Customer Reviews for

Broken (Women of the Otherworld Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(189)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    I loved it!!

    The newest addition to the Women of the Underworld Series, Broken, returns to werewolf protagonist Elena Micheals. The unique twist on a letter thought to be written by Jack the Ripper and the portal it opens is a fascinating and entertaining premise to an exciting, tension-ridden plot. It is a fast-paced, page turner, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I highly recommend the book and the series. According to the author's newsletter, the series is currently slated for at least ten books. Book seven turns to Jaime as the narrator. Though Broken has a completely satisify (and exciting!) conclusion, enough questions are left about the future of Elena Micheals, the pack, and her children for a later return to her story. Her story is far from over. I look forward to reading more in this series about all of the intriguing characters introduced in the first six novels and in the Dates From Hell anthology. If you haven't begun this series yet, I recommend it - but be warned, once you pick these books up, you won't be able to put them down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2006

    Elena and Clay are back, yeah!!!!!!

    It was great to see another Elena and Clay story. What I love about the Otherworld woman is that they are strong, capable, talented and flawed. They make for great reading. It is also refreshing to see characters mature and move through life dealing with common day issues just like us mortals (family, babies) as well ask trying to close portals to other demensions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Spellbinding, magical and delightful

    She is the only female werewolf in existence and she is pregnant by her werewolf lover something that has never happened before. The men in Elena Michaels¿ pack are smothering her in their need to keep her safe and protected she understands their motives, but could use some action in her life. That occurs when half-demon Xavier Reese asks her to steal the letter ¿From Hell¿ supposedly written by jack the Ripper. In return Xavier will tell her where a rogue werewolf is hiding.----- The pack believes they can accomplish the theft with no danger to Elena so they travel to sorcerer Patrick Shanahan¿s Toronto home where the letter is located. They pull off the caper without a hitch but disaster happens when Elena¿s blood from an insect bite drips on the letter opening a dimensional portal. Two zombies enter from the other side bringing cholera to Toronto, contaminating the water supply and spreading other diseases. The sorcerer directs his zombies to kidnap Elena, who realizes she must find the practitioner causing the havoc that threatens her babies, pack and Toronto.------ The Women of the Other World story that stared with BITTEN and continued with STOLEN comes to a heartwarming conclusion in BROKEN. Elena is very happy with Clay and considers her pack as her family. Kelley Armstrong writes a fanatic urban fantasy filled with romance and mystery that will satiate fans of three genres. Nobody will guess the identity of the villain though that person is in plain sight for Monday morning quarterbacks. That is just part of the charm of this spellbinding, magical and delightful tale and miniseries.------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    KELLEY ARMSTRONG'S "OTHERWORLD SERIES" (A REVIEW)

    Kelley Armstrong is a progeny when it comes to supernatural writing. Her books leave you breathless with their racy romances, the constant struggles, and the exciting stories. She does all of this effortlessly and you have no choice but to plummet without stumbling straight into her world.
    She has created such a strong presence in all of her characters that everything about them makes them seem real! You get so caught up in their stories that you feel you are a part of them. I cannot say enough good things about Kelley!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fun and Engaging Read

    I greatly enjoy Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series, and this is a strong installment. One thing that is different about this series is that though it's in the same world and often linked, different books are told from different perspectives. The first two books, Bitten and Stolen, were written from Elena's perspective. To be honest, Paige of the third and fourth books is my favorite, so I was initially disappointed to find we had returned to Elena. But I still greatly enjoyed this novel, among the more suspenseful in the series as a pregnant Elena and her mate Clay deal with what might be Jack the Ripper unleashed on Toronto.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fun and fresh

    Elena and her werewolf pack are back in action in Broken. This time around, a very pregnant Elena unwittingly opens a portal that may have unleashed historical Jack the Ripper onto an unsuspecting modern day Toronto. Amidst zombies, a cholera outbreak, and vicious and diseased rats, Elena and company must try to get the portal closed and kill the ones who came out of it while staying alive themselves.

    I really enjoy this Women of the Otherworld series. What I love most about it is the wit, sarcasm and brass that Armstrong writes into her characters. It gives the books a fun and fresh feel that I really enjoy. Broken is exciting, very entertaining and has a great ending. I highly recommend this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great book

    Bitten was the best and staying in line I found these book stolen and broken the follow up book also great reading . The books following thow were a little out to me . If she had stayed in the same story line I would be still buying her books . I had gotten several books on tape ( CD'S ) before I found they had changed story lines . I wish she would write another book on these characters I found in Bitten . I really enjoyed them and it is so hard to find a werewolf book as good as Bitten .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was great

    This book was really good, the only problem I have with the book is not really with the book its with the writer, the books start out with a main character then the next book is someone else in the first story, its not bad. I was just really confused, after reading them all I really understood and liked the books, if you like crazy thriller books this is a good choice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Kelley Armstrong's 'Broken'

    This is the sixth book in the series 'Women of the Otherworld'. Honestly, I'm shocked that I have actually stuck with a series for so long. Most of the time, I will get bored of a series by the second or third book. But, Kelley Armstrong is amazing. 'Broken' is my favorite book of the series. Kelley Armstrong brought back Elena, so, I was definitely excited an pleased. The story line was fun and had me wanting for. I felt that the book was too short. That's how much I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Is it just me or is the pack leader HOT?!

    Okay so I LOVED THIS BOOK! I didn't like the Jack the Ripper in it even though I LOVE Jack the Ripper stories. I just don't think that parts meshed well. BUT Elena and Clay having a baby! But wait there is always a twist! Far be it for me to spoil it for you! But you'll LOVE it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2006

    This is a really cool series

    Broken is the latest in Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld. This one brings back Elena (the only female werewolf in existence) and her pack as the central characters. Elena and crew inadvertantly unleash Jack the Ripper on Toronto and need to rectify the situation. This is somewhat complicated by Elena's pregnancy and how it affects what she does. Its fast paced and hard to put down. I really enjoy Elena's interactions with the pack and particularly with other supernaturals she meets.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    You gotta read it!

    Oh wow... it was so amazing and you would be an idiot to not want to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Brokenheart

    She sits. Brokenheart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Highly Recommended-series read a must

    A nice combination of mystery and paranormal romance. The whole series is good from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Need More Elena/Clay!

    Another wonderful novel from Armstrong. Great character depth, wit, romance, and interesting plot twists/turns make this a keeper! Can't wait for more on my favorite set of werewolves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    read it!

    if ur deciding on whether to purchase this series just do it. kelley armstrong is a vey talented author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    Good Series

    Referred to friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    exciting

    well written, interesting, fun and like all the books in this series thoughly enjoyed but, i would wait until the mass market paperback is available

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    Interesting Concept

    This book is a little slow to start but once it gets going you really get into it. I like that sometimes it is hard to figure out who the killer is. Is it really jack the ripper? Will Elena be able to carry the babies to term? It sucks you right into the story. I can't wait to read about Jeremy in the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    I expecting nothing less

    I love Kelly Armstrong and this book didn't let me down. I can't wait for the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 289 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15