the rocky mountains. The details that are used to talk about physical characteristic of Ennis and Jack are prefect. She manages to create the person and then develop it even further. I saw the men in my head long before I watched them in the movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2006

    Who would have thought...

    This short story was absolutely amazing! When I found out about its movie adaptation, I quickly bought the story to know what all the hype was about. Well, now I know, and I recommend this story to anyone who enjoys reading controversial (but exquisite) books. Throughout the plot, the reader is captivated by the details the author presents to him/her, and the struggles the two cowboys go through, touch the reader's heart (until its heart-breaking conclusion). Read it, enjoy it. This writer knows anyone will.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    Short story beyond words, EXCELLENT!

    This short story left me unnerved, I read it three times. Great writing, fabulous story that really makes you think. Great characters, great storyline about a topic that people don't care to admit that this does really exist in our everyday life. Love is for real, in all ways, in all times, in all of us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    Awesome Reading

    Reader, leave aside whether you agree with the lifestyle of the two cowboys. The writing in this short story will take your breath. It is beautiful writing and wonderful reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Incredible sensibility

    I've seen the movie today January 20th, first day of exibition here in Spain. I can't explain very right my feelings (my english is not so good) but I'll try to select some words. Moving, incredible sensitivity, I've cryed ... wonderful. Hope wins the oscars to movie and actors. It deserves it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3