BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Broken

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful, heartwrenching, relateable

I love this book. I am an avid reader and this is a new favorite of mine. I expected a light read, and was completely taken off guard with the emotion and heartbreak in this one. I love the imperfect characters, and how Megan Hart made it so possible to crawl into the s...
I love this book. I am an avid reader and this is a new favorite of mine. I expected a light read, and was completely taken off guard with the emotion and heartbreak in this one. I love the imperfect characters, and how Megan Hart made it so possible to crawl into the story and hurt along with them. I found myself in my own moral conflict about the Joe/Adam situation, feeling guilty for wishing Sadie and Joe would cross their self-imposed boundaries. I have a close friend who was injured in a car accident and is a parapalegic, completely reliant on her family, and it gave me a glimpse of what they might really go through in caring for her. Very well done, Ms. Hart.

posted by elevenwishes on July 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Heartbreaking and Depressing

The love scenes are hot and steamy but the underlying story is terribly sad. You feel sorry for Sadie, Adam , and Joe. Very sad.

posted by 11463924 on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Wonderful, heartwrenching, relateable

    I love this book. I am an avid reader and this is a new favorite of mine. I expected a light read, and was completely taken off guard with the emotion and heartbreak in this one. I love the imperfect characters, and how Megan Hart made it so possible to crawl into the story and hurt along with them. I found myself in my own moral conflict about the Joe/Adam situation, feeling guilty for wishing Sadie and Joe would cross their self-imposed boundaries. I have a close friend who was injured in a car accident and is a parapalegic, completely reliant on her family, and it gave me a glimpse of what they might really go through in caring for her. Very well done, Ms. Hart.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Blown Away

    All I can say is wow. Read this book. It is beautifully written. What talent.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    This is, by far, one of the BEST fiction stories I have read in

    This is, by far, one of the BEST fiction stories I have read in years. So well written and compelling. Could not put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Wow... My heart is breaking! Such a great read. So emotional. I

    Wow... My heart is breaking! Such a great read. So emotional. I needed to walk away a few times just to pull myself together. Loved it! More please!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Loved it!

    I could not put this book down. I laughed and I cried but I really loved this book. I also loved that I got more insite on Elle and Dan. Such a great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    This erotic romance made me weep

    I didn't think Megan Hart could write anything more touching than Dirty but Broken had me crying for Sadie, right up until the end. What a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2007

    Unforgettable

    Two great novels in a row...What an emotional plot. Megan Hart is one of the very few romance writers who weaves a fast pace story and a rich mix of superb plot and sensuality. I only wished for fewer sex scenes.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Got sucked in

    This had me pulled from the first chapter...each kept making you want more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Wow! Highly recommended!

    What else can be said about this book?! Wow! It makes you feel... worth every penny! Read in 24 hrs because i had to know how it ends! Unforgettable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Great character development

    Touching story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Great Read!

    Emotionally charged, but painful at times. Having losted my husband a short time ago to cancer, this story brought to surface some of the feelings experienced in my life. Well done Megan Hart!
    LATXN

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    Wow!

    I cried so much for Sadie and at the end for Joe. I wish the author would've elaborated on what his feelings were and if the stories were true. Overall the book is good and so very sad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Leafdapple

    She pads in scars all over.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Great story

    I loved reading this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Loved this book. It was sexy and heartbreaking all at the same

    Loved this book. It was sexy and heartbreaking all at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Dirty

    GREAT read and you wont be able to put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Broken

    I absolutely love this book. I have read it so many times, and I cant get enough of it. Definitely recommend to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    A Must Read

    So much more than just a spicey novel. A wonderful plot and emotional character relationships. I can't say enough good things about this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A spicey romance

    Every month over the past year, psychologist Sadie Danning and mediator Joe Wilder meet for lunch on a public bench where he tells her his latest sexual escapades. Sadie misses what Joe has as her spouse Adam, whom she met in college, has since become a quadriplegic due to an accident. Adam hides his feelings from Sadie. Although he teaches online literature classes at Penn State, he stopped writing poetry. However she remains faithful to him physically, but in her dreams she is Joe¿s flavor of the month. Thus she lives precariously fantasizing that she is the star of Joe¿s tales of sexual conquest. This month she is Mary of quite contrary fame.------------- She does not need to be a shrink to know she craves the real thing as memories of her love life with her husband and hearing Joe¿s encounters only help so far. She also realizes how attracted she is to Joe, but hides even from herself how deep inside her heart he truly is. Fantasy and reality suddenly merge as desire supersedes all else between Sadie and Joe, but what happens afterward if they succumb to the heated spice they both covet.-------------- This is a deep character study that takes the readers inside the heads of the lead triangle. Fans will ironically know more of what Sadie and Adam feel than each does of the other as both hides their concerns and fears. The audience also learns why Joe has different women each month as the female he loves is a martyr out of reach though he shares his exploits with her every month. Megan Hart provides a powerful contemporary tale that although the climax is too convenient, fans will feel immense empathy with the trio.----------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    I didn't know what to expect when I purchased this book but it i

    I didn't know what to expect when I purchased this book but it is absolutely one of my favorite stories now.
    Its hard not feel torn between the two men in Sadie's life. It also makes you take a long look at the vows you take when you get married " for better for worst, in sickness and in health". I
    I fell in love with the characters and the stories Joe told were so good. This book is a mixture of excitement, love and sadness. I don't agree with the negative critics of this book. Not every in life is cut and dry including this story. But that's what makes it so good. 
    Read it with an open mind and you too will be spellbound by it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3