Customer Reviews for

Broken Harbor (Dublin Murder Squad Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

With 'Broken Harbor', Tana French has once again brought us a th

With 'Broken Harbor', Tana French has once again brought us a thrilling police procedural with lots of 'crazy' psychological turns and twists. Veteran detective , 'Scorcher' and his new rookie detective, Richie, explore means and methods of working togetherness to solve...
With 'Broken Harbor', Tana French has once again brought us a thrilling police procedural with lots of 'crazy' psychological turns and twists. Veteran detective , 'Scorcher' and his new rookie detective, Richie, explore means and methods of working togetherness to solve a terrible tragedy.

The 'perfect' couple, with their 6 year old Emma, and 3 year old Jack, have been living in the partially developed 'Broken Harbor' by the sea for about a year when their tragedies strikes them. At first it's builders going broke after just starting a new community development. Most of their houses are empty or not completed. All the extras---shops, parks, community centers---have not even begun to be built. But the Spaines and their two children find themselves living there in their new 'dream house' that is anything but a dream. Eventually more tragedy strikes and our story begins with two dead children in their beds, and a bloody mess in the kitchen, where Patrick lies dead with his barely alive wife curled up beside him.

Tana French expertly uses today's headlines to develop her psychological story line. Builders going broke, homes empty, job loses becoming more prevalent amongst the 'climbing' middle classes, and message boards on computers becoming the primary source for information, communications, and the hope of helpful comforting solutions to life's problems.

Mix this case in with a developing working relationship with a veteran and rookie cop, add in a less than admirable fellow officer, plus a large dose of our veteran cop's nearly psychotic sister, and top it off with a stalking 'best friend'. What do you have? Another winning read from Tana French!! Be prepared to keep reading till you complete this book once you open the first pages. I was on page 100 before I realized that we'd not even left the scene of the crime yet, and I was loving it!!

posted by RonnaL on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Sadly--a real mixed bag

I LOVE Tana French and have long felt she has only gotten better with each "Dublin Squad" novel--"Faithful Place" is outstanding and one of the best books I've read in the last decade. I waited very impatiently for two years for the new installment--but I cannot rate "H...
I LOVE Tana French and have long felt she has only gotten better with each "Dublin Squad" novel--"Faithful Place" is outstanding and one of the best books I've read in the last decade. I waited very impatiently for two years for the new installment--but I cannot rate "Harbor" above three stars.

On the PLUS side:

***An incredibly creepy crime and once the novel reveals the reasons behind it--OMG; I'm reeling.

***French's uncanny knack for language and dialogue--she is superb in making her characters HEARD. She is cinematic in her use of language.

The DOWN side:

***While I have always loved French's technique of centering a novel around a character previously introduced in a previous novel--Scorcher may have not been the best choice. He's so patently unlikeable, so smug, pretentious and judgemental that [SPOILER-ISH]even when he does get his comeuppance--it wasn't enough. While "Faithful's" Frank is a hard man to like, his charm and inner vulnerablity carry him; even Rob from the first novel is more grabbing than Scorcher. NO character caught me; NO character made me care enough...the Spain family, yes...but not the major characters. PLEASE bring back Cassie or Frank!

***Scorcher's crazy sister is so horrible I couldn't get past her but even she didn't make me care enough about Scorcher. I wanted her GONE.

***TOO much repetitive conversation with the partner, witnesses--it just drags; by page 200 you've read the same speculation and theories to the point of screaming; unlike the other novels, the dysfunctional family backstory just is not intriguing. I could not care about Kennedy's family (although it explained a lot about him) and felt it simply took away from the main crime. Editing? Probably needs more.

I LOVE Tana French--just not this book--but I will wait, impatiently, for book four--like I said--can we find out what Cassie and/or Frank are doing??

posted by irishclaireKG on July 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    French is an excellent writer.  Perfect ear fro dialogue, intere

    French is an excellent writer.  Perfect ear fro dialogue, interesting plot.  She kept me to the end on a rainy afternoon.  But, like Donna Tartt, French needs an editor with more control over the material.  I figured out who dunnit  way sooner than I should have, and some situations were enlarged upon to the point of agony for the reader.  The wild animal, the details of Conor's infatuation,s, every detail was  worked to death.  This could have been a much stronger book with proper tightening.  But for  French's organizational sense, her sharp ear for dialogue, and her general all around talent, Broken Harbor gets three stars from me.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2014

    Broken Harbor follows murder squad detective Mick "Scorcher

    Broken Harbor follows murder squad detective Mick "Scorcher" Kennedy who was the detective investigating Rosie and Kevin's murders
    in the previous book in this series, Faithful Place.

    So in Faithful Place we first met Scorcher but to tell you the truth I did not particularly care for him, some characters you like some you
    don't, but anyway I wasn't to keen when I first started reading Broken Harbor because I held onto a little prejudice against him from the
    previous book. However, I soon changed my mind about old Scorcher once I got to know him past the egotistical attitude that he uses
    as a shield to keep the dark things from his past from devouring him.

    This was a hard read not just because of Scorcher, but because two of the victims are children, young children. So you have been
    warned don't read further if you cannot stand it.

    Patrick Spain, wife Jenny and their two children, Emma and Jack, seemed to be a wonderful family. Even though they were going through
    some money issues since Patrick got laid off from his job they still appeared happy, appeared being the word here. But underneath
    Patrick and Jenny were both becoming unstable and both of the children were in danger. 

    This story has many supporting characters and a web of lies and deceit that are to complicated to try and summarize in the book review
    so this is going to be short and more of a teaser than most of my reviews.

    Scorcher gets assigned to the case at Broken Harbor, Patrick is dead as is Emma and Jack, and Jenny is badly injured and on her way
    to the hospital not sure if she will make it or not. High-profile does not even begin to describe a case where children have been murdered
    and Scorcher and his rookie partner, Richie, are going to have to get this one right or else. 

    There is a back story to the setting of Broken Harbor and how it relates to those dark things from Scorcher's past, for before it was a
    development it use to be the beach where his family would go during the summer to stay and it is also where Scorcher's mother walked
    into the ocean one day and killed herself. The really sad part is she had tried to walk into the ocean with Scorcher's youngest sister, Dina,
    but she survived whereas her mother did not. Their whole world turned upside down, mother dead, father overcome with grief that he just
    shut down, and Scorcher with sister Geri pretty much raised Dina who is bogged down with a lot of mental issues stemming from
    her experience that night on the beach with her mother. So Dina flip flops out of Scorcher's life right when he needs to be completely
    on the job but he constantly is worried about his sister while trying to track down the murderer.

    Scorcher and Richie finally have a suspect in custody, Conor Brennan, Pat and Jenny's friend from when they were kids, he was even
    Emma's godfather, but due to some spat they had a falling out and Conor was no longer involved in their lives. Well they were wrong,
    for Conor had set up in one of the abandoned homes in the development and was watching the Spain's house. Creepy right!

    Scorcher thinks they got their man but Richie is not so sure and keeps putting pressure on Scorcher to keep checking out Pat, Scorcher
    agrees even though his is so sure Conor was the doer. What Scorcher doesn't know though is that Richie pocketed evidence that directly
    implicates someone else, neither Conor nor Pat, and if it wasn't for Dina, his sister, than Scorcher may have never known of its existence.

    An unreal confession comes out from the evidence and the whole case turns into a huge mess. Richie will never work murder again he is
    lucky to have even kept his badge but can Scorcher fix up this mess so that justice is served.

    Blow's my mind is the perfect way to describe how I feel after I finish one of Tana French's books and even though I didn't care for this
    one as much as I have some of her others it is still a spectacular story of the messed up lives of ordinary people, I think that is why her
    books are so relatable I mean the Spain's could be my next door neighbors for crying out loud. A scary look into the mind of Conor just
    adds to it even though he thought what he was doing was harmless it was still super duper creepy. You'll be putting your blinds down
    for good after you read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Maria Book provided by the publisher for review Revi

    Reviewed by Maria
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    This book absorbed me and literally claimed my attention until the last satisfying word. Murder Detective Mick ‘Scorcher’ Kennedy is what you might call (in Dublin at least) a sound man. He has it all covered from every angle. As he says himself, if he’s working on a case, it’s getting done right. He’s brash, confident and focused. But the case of a young family, found slaughtered in a house in a ghostly, half abandoned housing estate which came up in Dublin during the boom a few years back affects him deep down in places he thought were sealed and locked forever.

    What happened to Pat and Jenny Spain on that fateful night? They’d more or less kept out of touch and kept their contact with friends and relatives more or less to the minimum after Pat lost his job. What brought about the undoing of a couple so much in love with two beautiful kids? As Scorcher embarks on a journey of discovery, he comes up against his own painful experiences with Broken Harbor, the place where this murder happened, many years before.

    I particularly loved the dialogue in the novel. The Irish have a sense of humor that can laugh in the face of death and it comes out beautifully here. The conversation between Scorcher and the technical expert who comes to examine the scene of the crime is hilarious. Scorcher tells the man: ‘We’ve got enough blood spatter to keep you happy for weeks.’ ‘Oh, lovely,’ comes the reply. Sounds awful, doesn’t it? But methinks deep down, that’s the kind of humor which helps a person to keep their sanity, especially when they’re staring death in the face every other day. ‘One more bedsit overdose and I think I’d have died of boredom.’ That’s the technical expert again. But as Scorcher unravels the story of the crime, slowly and painstakingly, we realize it’s going to take a lot more than a black sense of humor to get him through.

    Crime thriller though it is, it’s very much a comment on the scene in a country reeling from the effects of a recession. The gloom, the soul destroying hopelessness in what was, a few short years ago, a land of plenty and prosperity. Tana French’s books tend to leave you with much to think about. My prayer for Ireland during this time would be that the recession will heal and people will get their lives back again. My wish for Scorcher, were he real and not a figment of an author’s imagination would be that he and his family get some closure and healing for their past tragedies and that Scorcher can meet the right woman, preferably someone who already has grown up kids (as his marriage broke up because he didn’t want any) who can give him the back rubs and the listening ear he so badly needs when he comes home from saving the world.


    Favorite Quote:  “Let’s get one thing straight; I was the perfect man for this case.”
    “Let’s get another thing clear, while we’re at it; I am bloody good at my job. I still believe that. I’ve been on the Murder Squad for ten years, and for seven of those, ever since I found my feel, I’ve had the highest solve rate in the place. This year I’m down to second, but the top guy got a run of slam-dunks, domestics where the suspect practically slapped the cuffs on his own wrists and served himself up on a plate with applesauce.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    This fourth installment about the Dublin Murder Squad focuses on

    This fourth installment about the Dublin Murder Squad focuses on Mick "Scorcher" Kennedy, who was introduced in the prior novel Faithful Place. All of the aspects that made the preceding books great are here: tight plotting, fully-fleshed character development, interesting and informative subplots, insight into police procedures without slowing the story, realistic Irish language/dialect, and twists and surprises that constantly thrill the reader and enrich the story. Toward the end there is perhaps a wee excess of introspection, but if you've liked the other three novels (which do not have to be read to enjoy this one) you'll find this a solid entry in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    4th in the series and still refreshingly original!

    While I am not sure that any of French's books will top the first. This continued the tradition if being completely unique from its predecessors. The stakes all felt a bit lower but the way the crime plot and character subplots interwine is satisfying and I finished the book enjoying my time in its world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Worth the read time

    Tana French is not a fast read, but it is the type where you become personally part of the main caricatures. Very very informative down to the letter. You become Irish with the Celtic dialect of Ireland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Well done

    Very good book with great detail to police investigations and interrogations. Author did her homework doing this one. Certainly would recommend this book, especially to anyone interested in who did it novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    Tana French never disappoints

    When she starts to write I hear the characters talking. Lover her style. This story was good I loved all the twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Great author, good story, needed better editing

    I have read all of tana frenchs books and even though this one was definately not at the top of her game, i will continue to be on pins and needles till the next one comes out. I think she is a fabulous writer that must have been having a rough roe with this book. Its still a great story,but a little long winded at times. When they start rambling on just skip a few pgs. You won't have missed a there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Tana French¿s novels are full of psychological twists and turns,

    Tana French’s novels are full of psychological twists and turns, and this book is no exception. It features Irish detective Mike “Scorcher” Kennedy, a straight-laced professional with an enviable track record of solving the most difficult cases. Also, he does it by the book, with no short-cuts or unauthorized techniques.

    After a down period, he is assigned to a high profile murder case, in which two young children and their father are found dead and the mother fatally stabbed but barely alive. Together with a rookie partner, Kennedy has to face not only what seems to be a clueless case, but his own personal psychological burdens, including his mentally unbalanced sister and the suicide death of his mother in the very town in which the victims are found.

    This well-written novel is part police procedural, part psychological thriller. It is not an easy read, as it narrowly follows Kennedy as he intuitively moves the investigation forward. The characterizations are complex, the insights into each deep and penetrating. However, the 459 pages are rewarding, and the book is well-recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Excellent

    We've come to expect excellence from French. She delivers it in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    A real page turner.

    This is the first Tana French book I have read, and I will definitely read more. Her characters are complex and very well drawn out. I did, however, think that one premise of the story line was a bit far-fetched, but I can't be any more specific without giving away part of the plot and resolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    From a big fan of Tana French, I must say that this long awaited

    From a big fan of Tana French, I must say that this long awaited book was very good and would have received 5 stars IF i hadn't read her first two books. The pyschological twists and suspense are still there, the unpredictable fact is also still there, the detailed characters and ability to constantly peak your curiosity and not put this book down, still there...I guess it was the actual characters that were a little bit annoying but not enough to kill the book. One star off for the characters, otherwise Tana French did well even if this wasn't up to par when compared to her previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Tana French Does it Again

    Wonderfully written! Her characters are fully developed and interesting. I honestly didn't know WHO the killer was until the very end. Loved the suspense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Love this author

    Was a really good and would have given it a 5 star but towards the end I felt it was coming apart. Still a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    great

    I love Tana French and have read all the Dublin murder squad series. I like the way she introduces her characters, then writes her stories about them individually in future tales. Her psychological insights into, and through her characters are really interesting. I am waiting for the next one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Very engaging and well.written book.

    Enjoyed different voices used in the book and the storyline. Kept me wanting more information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Recommended!

    A tightly woven story with good characters and lots of suspense. I found Ms. French's writing a little wordy. Lots of what seemed to be unnecessary verbiage at 450 pages. A little pruning would have made for a really exciting novel. I enjoyed it, but found myself skimming over some of what I felt was not germane to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Another good book by Tana French. Det. Mick "Scorcher"

    Another good book by Tana French. Det. Mick "Scorcher" Kennedy
    is using all his detective craftiness to solve the murder of a family
    which left only the mother alive. Partnered with a rookie detective, he
    seems to have found the perfect new partner, but the twists and turns in
    the story keep you wondering who is the good guy and who really killed
    the family. The book has many emotional stories and it leaves you
    questioning which path you would have taken if you headed up the
    investigation. Book is set outside Dublin, on the coast. Ireland was hit
    hard by the recession and this book really depicts how families can
    spiral out of control when their worlds are turned upside down by
    external factors they just can't control. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Eden

    Sits down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2