Customer Reviews for

The Broken Window (Lincoln Rhyme Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Another spine chilling book by Jeffery Deaver. A book once you start you will not want to put down until the very last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Good read!

    Was hard to put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Loved It

    I'm a big Jeffery Deaver fan, so understand that going in. But I loved this book and the currency of the topic: How much of our lives, our purchase history, our accounts, our preferences, our daily comings-and-goings are out there in cyberspace. And who can do things with it to negatively (and in a deadly manner?) control our lives and break us. As usual, Lincoln and the cast of characters do what they do best. But it leaves you wondering. Deaver even gives you a bit of his perspective (and respect) around the topic of privacy, at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fast Paced Excitement - Great Read!

    This is the first Jeffrey Deaver book I've read and I can't wait to pick up another one of his books. The story was fantastic, characters well developed, twists and turns thrown in, and an ending that brought closure to all the loose ends.

    If you're looking for a book that keeps you turning pages this one certainly fills that role and then some.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Turn off the TV reality shows...

    This is a great read!! As usual Mr. D was completed a ton of research before writing this story. Don't forget to read the "credits" in the back and look for the "TITLE"....some where in the pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting to the end.

    I hadn't read any of Mr. Deaver's other books and picked this one up on a lark. It was so good. I've gone back to read some of his earlier books now. Great author. This book had great characters, a twisted plot, and alot of excitement. It had a great flow throughout the book. A new author to add to my favorites. My husband read the book too and now he's a fan also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly tecommended

    Great book. Kept me reading all night. Good suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Love books

    Im still reading this book but it keeps you on th edge of your seat at all times. Read this book and you will see what i am talking about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Amazing!

    This book made you realize how careful we really need to be about the personal information that we give out. This book was amazing and it kept you guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Emma

    So what do u wanna talk about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    My review of the window!

    As for The Broken Window, the story line first attracted me, yet my interest didn't stay around long. The Broken Window's computer data mining story line was good, yet the building of characters and high level of suspense was lacking in this book in comparison to other Lincoln Rhyme novels.
    The story line can be looked at as futuristic, since we citizens give up a lot of privacy when using our plastic cards. We want to ask outselves how much privacy do we want to give up. Most people woudln't care, yet I do. But I must say, it is tempting to use a card versus keeping cash in my purse at all times. I would rather lose some privacy in the interest of safety as a thief gets less if takes my purse. Hummm...he may get shopping details and social habits through review of my cards, but I am sure cash is what the common thief really desires when snatching a purse!
    I do enjoy reading Jeffery Deaver books and will continue to read them. On a scale of 1-10 with 1 being the poorest, I would rate The Broken Window a 5. Although I give the book an overall medium rating, I remain a fan of Jeffery Deaver as overall he is author of a high calibur!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Deaver delivers a clever hit in THE BROKEN WINDOW

    Have you ever considered thought of what it would be like if you ran into a stranger who knew everything about you? Imagine that person knowing your whole lifestyle, everything from your passionate hobbies to what you typically buy at the grocery store. They would go about various tactics into getting your information; they would do so from collecting personal possessions from newspapers to the smallest items you would drop on the street. This deadly compulsion of theirs makes you ask the biggest question of all: how do you stop the one person who knows everything?

    That is the one question that the forensic tag team of Lincoln Rhyme and Amelia Sachs have to ponder as they investigate yet another case in THE BROKEN WINDOW. In the eighth and latest installment of Jeffery Deaver's bestselling crime series, Lincoln, the heroic quadriplegic, has to solve a case like none other, one that involves his own family. The book begins with him receiving a call from Judy, the wife of his long lost cousin, Arthur Rhyme. She pleads Lincoln into investigate a murder where every piece of evidence perfectly points directly to Arthur. While he and his partner/lover, Amelia, begin to investigate, they later come to realize that a master manipulator in identity theft has done this "perfect" evidence. By digging deeper into the case do the duo later realize that this same thief might also be responsible for other killings, in addition to framing innocent people for these acts. Through the next three days, Lincoln and Amelia come to realize that they might've faced their match.

    THE BROKEN WINDOW can be considered as a toss-up read. Despite the fact of it may not being the greatest entry in the series, there are a variety of strong elements that Deaver contributes into the story. For starters, the author has yet again created a likeable villain that is fresh and innovative, in comparison to the fifth entry THE VANISHED MAN. Many readers will find the description of the killer's obsession into collecting to be rather bone chilling. He has also made deftly his readers sympathize with the villain regarding the losses and setbacks that the villain endured in his past. Of all of the many pros, the biggest one in this book involves the way the author ties the elements of the story to what we have read in today's headlines, those involving the world of identity theft.

    Despite of all of the numerous strengths, the book nonetheless has some critical flaws, ones that Deaver has made in some of his recent works. For starters, as he did so in the last two Rhyme novels with THE TWELFTH CARD and THE COLD MOON, readers will question the credibility of the events leading up to the mystery of the story. Such a mistake by the author will have readers struggling to finish the story. Another mistake that readers will find bothersome involves Amelia's acts into catching the killer. As he has previously done in some of the other recent Rhyme entries, he has made a few of the action scenes by Amelia appear to be cartoonish.

    This entry in the Lincoln Rhyme series can be considered a fun and enjoyable read. It will be well liked by those who enjoy action-adventure stories along with those that involve today's technological world. Nevertheless, the elements of the story might also cause some controversy by some of the readers who may not like the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lincoln Rhyme at his best

    This is another excellent mystery with forensic details. I enjoyed reading once again about Lincoln Rhyme's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    Fast Moving

    An excellent Orwell reminder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Gripping

    A physically challenged detective is a nice change from all the alcohol besotted, morally corrupt lot that fill the shelves. The writing is taut. There is no simpering sympathy for the handicapped detective who is all but immobile yet manages to resurface from the most challenging situations like "24 hours" characters. He even has a girlfriend. Its a well constructed, keep you guessing, non-formulaic work. I do recommend it. In case you're wondering: it's my first Lincoln Rhyme series read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed for Midwest Book Review

    Criminologist, quadriplegic Lincoln Rhymes has been estranged from his cousin Arthur for years. When Arthur is arrested for the murder of a young woman, Arthur's wife implores Lincoln to help. The forensic evidence against Arthur strongly links him to the murder, but Lincoln's paramour Amelia Sachs is suspicious that everything is so clear-cut and suspects Arthur has been set up. She and Lincoln, with the aid of NYPD, learn Arthur isn't the first person who has been framed for a murder he didn't commit. Their investigation takes them into the world of data mining and identity theft and pits the duo against a psychopathic serial killer who manages to stay one step ahead.

    This thriller hits on a subject some may find a bit disturbing, the ability of computers to follow us on our daily journeys and pinpoint our location at any point in time. Deaver offers the reader a look into Lincoln's past family life, as well as his present relationship with Amelia. Forensics are exceptional and the plot filled with suspense and terror. Another great addition to this excellent series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Could'nt put it down

    Jeffrey Deaver is a wonderful author who knows how to hook the reader! This book took off right from the start and I was guessing until the end. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Big Brother Watching Through The Broken Window -- Great Read!

    Once again, Criminalist Lincoln Rhyme and Detective Amelia Sachs work together to solve one of their most difficult cases to date - a serial killer known only as "522" who preys on victims through their own electronic footprints of day to day life by expertly framing them for his horrific murders. Everything we do and buy is recorded and scrutinized for insidious criminals to prey upon. "The Broken Window" is truly a scary look into what could happen in the electronic world as the story builds great suspense and intrigue with every page. For those of you who haven't read any Lincoln Rhyme novels, he's a well-known crime scene detective that suffered a serious injury that left him a quadriplegic. This story also lets the reader in on a more personal side of Rhyme by introducing his cousin and his family life growing up.

    Rhyme and Sachs are joined by solid, interesting characters along with a lengthily list of possible suspects. The story gets even more interesting the closer Rhyme gets to the "real" killer and then the tables turn on him and his crew. It's more of a cat and mouse "whodunit" thrill that will definitely keep you guessing until the end. If you think you know who the killer is - think again.

    The story starts out great, but then gets a bit slow with all the related background information until about halfway into the book. Keep reading -- you won't be disappointed. I have been a big fan of Lincoln Rhyme Novels since "The Bone Collector" and this story is now one of my favorites. I highly recommend this book for anyone that enjoys high thrills and "whodunit" mysteries.

    -Jennifer Chase, author of thriller "Compulsion"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Deaver's done it again.

    One of Jeffrey Deaver's best Lincoln Rhyme novels yet. The consequences of identity theft are shown to be devastating and so very real. I'm glad to see the storyline had more of Tom's history and life with Lincoln. That poor guy has quit and been fired so many times by Rhyme that it's become part of their friendship. I'd like to see a little more tenderness between Amelia and Lincoln now that they have been together for so long. All in all, a great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    First Jeffery Deaver book I've read

    GREAT READ...since JD was actually a victim of indentity theft, it makes the story more plausible. Both my sister and I have wondered if this could be happening now...scared her to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5