Customer Reviews for

Broken Open: How Difficult Times Can Help Us Grow

Average Rating 3.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

bought this book on a whim after my father's death. so much of this book and the experiences of elizabeth and her patients speak to my heart. any one going through a difficult period in life for whatever reason should read this book. you're not alone.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Draw inspiration from this book and others...

Difficult times always provide us an opportunity to explore our own character and value system.

posted by Bachanon on January 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    A reviewer

    bought this book on a whim after my father's death. so much of this book and the experiences of elizabeth and her patients speak to my heart. any one going through a difficult period in life for whatever reason should read this book. you're not alone.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Still reading it

    I was going through some issues in my marriage and form reading this book has help me to relax and release alot of the stuff. I would inform everyone whoI come in contact with to pick up a copy. Better yet loan them my copy. This book give me other books to read as well I really appreciated the author for writing such a great book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    MAGNIFICENT!!

    This book has taken me to depths of my own life that I dared to enter. This is the book for any person wanting to be human. I am forever in love with this book. I have never wanted to restart a book before I even got to the middle! Every single chapter has touched my life. I have passed it on to friends having their own personal healing, change, freedom etc.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Life Changing if You're Ready

    What an inspiring book for anyone working through change. Some of the author's ideas are too "out there," sure. But weed out what you need to using your own faith as a guide, and learn from the rest. This book reminds the reader you're not alone, your experiences aren't unique, and there are answers to help you rise from the ashes of an experience that may have left you broken, broken hearted or simply scattered. I didn't want to put this book down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Draw inspiration from this book and others...

    Difficult times always provide us an opportunity to explore our own character and value system.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    A Must

    Elizabeth Lesser has the ability to reach into one's very soul with her unique touch of wisdom and grace. She shares from the heart and will deeply touch yours! She is helping me to heal on very deep levels!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Real Break Through

    It's is hard to not like this book. It's one of those books that reminds us that when life hands us lemons that we should make lemonade. I just love it.

    For anyone who still feels bound by their anger, guilt, hurt or pain, I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more than that. I was about how you should deal with friends, family and yourself and more importantly, how to keep these relationships strong when things go wrong. Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that. You will understand why when you read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A charming book for understanding difficult times

    This is a charming book for helping to understand the difficult times everyone experiences. Lesser has clearly suffered and reached the sweet place of understanding the gift(s) that come through trying times.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Cali

    Ok

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Marni

    This is how it's going to be: "I watch the trees blow in the gentle breeze" Kay. Same here.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    Things to take away...

    But books at times is a little new-agey. It's worth picking up and reading.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    phenomenal

    this book is very isperational. it really touched me personaly. it brings you clarity on issues in our lives that are really hard to get through.i recommend this book to anyone who has lost someone special or to anyone who is willing to admit they have difficult times in there life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Pretty basic

    I found the book started out strong and then settled into "average." I expecte more indepths stories illustrating how others came through their difficult times. However, the majority of the book is the author's detailed account of her story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Broken Open

    Broken Open is a wonderful book. I think everyone should read it.

    Thank you,

    Melody

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational

    Very good and inspirational book. I would recommend it for anyone who is dealing with hard times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    Excellent!!!

    This book is one of the best books to continue on you "path". The book gives clarity to some of the events in life that we need to live through. You will feel empowered after reading this book. It had helped me put a lot of the events in my life into perspective. I highly recommend it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Love It, Love It!!!

    A refreshing book!!! It's nice to see things in a different light. I love that she explains the Phoenix Process. It's a great book when you have or are expreiencing some difficult things in your life that the answers are not clear.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Still reading

    I just started reading it. Hope it gets better.....

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4