BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Broken Promise (G Street Chronicles Presents)

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Wheres part2

    I enjoyed this book! Poor promise life dealt her a messed up hand.. i hope in part 2 she gets everything shes trying to achieve

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    GOOD BOOK!!!!!

    I really enjoyed reading this book. I'm getting ready to start book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    I enjoyed this book!

    This was a very good book. Can't wait to read part 2 Black Ice!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have had this book sitting on my nook for some time now, so I


    I have had this book sitting on my nook for some time now, so I am happy that this book was chosen as a book discussion book, because I enjoyed it.

    Promise Brown grew up living the life any young girl growing up in the projects would want to live. Both her parents Sweat Pea and Biggs made sure she was well taken care of giving her everything she needed and wanted. Her parents were the head of a large drug empire in their neighborhood, and while they could have chosen to live anywhere they stayed grounded and continued to live in the projects. Of course staying in the same hood where they did their dirt caused them people to be jealous of the family and envious towards them. Everything seems to be going great in their life that is until someone among them turns into a snitch sending Promise into the foster care system, Sweat Pea in jail, and costs Biggs his life. Having to grow up faster than she needed to, and having to deal with the dreaded foster care system, Promise is determined to get her life back. Promise runs back to the only thing she has ever really known and is comfortable with and that’s her old hood. Being in her own hood she runs into a familiar face that offers to help Promise out until she gets on her own feet. Looking for a quick get up, and knowing she has plenty hustle in her blood she seeks out a childhood friend who finds a gig for her. Never did Promise think that getting fast money would lead to her being the head stripper in an upscale gentlemen’s club. Will Promise be able to get in and make her money or will her money make her?

    The story of Promise is sadly a story that many young ladies probably go through with being in the system, having no parents and trying to make it on their own. Promise is a young girl who was robbed of a family life due to the actions of her parents as well as someone being jealous. Promise goes through a lot and is taught many valuable lessons about trust and trusting people. Those who may be close to you may be the first one to turn on you and Promise has to learn that the hard way. The book was very fast paced and I was able to enjoy it, it was like you could understand everything she was going through. The story did have some editing issues that I wish would have been fixed so that I could give the book a 5. Overall, I enjoyed it and I am about to jump all into part two Black Ice to see what is going to happen next. Great Job to this author she is one you should not sleep on, I see big things for her.


    **Nook Readers**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Promise

    Promise revealed a girl with some unfortunate circumstances and what came about as a result of that a few hidden occurences. Not a bad story, closer to the end it seemed a bit rushed with grammatical errors and even an exact duplicate sentence. Headed to the sequel in a bit. Overall a good look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Great

    Great read I couldn't put it down hope "Black Ice" will be just as good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Waiting for part 2

    Waiting for part 2 this was a great read loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Great Book!!

    This was a great read!!! Promise story is like most typical pretty females in the hood who want fast money but she uses her money wisely...Just when the book was getting good it ended!!! Its only about 111 pages but says 162..Cant wait for the next book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Faithful reader

    The book was good, when does second part come out? Cant wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1