Customer Reviews for

The Broken H

Average Rating 4
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Reunion/Second Chances Story

Shane has had a thing for Grayson for years; Grayson's feelings for Shane have existed for almost as long - but a misunderstanding 12 years prior sent Grayson running off to join the rodeo circuit before college, then the police academy. Now Grayson is back as the town'...
Shane has had a thing for Grayson for years; Grayson's feelings for Shane have existed for almost as long - but a misunderstanding 12 years prior sent Grayson running off to join the rodeo circuit before college, then the police academy. Now Grayson is back as the town's sheriff and he's decided to grab onto Shane with both hands. Assuming the older man doesn't fight him off.

While I loved the romance between the two, I couldn't help feeling this one could've used another pass with a line editor. Despite the little editing misses throughout, however, Langley's skill with winding up the sexual tension is evident. Side stories were a little cliched and possibly drawn out a bit longer than necessary, but I felt the couple and their obstacles were realistic. Overall, I'm happy I took the time to continue reading the series and J.L. Langley continues to be one of my favorite m/m authors.

posted by Elisa_Jankowski on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Oh what to say...

Well the Broken H is not as good as the Tin Star. It seems to me that the complexity was lost in this book. Sure the story as a concept is great but it read sort of well. bland. The passion behind the story that can only come from the author was undeniably absent. The c...
Well the Broken H is not as good as the Tin Star. It seems to me that the complexity was lost in this book. Sure the story as a concept is great but it read sort of well. bland. The passion behind the story that can only come from the author was undeniably absent. The climax of the story (no pun intended) was rather boring and well unentertaining. It pains me to write this review but I am put off a little by this book. I do believe that if a little more time, effort, and thought went into this book it could have been a brilliant success. However do not let this review put you off from Langley. J.L. Langley has other titles that have the passion and fire truly deserving your full attention.

posted by eyez-of-cerulean on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great Reunion/Second Chances Story

    Shane has had a thing for Grayson for years; Grayson's feelings for Shane have existed for almost as long - but a misunderstanding 12 years prior sent Grayson running off to join the rodeo circuit before college, then the police academy. Now Grayson is back as the town's sheriff and he's decided to grab onto Shane with both hands. Assuming the older man doesn't fight him off.

    While I loved the romance between the two, I couldn't help feeling this one could've used another pass with a line editor. Despite the little editing misses throughout, however, Langley's skill with winding up the sexual tension is evident. Side stories were a little cliched and possibly drawn out a bit longer than necessary, but I felt the couple and their obstacles were realistic. Overall, I'm happy I took the time to continue reading the series and J.L. Langley continues to be one of my favorite m/m authors.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Broken H beeds a bit of repair

    As a self-proclaimed homoerotic novel-"one-handed reads," as I refer to them-The Broken H, by J.L. Langley [Loose Id LLC 2007] is better than some. Oh, there are plenty of sex scenes (15 in all, give or take one or two), but journalistically speaking the writing is quite solid, and the author has made an attempt to build a plot between the romps in the sack. Admittedly the plot is a bit short on originality, but the point is that there is one.

    Shane Cortez is a runaway with a mysterious past-although we don't find out what that is until quite late in the story. Nevertheless, he now seems well adjusted as foreman of The Broken H Ranch. The Hunters, a remarkably liberal family-including their gay son, Grayson-have unofficially adopted Shane as a son, and Grayson has fallen lustfully in love with him. It is nonetheless a rocky romance, made more difficult by a teenage bimbo who accuses Shane of knocking her up. Her father, a somewhat stereotypical loudmouthed redneck, then sets out to demand that Shane make an 'honest woman' of her.

    Meanwhile, he and Grayson are filling page-after-page with "homoerotic sex" at the drop of an elastic band [see the story for an explanation].

    If a nice light read without too many challenging plot twists is your forte, then this story is bound to fill the bill.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh what to say...

    Well the Broken H is not as good as the Tin Star. It seems to me that the complexity was lost in this book. Sure the story as a concept is great but it read sort of well. bland. The passion behind the story that can only come from the author was undeniably absent. The climax of the story (no pun intended) was rather boring and well unentertaining. It pains me to write this review but I am put off a little by this book. I do believe that if a little more time, effort, and thought went into this book it could have been a brilliant success. However do not let this review put you off from Langley. J.L. Langley has other titles that have the passion and fire truly deserving your full attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    First time reading this author

    & loved the book. Will be checking out other titles by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    A very sexy and well written love story.

    A very sexy and well written love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Another great one!

    This was just as good as the first book, just different. There wasn't as much of a conflict or drama as in Tin Star, but there really doesn't need to be. Not every gay person has a hard time with acceptance. I loved how much these guys really loved and respected each other. Knowing that they have cared for one another since childhood just made the easy slide into love and passion that much easier to accept. Like someone else wrote, I can't wait for another story with John and Royal! Langley's books are pretty much an auto-buy for me now. 360 pgs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    I really like this book and the tin star. wish we could hear mor

    I really like this book and the tin star. wish we could hear more from these men. not my normal reads but was interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Liliana

    She sits and plays xbox.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Ispral

    She sets down the suits case and her bags

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Love love love!!?

    Will there be a story on John Killian and Royal? Gosh... I hope so. Will be on the look out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Excellent Weekend Read!!!

    Another page turner by J.L. Langley that grabs you at the first few pages and keeps the interest flowing until the last page. Excellent book series starting with The Ten Star and now this. Langley is now inked into my list of favorite authors. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is Soooo Good!

    You gotta read this book :-) I read Tin Star which was really really good and hot, hot, hot. But, I'm a straight girl who is into vampire books.(Taking a short break from my vampire books). However, I love the diversity of these books. This one is awesome. I don't seem to get all hot and bothered with these books as I do with the Lorelei James rough rider series...Whew, those you need to fan yourself every 5 seconds while getting a great story. But, because these books are m/m I Don't get as hot and bothered. Hey, don't get me wrong they are very hot, and I love the male body so I love these books. This is a darn good writer and can really tell a story well. Only thing is they often talk about California and San Francisco. Hey that where I'm from. A True California Girl never left it, love it toooo much. I love driving into the city it's a blast so I find it funny when the author uses California as an example of near acceptance, A Utopia as it may seem. K...we do have the Gay pride parade, but, but, but, you see the funny thing is we haven't even voted for the right to leagally marry of person of your choice be it m/m , f/f its just plain m/f and this is a sad shame. No I'm not a liberal, just believe in free will. So I highly recommend this if you want a good love story that tugs at the heart. J.L. Langley writes well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Absolutly Brilliant!

    The Broken H is a beautiful love story that I truly enjoyed every moment of! Langley is great at making characters that are lovable and unforgettable. The story itself is romantic and heartwarming, as well as funny and entertaining. Though I wouldn't say that it's Langley's best novel, I still really enjoyed it. Anyone who likes gay romance is sure to love the Broken H!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    Good book!

    This was not as good as the Tin Star, but it was good in it's own way. Definitely read it if you read the Tin Star, it's nice to hear from Jamie and Ethan again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8