Customer Reviews for

Broken Angel

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A spell binding read

Broken Angel is a painful step into the hell of New York¿s illegal fight world, but good does have some triumph over evil. S.W. Vaughn¿s character development of Gabriel as he is transformed from a gentle brother to Angel, a tough fighter, is superb. His protective feel...
Broken Angel is a painful step into the hell of New York¿s illegal fight world, but good does have some triumph over evil. S.W. Vaughn¿s character development of Gabriel as he is transformed from a gentle brother to Angel, a tough fighter, is superb. His protective feelings for his lost sister, Lillith, propel him forward into a bitter life he could not have imagined. Determination to save her places him into the torturous situations he stoically endures. He is moved like a chess board pawn from one horrendous experience to another in the heartless underground of underworld fights. Vaughn¿s skillful maneuvering of scenes and sub-plots holds the reader in the grip of menacing reality. To Marcus Slade, the cruel fight master who owns Gabriel¿s soul, the fighter becomes a broken angel. Only the subversive support of Doc helps sustain him in his darkest moments. The writer¿s description of the prostitute, Heather, and Angel¿s attraction to her add a note of romance to this hard hitting story. His efforts to rescue Lillith lead to his ultimate heartbreak, and give evidence that there is still a spot of tenderness in his hardened heart. Angel displays a staunch loyalty to friends he makes in the midst of the deadly competitions. The reader becomes enmeshed in a dark world of cruelty and avarice and almost subscribes to a feeling of total helplessness. As the plot draws to a close, an unexpected loyalty is returned to Angel by the heretofore evil Jenner. And although Angel ultimately joins in the underworld activities, there is still a thread of honor that spins from his life as Gabriel. Vaughn captures her readers with the first page of Broken Angel and holds us helplessly in a state of wonderment until the last sentence. Although this book could not be said to be enjoyable, it is of a certainty spell binding and will be thought of repeatedly after its conclusion.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

330 pages

This 330 page, well edited book was very violent and bloody. It is not a book for women. It is about a youngman trying to savehis sister's life and he is captured and forced into cage fighting. He must earn ten million dollars to free her and another ten million to free...
This 330 page, well edited book was very violent and bloody. It is not a book for women. It is about a youngman trying to savehis sister's life and he is captured and forced into cage fighting. He must earn ten million dollars to free her and another ten million to free himself. Unfortuately, things are not what they seem to be and he faces pain and betrayal from all sides. There was very little I enjoyed about this book. From tattoo mutulation, and fighring to the death, this book made me sick to my stomach. I was shocked at the high ratings by other reviewers. My father was a golden gloves boxer and even some of his stories made me ill, I watched some of his bouts and usually ended up puking out my guts. That was my father, getting hurt, he was a real live human being, able to experience pain and humilation. Fighting, like in this book is even worse. I can not recommend this book, nor can I ever read this author again. Humans should never do this to one another. It goes against every thing I hold dear. Lilith, should not even be considered human, let alone of the female sex. Just reading about a make believe character, such as she, made me ashamed to be female. I am sorry, but this book disgusted, shamed and sickened me. No redeeming qualiies. Adult themes, cursing, death, extreme violence, sex, gore, betrayal and drugs. Corrupt everyone. I can not recommend. For adults. Not chick lit in any form. No romance, friendship or tenderness in any form.

AD

posted by 19189092 on August 5, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2004

    Can't put it down...

    I have to say that I was thoroughly impressed with this dark masterpiece. If ever there was a book that should be made into a movie- this is it. One of the few novels captivating enough to actually make you use 'the tv in your head'. As you read you can actually 'see' what's happening. I won't ruin the dynamic plot twists with details, but trust me- this isn't one for the kids... at all! I don't read much as a rule, so for a novel to keep my interest at such a level is an auspicious accomplishment. Keep em comin' SW Vaughn!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed Broken Angel! There was a lot of metaphor and w

    I really enjoyed Broken Angel! There was a lot of metaphor and word play that made for an entertaining read, on top of the non-stop action and tension. I couldn't put this book down!

    Gabriel is forced to enter into the world of underground fighting in order to rescue his sister. Surrounded by evil, cruelty and violence, the story focuses on Gabriel's loyalty to his family and his friends, but more importantly his struggle to hold on to his humanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2014

    First thoughts about the cover of Broken Angel? Well, that¿s a b

    First thoughts about the cover of Broken Angel? Well, that’s a bit scary. The wall looks cracked, the door looks like it is in shadow. Is it a basement? Is it a dungeon? Is that blood on the floor?! It had my brain asking several questions before I ever started the book. Good way to draw the reader/listener in.

    This story is about Gabriel Morgan. He’s trying to find his sister. He feels he is responsible for her, he must take care of her, save her. In doing so, he unwillingly ends up getting tied in with underground fighting. He fights to protect his sister.

    The main ‘bad guy’ for most of this book is Slade. Honestly, this guy is an A-Hole to the max. Cruel, angry, narcissistic, manipulative… He sure makes a great bad guy for sure! I wanted to punch.

    Troy Duran is the narrator for this story. I loved his voice. Troy Duran has a sort of throaty growl in his voice that I found lovely. I loved the accents he gave to some of the characters in the book. This book is 9 hours, 1 minute, and 40 seconds. Well worth the time.

    There are several descriptive bloody fight scenes. Kinda mixes boxing, mixed martial arts, free style, and flat out brawling. If you aren’t into MMA or similar fighting styles, this book is not for you. It has a great story line about the five houses that run the fighting ring as well.

    The one mistake the narrator made that I caught was at the end of chapter six. It was a small one word oopsie, but it still brought me out of the story. The word bow. He read it as bow as in bow and arrow. It should have been said as one would bow a head. As in bend forward or curve downward. Same spelling, but different. Over all I greatly enjoyed this story and am looking forward to the others in this series. They are on my list for sure.

    When I finished this book it left me with the feeling that sometimes people are not what they seem. Even the best person has their dark side. There will always be people in your life that you think you cannot live without, but you might have to cut ties and walk away. Sometimes letting go is the only way to move forward.

    Audiobook provided for review by the narrator.

    Please find this complete review and many others at audiobookreviewer dot com

    [If this review helped, please press YES. Thanks!]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Really good book

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted August 7, 2011

    WOW!!!!!

    I have never read such a book (without sexy love scenes) that has kept me NEEDING to turn the page! I thoroughly laughed, cried, cussed and tried to will good endings into this book! Mahalo for taking my humble opinion into account!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Normally I do not buy free books because well to be honest, you get what you pay for. However with this book I was proved wrong. Broken Angel was outstanding and there was never a dull moment. The charater development amazing and the storyline orginal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended - it won't disappoint!!

    Broken Angel isn't a book I would have ordinarily read . It was very disturbing in the beginning, with the violence Gabriel and later Angel had to endure I had to force myself to continue reading it and I am so glad I did. I experienced every emotion, sadness, horror, hate, fear, helplessness, disgust and ultimately jubilation (when good triumphs over evil) while reading this book, this is all contributed to the very talented S.W. Vaughn. To have been able to illicit all of these deep emotions from the reader was simply ingenious. This book is for anyone 18 and over who enjoys and can appreciate a truly remarkable story. Based on this book I would definitely read other books by this author, with all its complexities this book would be a great book for any book club discussion. Hats off to S.W. Vaughn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Broken Angel breathes with an insistent life of its own

    Broken Angel, by SW Vaughn, breathes with an insistent life of its own, pulling readers along through the dark underworld of barbaric fight clubs and prostitution. The story unfolds as twenty-two year old Gabriel Morgan, destitute and starving, discovers a lead to his missing sister¿s whereabouts deep in the seedy underbelly of Manhattan. For two years, Gabe scoured the city in search of his sibling, driven by memories of their traumatic childhood and praying to rescue Lillith from the ring of prostitution into which she¿s been ensnared. Slade, cold-hearted leader of an underground street fighting society, has been waiting for the unsuspecting Gabriel. Lillith dangles like a spider¿s prey in his web, luring Gabe into Slade¿s trap. Beneath the glamour and glitz of Fifth Avenue pulses a world fraught with greed, violence, and cruelty. Captured, tortured and held in a secret complex beneath Fifth Avenue, Gabe is chained to a wall in his own private dungeon, where he discovers his fate. Terms for release: ten million dollars. Broke and desperate, Gabe is forced to fight for Slade in exchange for his sister¿s freedom. Training is brutal and comes with a price. Jenner, slithering and sadistic, delights in torturing Gabriel, calling him his ¿angel.¿ The name sticks. Slade bills Angel as his newest weapon sure that he¿ll make millions in the no-holds-barred events. Angel grows stronger and more resilient as the months pass under Jenner¿s vicious tutelage. Jenner tattoos an elaborate set of wings on Angel¿s back, driving him into a pain-induced coma. After an excruciating recovery, fight follows fight as Angel strikes blows for freedom. He wins the first, the second, and the third event. He¿s good - and discovers a disturbing affinity to the blood sport. Befriended by Akuma, an exotic and lithe fighter, Angel welcomes the brief moments of companionship as he works his way through the human cockfights. Vaughn has created a fascinating, yet disturbed world. The tight writing flows effortlessly and propels the reader forward, mesmerized and horrified, to the startling ending. Readers must be forewarned, they will likely read late into the night, unable to abandon Angel in his plight, and will beg for the release of Devil¿s Honor, the second book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Blown away by a new author.

    I recently read Mr. Vaughn's book 'Broken Angel' through a friend's advice. This new author uses words as clay to sculpt a fascinating world of underground crime in an addictive story that kept me on the edge of my seat. This is a literary masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3