BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Broken

Average Rating 4
( 362 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

SLAUGHTER KILLS

Karin Slaughter raises the stakes once again, taking this genre for a thrillride. She captivates with BROKEN, her best storytelling yet, and takes her vivid and tried and true characters in new and unforgettable directions. Unlike so many others in her field, Slaughter...
Karin Slaughter raises the stakes once again, taking this genre for a thrillride. She captivates with BROKEN, her best storytelling yet, and takes her vivid and tried and true characters in new and unforgettable directions. Unlike so many others in her field, Slaughter NEVER phones it in. She is truly the hardest working thriller writer on the market, and the one with the most visionary and wicked imagination. I could barely wait for this one to pop today. I'm stunned by the misinformation and lack of facts in the front page review, whose writer proudly but ignorantly states this book was released in 09. Reviewers should have the good sense to fact-check before mouthing off. This one is a winner and, as is always the case with Slaughter, a serious departure.

posted by THRILL-SEEKER on June 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Last Slaughter Book I'll Read

Broken is a good name for this book because to me that's exactly what the Grant County series is...broken. Killing off Jeffrey Tolliver has destroyed this series for me. While Slaughter writes fantastic mysteries that keep you guessing, they also tend to be rather dark...
Broken is a good name for this book because to me that's exactly what the Grant County series is...broken. Killing off Jeffrey Tolliver has destroyed this series for me. While Slaughter writes fantastic mysteries that keep you guessing, they also tend to be rather dark. In the earlier Grant County novels, this was balanced with the journey and ongoing love story of Sara and Jeffrey. However, now there is no balance and I found this book just dark and depressing. Broken is set 4 years after Jeffrey's death, but it might as well have been the day after. All the characters in Grant County, including Sara that returned, seem to have gone on a downward spiral unable to move past Jeffrey's death. If the book isn't focusing on Will Trent solving the mystery, it waxes nostalgic about Jeffrey, reminding fans that there won't be a happy ending. The biggest insult to me is the fact that Lena, who is partially responsible for Jeffrey's death, is now involved with Jeffrey's biological son and really hasn't redeemed herself at all. Maybe there is some greater plan for these characters, but frankly I don't care anymore. I'm disappointed and walking away from a series that used to be fantastic.

posted by Avid_ReaderLL on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 364 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    SLAUGHTER KILLS

    Karin Slaughter raises the stakes once again, taking this genre for a thrillride. She captivates with BROKEN, her best storytelling yet, and takes her vivid and tried and true characters in new and unforgettable directions. Unlike so many others in her field, Slaughter NEVER phones it in. She is truly the hardest working thriller writer on the market, and the one with the most visionary and wicked imagination. I could barely wait for this one to pop today. I'm stunned by the misinformation and lack of facts in the front page review, whose writer proudly but ignorantly states this book was released in 09. Reviewers should have the good sense to fact-check before mouthing off. This one is a winner and, as is always the case with Slaughter, a serious departure.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Former coroner Sara Linton hasn't visited her hometown in Grant County, Georgia since the death of her husband, Police Chief Jeffrey Tolliver. Almost four years later, she returns, planning to spend Thanksgiving with her family. Shortly thereafter, Tommy Braham, a mentally disabled young man, is arrested for the murder of Allison Spooner and asks that Sara, his former pediatrician, visit him. When Sara arrives at the jail, it appears Tommy has committed suicide. Sara, who blames the arresting officer, Lena Adams, for her husband's death, immediately suspects Lena mishandled the interrogation and provided the young man the means to kill himself. After she calls in the Georgia Bureau of Investigation, Special Agent Will Trent arrives in Grant County, where he is met with stubborn resistance from the police department. Sara is asked to perform autopsies on Tommy and Allison as Trent investigates both murders while trying to unravel the complexities of Lena's involvement in Tommy's murder, as well as that of Chief Tolliver.

    Slaughter once more provides a tense thriller centered around Sara Linton. Although the character Jeffrey Tolliver is certainly missed, this book proves the series can move forward without his presence. Slaughter is adept at providing dark, complex characters and does not disappoint with this outing. Her revelations concerning the desperate measures hardworking, indigent people will resort to is insightful and empathetic.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Page-Turner!

    Broken is Karin Slaughter at her finest. Dr. Sara Linton, the star of this ongoing series, takes a backseat in this novel. Slaughter gives Special Agent Will Trent, a character we've met in earlier novels, the starring role here. Will is a flawed but incredibly likable character who brings a new spark to this series.

    It's not often that a twist in a story truly takes me by surprise. However, Slaughter manages it with ease here. The story moves at a quick pace, we are given great imagery without lengthy descriptions, the characters feel real, and the tangled plot kept me reading.

    I will be honest and say that I was disappointed in Slaughter's last book and was a bit leery of reading this one. But nothing about Broken was a let down. I enjoyed every word!

    ** I received this book as a first-read from the www.Goodreads.com giveaway. **

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ntriguing Grant County thriller

    Four years ago, in Heartsdale, Grant County's popular police chief Tolliver was murdered; the case remains unsolved. His widow Dr. Sara Linton was the county coroner and ran a children's clinic, but left after her spouse died. She is back in town visiting her family on Thanksgiving yet is still thirsting for her husband's homicide to be resolved although she is positive that Officer Lena Adams is at the center of her husband's homicide.

    At the same time, Special Agent Will Trent is also in Grant County to investigate a questionable death oif a prisoner. Not surprising, he finds the local police officers circling the wagons protecting each other form the intruder. Will concludes that Police Officer Lena Adams is concealing something, but is not sure what or why. As he struggles with the uncooperative cops, he is taken aback when Dr. Linton asks him to look into her husband's murder, a cold case. Trent is being pulled by two women in opposite directions of the Blue Line that keeps him outside in spite of being law enforcement too.

    This is an intriguing Grant County thriller (see Faithless, Undone and Blindsided) as Will instead of Sara holds the story line together with two females yanking him in opposite directions. The insightful look at the learning disorder agraphia augments the taut tale as it showcases how an individual learns to conceal a problem with some form of over compensation. In a starring role, Will brings freshness to the plot as he investigates two deaths that cast the Grants County Police Office in a shroud of darkness.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    Brilliant

    Great Book, good reading...will keep you engaged till the end....

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Long Awaited

    We've waited to see Lena and Sara again for so long! This merging of the Will Trent story line and Grant County is not to be missed.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    Fabulous book!!!!!!

    I've been an avid reader of Karin Slaughter and have enjoyed following the characters in her books, from Will to Sara. Karin has made these characters come to life for us, her fans. And Broken continues the great storyline of both characters. Her books will grip you and you just can't put them down. I recommend Broken if you need a good book to read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    Great combination of two of the author's universes

    As with Karin's previous books, "Broken" is an intense page-turner. What impresses me with her new work is how skillfully Karin weaves the worlds of Grant County and Will Trent together.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Last Slaughter Book I'll Read

    Broken is a good name for this book because to me that's exactly what the Grant County series is...broken. Killing off Jeffrey Tolliver has destroyed this series for me. While Slaughter writes fantastic mysteries that keep you guessing, they also tend to be rather dark. In the earlier Grant County novels, this was balanced with the journey and ongoing love story of Sara and Jeffrey. However, now there is no balance and I found this book just dark and depressing. Broken is set 4 years after Jeffrey's death, but it might as well have been the day after. All the characters in Grant County, including Sara that returned, seem to have gone on a downward spiral unable to move past Jeffrey's death. If the book isn't focusing on Will Trent solving the mystery, it waxes nostalgic about Jeffrey, reminding fans that there won't be a happy ending. The biggest insult to me is the fact that Lena, who is partially responsible for Jeffrey's death, is now involved with Jeffrey's biological son and really hasn't redeemed herself at all. Maybe there is some greater plan for these characters, but frankly I don't care anymore. I'm disappointed and walking away from a series that used to be fantastic.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    The Best!

    With Karin Slaughter you can never go wrong. This is the Best, I could not put it down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    Awesome Author

    I can't wait for her next book; her sytle is wonderful and makes every book a page-turner!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Good book!

    I like her books. Keeps you guessing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    "I can't wait to start the next one!"

    When I first bought this book, I expected it would be good. I had read one of the other Sara Linton books by Karin Slaughter a few months ago and I completely enjoyed it. What I didn't expect was for it to be even better! Karin adds suspense in a way it envelopes you. You can't wait to turn the page. You can't even seem to Fathom "who dun it" either. You may have your suspicions but Karin puts each character in a light so they either look like they all did it or not a single soul did. You seem to delve into the book, the people and the town. Like you're recalling a memory rather than reading. The end was breathtaking. I was completely surprised. Even after having finished the book, I find myself thinking about how the end ties to the rest of the book. Karin gives you clues throughout, but you don't get them until the final verdict. I had actually finished reading this particular book while I was at work. It was so exciting I finished it and ended up being late back from lunch. I had stood up and made my way to the office door, but I just couldn't put the book down, to continue it later. I love this book. In combination with Kisscut by Karin, I will devote my reading time to all of the Slaughter books. I can't wait to start the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    A good day's read

    This is the eighth in the series and I recommend reading them in order to get the development of the characters to date. Still, each is complete in itself and can be read singly.

    This story is intricate in that the leads don't always point the right way. Clues that seem pertinent may or may not be vital to finding the culprit. The personal feelings between several of the characters provide a compulsion for the characters to pursue their paths. In an unusual twist (and this is not a spoiler), two of the main characters never come face to face in this book, yet both are instrumental in the story.

    I would not rate this as a cozy read, but if you like serious mystery books, read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2010

    Overall good read

    This book is a pretty good read overall. The first part of the book gathers you in and keeps your interest by developing a story line and detailing conflict between characters. The last third or so of the book, however, seems to move too fast and tries to pack way too much detail into a short amount of space. The author tries to pull together way too many loose ends and it seems like she rushes and does not make it easy to follow. I do think this is a good read, but wish there was additional background earlier in the book to help make it easier to follow the resolution.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Finally!!!!

    Karin Slaughter outdoes herself again!!! Was well worth waiting for!! Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Highly Recommend!!

    Great Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Heather

    I laugh quietly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Skye

    "Yay!" Jumps at neko, wearing a moustache and humongo sunglasses and a long tank top dress.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    ...

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 364 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19