Customer Reviews for

Broken Wings

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    Brielle Matthews has learned seeing the handiwork of God's creat

    Brielle Matthews has learned seeing the handiwork of God's creation can be a bit overwhelming.

    BROKEN WINGS, the second in the Angel Eyes trilogy by Shannon Dittemore, returns Brielle to the role of heroine. (See my review of ANGEL EYES here)

    Picking up six months after ANGEL EYES, Brielle, Kaylee and Jake have just graduated high school. Stratus is celebrating the opening of a new community center, spearheaded by Kaylee and funded by Olivia Hart's foundation.

    Brielle knows something isn't right about Olivia--Canaan's halo burns hot whenever she comes near, but Brielle's even more unsettled by her father's behavior. Seems Olivia brings out the alcoholic in her dad.

    Coupled with her Celestial vision--Brielle observes Angels and Demons within the human realm--she is being haunted by dreams of her mother's demise. Learning that her mother's coffin was buried empty is a shock of the first order. Could she still be alive?

    And why are Angels circling her home?

    Meanwhile, Brielle is affected by the tar-like fear rolling off everyone she meets. It is only in worship and prayer that she sees the fear disintegrate. So why is Jake--the most devout person Brielle knows--sweating fear?

    Jake's love for Brielle shines through his steadfast gaze, yet she is stunned by his fear. They are meant for each other--God himself gave Jake an engagement ring for her--so, what is he hiding?

    In the Celestial realm, Damien has met with Lucifer and revealed his knowledge of Jake and Brielle's gifts. He is able to garner Lucifer's interest and secure instructions to collect them in two week's time. Damien uses Olivia to not only capture Jake and Brielle, but also Canaan's halo.

    See, Lucifer is planning a battle, and Stratus has become Ground Zero.

    Despite the bond between Jake and Brielle, doubt remains. Jake's risky mission to discover his parentage separates them at the absolute WORST time. And, when he doesn't return, Brielle's fledgling faith is put to the test.

    Again, Shannon Dittemore has spun a beautifully crafted story of love, faith, doubt and keeping our demons at bay. For those who enjoy paranormal fiction, BROKEN WINGS is a fantastic tale. Contemporary themes and realistic emotional content keep this story grounded firmly in the Terrestrial, with eyes to the skies and hope for a safe resolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Shannon Dittemore in her new book "Broken Wings" Book

    Shannon Dittemore in her new book "Broken Wings" Book Two in the Angel Eyes Trilogy published by Thomas Nelson takes us into the life of Brielle and her fight against spiritual forces.

    From the back cover: Giant angels with metal wings and visible song. A blind demon restored from the pit of darkness. And a girl who has never felt more broken.

    Brielle sees the world as it really is: a place where the Celestial exists side by side with human reality. But in the aftermath of a supernatural showdown, her life begins to crumble.

    Her boyfriend, Jake, is keeping something from her--something important. Her overprotective father has started drinking again. And he's dating a much younger woman who makes Brielle's skin crawl. Haunting nightmares invade Brielle's sleep, and flashes of Celestial vision keep her off kilter.

    What she doesn't know is that she's been targeted. The Prince of Darkness himself has heard of the boy with healing in his hands and of the girl who sees through the Terrestrial Veil.

    Brielle has no choice. She knows evil forces are converging and will soon rain their terror down on the town of Stratus. She must master the weapons she's been given. She must fight.

    But can she fly with broken wings?

    "Broken Wings" picks up where "Angel Eyes", book one in this series, left off. Brielle and Jake are now the targets of demons to stop them from using the gifts God gave them. The battle between angels and demons intensifies with humanity in the middle of it all. In the book of Judges Samson said his strength came from his long hair. Brielle and Jake say their power lies in their gifts. All are incorrect-Samson's strength and Brielle's power all come from the same source: God. Once you line up with that thinking then you can use your gifts for the purpose God intended and others will get to see Him also. "Broken Wings" is a wonderful, interesting story with power and depth that will keep you flipping pages. I am most definitely looking forward to the next book in the series.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sabres. "I look more carefully at the angels before us. Th

    Sabres.

    "I look more carefully at the angels before us. They're larger than any I've seen before, and brighter. I count them on approach - a dozen - and then I watch them, trying to understand their movements. Light curls around them, tendrils of incense rising into the sky.

    "What are they doing?" Jake asks.

    "They're worshiping," I say awestruck.

    Is there a rhyme or reason to where they've positioned themselves? Some of them kneel, some of them stand staggered across the rock, but the one thing they all seem to have in common is their wings. They're metallic. Not just in color, but in their very construction, it seems. I have an inexplicable need to reach out and touch them, to run my fingers over a single feather.

    "They're huge," Jake says. "How tall are they, Canaan?"

    "Eight, nine feet." There's no mistaking the amusement in his voice.

    We're close now, so close that I can see that touching a Sabre's wing may be the fastest way to lose an arm. I set to examining the nearest one. He's gigantic, like Jake said. And his eyes are pure white, trademark white. Like Canaan's. Like Helene's. He has the celestial gaze of one who'd lay down his life for another. His skin, too, is white, so white it looks almost silver. His muscled arms and chest make Canaan look trim. But as much as I can find things to admire about his physique, it's his wings that so separate him from any other angel I've seen.

    Their beauty is staggering, their design inexplicable. Where I expect to see rows and rows of snowy white feathers, one blade lies on top of another - thousands of them - sharp and glistening silver. I can't help but compare each and every one of them to the dagger that pierced my chest this past December. To the instrument of death that bled me dry on a rooftop.

    Yet these blades are pristine, polished, organic even. The Sabre adjusts them and they ripple, a trilling tune making its way to my ears. His kinsmen do the same, and the skies fill with music. Loud, warlike, with a tremor of delicate strings woven through it. It's unlike anything I've ever heard. My throat tightens with emotion, and I gasp again and again."

    In the second book in the Angel Eyes Trilogy, author Shannon Dittemore pulls back the celestial veil once more to reveal the spiritual realm in her novel Broken Wings. Brielle has been given a unique gift and it's just that gift that has her the target of the darkness in spiritual realm. Now the Palatine, a demonic army is on the move and is now looking to find Brielle and Jake, two humans who have been gifted with divine powers. They now have to do whatever they can to stay one step ahead of the enemy and one they can't risk telling anyone about. After all, how many people do you know that have the ability to see angels and demons when they remain invisible to everyone else?

    The author picks up just where we left off in the debut novel Angel Eyes, and Brielle is just coming to terms with the fact she is now the wanted by the demonic army. She has been given a unique gift of being one of God's redeemed and thus her supernatural gift that before she was only able to use when holding an angelic halo. Now her vision is being honed in a remarkable way and she soon learns that prayers and scripture memorization have more power than she ever imagined. Will she be able to save those she loves while she learns something about her past that my break more than her spirit?

    I received Broken Wings by Shannon Dittemore compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Tours for my honest review. I have not received any monetary compensation for a favorable review. I simply live for books like these since reading my first "Darkness" book from Frank Peretti! Shannon takes that a step further endowing her characters with a sense of frailty even though that have spiritual gifts that most of us would die to have. They fail to realize that the real power doesn't come from their gifts but from the God who created them and until they apply those same spiritual principles that are available to all of us, they remain weak despite their talents. I rate this one another 5 out of 5 stars and can't wait to pick up Dark Halo that comes on in late 2013. I would highly recommend that you read, Angel Eyes before picking this one up or you will be completely lost at the concepts discussed that make this book so incredible to inhale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    I first read this book about two months ago, so why has it taken

    I first read this book about two months ago, so why has it taken me this long to write about it?  That’s a blog in itself.  What I can say is God has perfect timing.  I wanted to reread the first book (Angel Eyes) before I started to write this review. And if you haven’t read it yet you are clearly sleep. So I read Angel Eyes again and then I reread Broken Wings. And I must say I was so blown away. 




    Besides the bible there are few books (one, two) that make me relish in God’s love and His glory.  After reading these books I just wanted to praise and worship my Heavenly Father.  There was even a point where I cried in the shower after just a moment of reflection. I’ve been going through a lot these last few months but I finally felt a release from those burdens, it was awesome. See I told you it was a blog in itself :-)




    So, Broken Wings continues to tell the story of Brielle, aka elle, the girl with the gift of sight and Her boyfriend jake, the boy with the healing hands.  




    SPOILER ALERT!! If you have not read the first book stop reading this review and go read the books… Then come back . Please ;-) 
    At the end of AE the demon Damien was sent to the pit after being defeated by the angel Cannan, in BE not only is he freed from the pit but the prince of darkness himself has restored his sight. He sends Damien on a mission to capture and Brielle so he can corrupt their spiritual gifts.  Just another reminder that the devil comes to steal,kill and destroy.  Brielle and Jake are adjusting to being boyfriend/girlfriend learning how to live with gifts they were given. And on top of that  Jake is keeping a secret that could change both of their futures.  




    There is so much in this book, I felt my everday life was getting in the way of my reading. So I will “explain” in hashtags.




    #angels #demons #war #emptygraves #hell #fires #missingring #disappeared 




    As usual you get no spoilers from me, but I can say I loved the book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This trilogy has definitely made it to my favorites! This is clo

    This trilogy has definitely made it to my favorites! This is closer to how I imagine angels and demons to be then most of the angel related books I have read, and for me that makes it more believable and enjoyable. The ARC of Broken Wings by Shannon Dittemore was provided to me by the publisher for review. The opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Wow

    I thought the first book was awesome but it just keeps getting better! I so cant wait till the last book comes out in aug. Romance ,heartache , the good the bad and the ugly!" This trilogy should truely be a movie. It makes you really ponder....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Broken Wings is the sequel to Angel Eyes. Shannon Dittemore is a

    Broken Wings is the sequel to Angel Eyes. Shannon Dittemore is a talented, beautiful writer, and she's given me as a reader an amazing story of faith, brokenness, and love with Brielle and Jake as they choose a life surrendered to God. Dittemore didn't hold back from breaking my heart for Brielle and Jake for what they have to face and loose in Broken Wings.

    Brielle discovers that her father hasn’t been telling her the truth surrounding her mother’s death, and the mystery of what happened that day. The Prince of Darkness also wants Brielle and Jake, and has sent Damien after them because of their heavenly gifts that God gave them. Brielle has fallen in love with Jake, but her trust in him will be damage. She starts to doubt God’s promise that Jake will be the one to stand by her side. With everything she’s facing, including her father’s drinking, it becomes Brielle’s time of brokenness. Brielle's learning what it really means to trust God by faith and not by sight.

    There are two more characters that I came to enjoy in this series: Kaylee and Marco. I hope in Dark Halo these two will get together. I love Kaylee's cockiness and Marco's broodiness. I feel these two are prefect for each other, especially after Marco lost Ali. I would love to see him happy again.

    I fell in love with Brielle and Jake's amazing story of their fight for good against evil, their love for God, and their commitment of love for each other. I highly recommend Broken Wings as a must read for all who loves when good conquers evil.


    My Favorite Swoon Quotes:

    He's gorgeous-- that soft hair, those eyes both dark and light, a tall muscled build--but sometimes I want to punch him.

    "I'm not worried about it," Jake says, squeezing my side. "So what do you think? We tell him?" His hand's on my hip now, and really, what I'm thinking about has nothing to do with Marco. But another glance in Jake's eyes and I can tell he has no idea what his touch is doing to me.

    My heart bangs in my chest at his closeness, at the heat between us, at the promise of a future together. I think it's trying to break through-my heart-trying to be closer to the man in front of me. Close just doesn't seem close enough anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Review by Jill Williamson Brielle and Jake are growing close

    Review by Jill Williamson




    Brielle and Jake are growing closer, but her father doesn’t like it—doesn’t seem to like Jake at all. Brielle is certain it’s because of Jake’s faith, but there seems to be something more that her father isn’t saying. And then her dad starts dating Olivia. Brielle doesn't approve. It’s just a feelings she has. But feelings aren't enough to convince her dad of anything, so all she can do is stand by and watch… and pick up the pieces if things go bad.




    Meanwhile, Jake still doesn't know why the ring has vanished from the wooden chest. He hasn't told Brielle that it’s missing, either, and she can tell that he’s keeping something from her. And unbeknownst to Brielle or Jake, Damien in hunting them both, hoping to take the boy who heals and the girl who sees to his master. The Sabres are coming. And Brielle learns more about the reoccurring nightmare she’s been having, and it’s leading Jake and her closer to something big.




    I couldn't put it down! This is a fantastical story of Biblical proportions and yet Dittemore make it feel so real. Brielle learns that faith isn't a quick fix. That tough times still come. And the ending… Gah! You’ll be desperate for book three once you close this one.




    This is one of my favorite new series. Dittemore has accomplished a rare feat with Broken Wings: she’s written a sequel that’s as good as/better than book one. Beautiful, romantic, and fascinating. I couldn't stop reading this enthralling page-turner. I’ll be the first one in line for book three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1