Customer Reviews for

Broken

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Broken is far from broken...in fact it's just about perfection!

I have nothing but praise for Broken by Shiloh Walker. I loved everything about Quinn and Sarah's love story. I thought it was a "true" romantic suspense; while the danger Sarah finds herself embroiled in brought her to a place where she meets Quinn, it's not the cata...
I have nothing but praise for Broken by Shiloh Walker. I loved everything about Quinn and Sarah's love story. I thought it was a "true" romantic suspense; while the danger Sarah finds herself embroiled in brought her to a place where she meets Quinn, it's not the catalyst to their developing relationship.

The suspense in this novel is that you don't understand the motives or the truths of the story until the end. The author cleverly uses flashbacks of the same or similar scenes throughout the book.slowly revealing shrouded secrets to the reader each time with additional details and insights to unravel the mystery surrounding Sarah.

Sarah and Quinn are attracted to each other instantly, but both try to convince themselves that to act on it would be unwise because neither feels that they are free to form an attachment, let alone fall in love. And Quinn.sigh, I love Quinn as a hero. He is such a wounded soul. He is a man who has overcome amazing odds to become who he is. He doesn't trust or love easily, yet with Sarah he finds that he is willing to reach for a chance at love. When he believes that she has betrayed him and his love, he tries to turn his back on her and leave her to her fate. He tries. Sarah is the mysterious soul in this love story, but Quinn is its heart.

Broken isn't a romantic suspense where the hero and the heroine are thrown together, then expected to fall in love while dodging bullets and saving the world. It's a love story about two people who are broken, but heal themselves and each other with their love. Broken is passionate, and emotional, and intriguing, and so very far from being broken..in fact I thought it was just about perfection. I read all but 70 pages in one day because it was so hard to put down....one of the best books I've read this year.

p.s. Broken is loosely connected to Fragile, also by Shiloh Walker. I didn't think it was necessary to read Fragile in order to enjoy Broken. That being said if you haven't read Fragile yet, you most certainly will after finishing Broken so do yourself a favor and pick up both and read them back to back :)

Ratings: 4.75 stars (a very very seductively steamy read!)

posted by booklover1335 on March 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not my taste

I admit I didn't finish this book, which is a rarity for me. Quite frankly, if I had known the "romance" scenes explicitly described anal sex, I would never have bought the book. Just not what I'm looking for in a romance novel. I found the way the author would repea...
I admit I didn't finish this book, which is a rarity for me. Quite frankly, if I had known the "romance" scenes explicitly described anal sex, I would never have bought the book. Just not what I'm looking for in a romance novel. I found the way the author would repeatedly bring up the same events from the characters' past annoying. It was as if the characters were who they were based on one or two single events from their past, not a whole life of experiences. The demonic husband out to kill his wife seemed cartoonish and unbelievable as a character. It was an intriguing premise, but it didn't live up to my expectations.

posted by Inspiration_Perspiration on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Broken is exceptional

    Broken By Shiloh Walker is a compelling story of love, betray and overcoming terrible odds.

    Quinn Rafferty excelled at his job as a bounty hunter for a private detective agency. His new neighbor has a quietness about her that intrigues him. But Quinn knows that Sara Davis is hiding from something or someone. Knowing this doesn't stop him from wanting her.

    Sara Davis is on the run from a dangerous situation. Every time she thinks those out to get her are close she bolts. She knows that she has no business wanting to know Quinn Rafferty any better. Sara feels a comfort and security with him that has been missing from her life for so long.

    Sara and Quinn stumble into a hot and steamy relationship. Quinn just begins to trust Sara when his next assignment is finding Sara. This changes everything and sets in motion more danger then he could imagine.

    Broken is intense and show how vulnerable we all can be. These two wounded souls have a complex love that both are unsure about. Shiloh Walker takes you on an emotional and sultry journey that will linger in your heart for days and weeks to come.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Broken is far from broken...in fact it's just about perfection!

    I have nothing but praise for Broken by Shiloh Walker. I loved everything about Quinn and Sarah's love story. I thought it was a "true" romantic suspense; while the danger Sarah finds herself embroiled in brought her to a place where she meets Quinn, it's not the catalyst to their developing relationship.

    The suspense in this novel is that you don't understand the motives or the truths of the story until the end. The author cleverly uses flashbacks of the same or similar scenes throughout the book.slowly revealing shrouded secrets to the reader each time with additional details and insights to unravel the mystery surrounding Sarah.

    Sarah and Quinn are attracted to each other instantly, but both try to convince themselves that to act on it would be unwise because neither feels that they are free to form an attachment, let alone fall in love. And Quinn.sigh, I love Quinn as a hero. He is such a wounded soul. He is a man who has overcome amazing odds to become who he is. He doesn't trust or love easily, yet with Sarah he finds that he is willing to reach for a chance at love. When he believes that she has betrayed him and his love, he tries to turn his back on her and leave her to her fate. He tries. Sarah is the mysterious soul in this love story, but Quinn is its heart.

    Broken isn't a romantic suspense where the hero and the heroine are thrown together, then expected to fall in love while dodging bullets and saving the world. It's a love story about two people who are broken, but heal themselves and each other with their love. Broken is passionate, and emotional, and intriguing, and so very far from being broken..in fact I thought it was just about perfection. I read all but 70 pages in one day because it was so hard to put down....one of the best books I've read this year.

    p.s. Broken is loosely connected to Fragile, also by Shiloh Walker. I didn't think it was necessary to read Fragile in order to enjoy Broken. That being said if you haven't read Fragile yet, you most certainly will after finishing Broken so do yourself a favor and pick up both and read them back to back :)

    Ratings: 4.75 stars (a very very seductively steamy read!)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Loved this book##

    I couldn't put this book down. I absolutely loved it. The chemistry between the two leads was undeniable. And the male lead: YUM! Intrigue and romance at its best! And the sex was hot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    his is a terrific romantic suspense thriller

    In St. Louis Sara Davis is attracted to her new neighbor, Quinn Rafferty. Alas she knows nothing can come of it as she is on the lam from someone who wants her dead. However, Quinn reciprocates and refuses to stay distantly friendly as he has a nasty past too.

    As Sara and Quinn become closer, she still conceals her dark secrets from him as he does with her. However, as they fall in love, fate twists them to the wind when his next skip as a bounty hunter is Sara.

    This is a terrific romantic suspense thriller that grips the audience from the onset as Sara knows she could easily fall in love with Quinn, but must instead avoid him. The story line is fast-paced yet filled with angst as he has issues having initially been raised by an abusive addict until his father and twin brother (see Fragile for Luke's tale) rescued him two decades ago. If Sara was to pick the perfect man to love her, he is it because as an adult he never forgot the abuse so he personally prefers beating up abusers. Readers will enjoy this terrific thriller as fans will wonder if Quinn has finally found happiness only will he give away the Elusive Butterfly Of Love (Bob Lind).

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    great read!!

    I loved this one. Definetly keep me on hooked. And loved the huge twists at the end. I couldn't put this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    Second book in the "series: (Fragile being hte first) It was fantastic! Help me on the edge of my seat until the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable book

    I have previously read "The Missing" by this author and enjoyed it. I gave "Broken" a try and found that I enjoyed that as well. The author includes a mix of suspense, action, drama, romance, and everything else that catches your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    This is the second book in the series and I doubt there will be more but I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone. I felt the pain that the characters went through and wanted everything to work out in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED THIS BOOK

    This book kept u at the edge of ur seat aand kept u guessing.The characters lead u to believe that u were apart of the story.i just loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Broken no more

    Shiloh Walker has done it again. After reading Fragile ( the story of Luke Rafferty) I had high hopes in regards to the story Shiloh would deliver for Quinn Rafferty. Quinn is a warrior running from his past, a past which has left him broken on the inside. No longer does he trust those around him, relationships are kept strictly professional, and love? Well love has no meaning in his world. He is really a man going through the motions of life..He does his civic duty by hunting down the low-life scums of the world and making sure they do their time in jail. He prefers to spend his time alone, not wanting to think about that one night that changed the course of life. Now after running into his new building flat neighbor, he is simply a man running from the hungers hos body is demanding he confront. Sara Davis is a woman on the run from a man who wants her out of his life and six feet under. Quinn simply screams "Wounded Warrior" and Sara is helpless in her attraction to the hunky broody neighbor. Yes she tries to deny him, but in the end who can deny the fireworks that erupts when the two are within eying distance of one another? Sara is afraid to trust Quinn to help her win the fight she is running from and Quinn wants nothing but to help the woman who has stolen his heart and soul. Before they can work their relationship out..Quinn is in the fight of life to save the love of his life. Will Sara and Quinn be able to overcome their pasts and acknowledge the love they so desperately share? All I will say is this is one book I couldn't put down and man this has got to be hands down the best work Shiloh has put out. Quinn and Sara bring so much energy to this story and watching them fight their pasts and learn to trust again is an adventure well worth the journey these two take. The story is feisty, sassy, heart wenching, touching, but most of all it is a reminder why the journey for true love is not always easy, is full of bumps and heartache, but in the end is worth it. BROKEN is well worth the wait for it debut in March and Shiloh has once again taken me into another world and given me a chance to escape my mundane life and experience first hand the fight for love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Review based on Advanced Reading Copy

    I won an advanced reading copy of this book from the writer. Shiloh Walker has done it again! This book is a phenomenal story about two very damaged, broken people (hence the title) just trying to make their way through life. Sara is a fantastically feisty leading lady, possibly my favorite out of all the books by Ms Walker I've read. Which is a very big deal as she is the best at creating leading ladies! Quinn takes dark and brooding to a whole new level. I especially love the twin connection from Quinn's side after reading Luke's side in Fragile. I had high hopes for this book and it delivered 110%. Shiloh has a great way of drawing readers in from page one. She weaves such an amazing story, you really care about these characters, what they've been through and where they are going. As always, the connections between the characters are undeniable.. and let's not forget the oh so steamy sex scenes! It's a great stand alone book, but I would highly suggest reading Fragile, if you have not already done so, while you wait for Broken to be released! With a twist you won't see coming, your jaw will drop! You absolutely will not be able to put this book down! Just ask my family, I had it finished in less than 24 hours!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2