Customer Reviews for

Broken Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    John Sandford writes the best police procedurals on the market today

    The first body that of Angela Larson was found in a posed position, her body scourged, her neck sliced open, and ligature marks on her hands. The second corpse Adam Rice is found in the same manner with his young son killed as an afterthought. Lucas Davenport, who was at both crime scenes, concludes that the same person did the killings. When the news leaks to the media, parole officer Mark Fox Calls Davenport and tells him he thinks his parolee Charlie Pope, who was just released from St. John¿s mental institution for raping and strangling a woman was the perpetrator....................... Charlie is nowhere to be found. His trailer is deserted, he failed to show up for his job and the electronic surveillance bracelet he was forced to wear was cut open. He gets in contact with newspaper reporter Russell Ignace of the Star Tribune and tells him that he has a third victim that he will kill next. When Lucas learns of this, he leads a massive search to find the perpetrator but he is too late. Now Lucas really is determined to do whatever it takes to find and cage the killer...................... John Sandford writes the best police procedurals on the market today. The killer is playing a diabolical game, constantly shifting the evidence so it falls on the wrong person and Lucas doesn¿t catch on to the scheme until three innocent lives are lost. Even when he figured out what is happening, there is so many viable suspects that he and the readers will find it near impossible to identify of the killer. This who-done-it is one of the best Lucas Davenport tales in this long running series.................... Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Loved it!!

    Sandford wrote another winner. The hero's are always believable and the villains are always nasty.
    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    Great Lucas Davenport adventure!

    You see, I love Lucas Davenport, and John Sandford's development of this character over time has given the Davenport Books a richness not often found in plain old mystery novels. And the plot is great - lots of twists and turns and OMG! moments. Great read. And he doesn't short you for pages as do some authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Broken Prey

    Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    I'm making my way thru ...

    I'm making my way thru the J.S. "Prey Series" from start-to-finish & this is my favorite of the 16 I have read to-date. It's such a well-crafted story, told in a breathtaking way. There's not a single wasted word in this showcase of his writing style. I know this borders on cliche, but I literally couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Loved it!

    I found the beginning of this book a little disconcerting as it chopped and changed a fair bit. However, once I got into the story, I was hooked. The author maintains a good level of suspense throughout and the plot has more twists and turns than you would find in a maze. Interestingly, I was completely unable to pick the culprit until the author was ready for me to do so, which is fairly rare these days. If you like murder mysteries, you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    John Sanford

    I decided to give this author a go when I read a reference about him in another book I was reading. I was enjoying that one, so I decided to try this author. I very much enjoyed reading my first book by him, and I hope to purchase others to read. A good story, human, realistic and believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    Great as always

    I love the Davenport series....Never a dull moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Broken Prey, John Sandford

    Everything that John Sandford has written is riveting, thrilling and edge-of-your-seat, have to keep reading terrific. Broken Prey is no exception. For those of you who may not have had the pleasure of reading John Sandford, I recommend that you buy any of his 'Prey' books and prepare yourself for a good read.

    In "Broken Prey", Lucas Davenport, seasoned investigator for the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension in Minnesota, is brought into a series of particularly heinous crimes where the body is put on display and left in a place that would be easily and quickly discovered. It goes on from there with the mystery stacking one on top of the other with Lucas one step behind the next murder. This is a definite read for those of us that love a good mystery/thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Caught My Attention

    I have not read or listened to any of John Sanford's writings, until Broken Prey. I was drawn from the beginning. Captured and kept captive to see what turn or trick was next. The Charater Davenport is just the kind of agent you would imagine more of the special crime agent would be like. I am only sorry that I started with a book towards the newest. I am loooking for the first 15 in the series to start from the beginning. I love them on CD so I can listen from my laptop or while in my car driving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    Another great saga in the series.

    Good, solid character development and a great plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    Greatness

    I almost thought I was reading a different author. This book is fantastic. It actually has a few twists which in his past books were pretty rare. They were so straight ahead and too easy to figure out. This one however makes you think just a bit and its a hell of a story. I hope Sandford stays this way. He was very creative and his characters were fantastic. I loved when you read a book and you dont want to put it down and this was definitely one of them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    The beginning of the end

    I found this to be a tremendous work. The running tally of the greatest songs is great. The plot is just far fetched enough to be interesting without being completely insane. However, I fear the history of the best recurring in recent memory is about to come to an end. Given the financial situation of Lucas (which has been a great asset throughout)I do not see how he can continue to put his life on the line with a wife and small child. It is illogical and the Davenport is nothing if not logical. For all that I feel this book indicates it is a great read. The plot is dark and disturbing with moments of great levity. If you have never read a Prey book do not start with this one but it is well worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2006

    My First Prey & Not My Last

    John Sandford has done a phenomenal job at keeping me on the edge of my seat! I never knew I could be so interested in horrific mystery novel until I picked up this book. Being farmiliar with the Twin Cities area was also a plus when reading this novel. I felt as if I had been traveling with Davenport the untire time. I will definitely read another book of his!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2006

    Never repetative

    Having read all of the Prey novels, as well as the 3 Kidd novels, Broken Prey is no doubt a great read. Being from the Twin Cities, I can really realated to the locations and descriptions in the books. I will pick one of these up and crank thru it, and be done reading before I know it. Always a great read, never a dull moment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    Forgotten from the top 100

    Lucas forgot Roll On Down The Highway from Bachman Turner Overdrive. However, I am unable to pick one to replace. So, the list will just have to be 101 titles long. Would that help Lonnie turn the corner? I doubt it, but that's okay. Thanks for another great one John!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2006

    My first Prey book I have read but Definitely not the last.

    The book was definitely not to be put down, and the obscene crime situations certainly kept you 'engrossed.' However, my favorite part was the extremely timid patient at the end of the book who ended up with the list of the 100 Best Rock and Roll Songs... 'where are the Beatles' he anxiously shares with the group almost beyond belief? I guess he was a snapper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    Yippee, the old Lucas is back!

    Wow, John Sandford must have listened. He dumped Weather and the kiddies in London and Lucas was kinda back to his old self. Kinda missed the gratuitous sex and violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2005

    He's done it again!

    This book was fantastic and most enjoyable. The great part is that it isn't a must that you've read any of the other Lucas Davenport novels to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2005

    get rid of Weather

    another great Lucus novel, however I think they would be much better if he got rid of Weather. She is such a controller which undermines his intellegence and charisma. I have visions of the son growing up to be one of the 'bad guys' in someones novel and profilers saying he turned out bad because he had such a controlling mother. If Lucas gets a different woman, give her a real name.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5