Customer Reviews for

Broken Skin (Logan McRae, Book 3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Another Winner!

    Another winner for Stuart McBride and his Logan McRae series of books! I am now begining book #4, and I can't wait!! While maintaining character and story lines of the series, each book is great on it's own. I especially enjoy the feeling that I am in Scotland, peeking over DS McRae and PC Watson's shoulder while they work! The character of DI Steele is a personal favorite, intense, believable and fun to read about, as all McBrides people are!
    Fast paced, can't put it down good, read this book, read the series, you won't be disappointed!
    Thanks to B&N for the free nook book, Cold Granite, that started me reading these excellent books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Formatting fixed

    I wrote earlier complaining about missing and/or duplicate pages, but called B&N and they had me archive the book, then unarchive it, and that fixed everything. Love this series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    A must read after books 1 and 2

    I was looking forward to reading this book as I had read books 1 and 2 and enjoyed them very much. I was not disappointed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Love

    I am so in love with Logan McRae. This is a really exciting police procedural series. It hasn' t let me down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    An Eye Opener

    Easily maintains your interest and difficult to put down. However do not read if you are not prepared to learn about disparate sexual behaviors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Good

    Its good ,but it's the same O same O for him .Waiting for him to tell his Bosses off n his girl friend. He is good @ his jobs , Need him to be Manly.He is letting every ones to get credit for what he done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Good book, especially for the price

    I loaded this book onto my Nook for $.99 and was surprised at how good it was. My only negative comment is that there seemed to be a lot of characters and when some were referenced in a chapter then referenced again later, it was a bit tough trying to remember how they first came into the story. Other than that, well worth reading with a good ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Still great!!

    Ditto

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    This is the first novel I've read by MacBride and I loved it! It

    This is the first novel I've read by MacBride and I loved it! It continued to twist and turn with several interesting subplots and very vivid descriptions of the characters. I enjoyed the jargon of the setting, and although I wasn't sure I knew all of the exact meanings, they were pretty self-explanatory in context. I WILL read more by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Excellent read

    My second book by this author and I will read more of them in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Another good novel by MacBride

    I just finished reading book, the third in the series. I enjoy the characters and the story told. I recommend it and I will continue following Logan around Aberdeen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    I would recommend this for people that like mystery and romance.

    Ah old man died and left avery different will. Two of his favorite relatives were required to live in his house for 6 months, there were several incidents to scare them. A good story!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    I've only read the first book and it was a good read.  I am not

    I've only read the first book and it was a good read.  I am not sure, but I don't think  "Broken Skin" is the third book in this series. The third book is "Blood Shot" and this one is book number eight.  Book nine is already out and book ten will be out in the spring.  

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    A Dark and Violent City

    MacBride has created a fictional version of Aberdeen Scotland where one long dark night is followed by another, and murder follows murder so that a homicide detective never clears a case before getting two or three more.

    No other author provides so many details about murder as MacBride. At least 10% of the book is devoted to every detail if a torture, a violent death, and descriptions of the suffering of the victims. The MacBride Aberdeen books are the most violent detective novels you will ever read.

    To enjoy a MacBride novel, it is a good strategy to skim the ultra-violent passages...which can mean skipping two or three pages in every chapter.

    MacBride's gift is making his imaginary Aberdeen seem as real as the block you live on. His weakness is his belief that readers can handle his closeup look at violence and all thst violence does to its victims and a community. Hitchcock showed the blood pooling on the floor of the shower, not the attack on a helpless woman. MacBride should study THAT indirect approach that Hitchcock mastered.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Great book

    I love the Logan Mcrae books. I always find myself torn between reading voraciously to find out what happens next and wanting to slow down so I won't finish it so quickly. Bits of graphic violence but not gratuitous violence, it is necessary to the story. About 400 pages long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2