Customer Reviews for

Broken at Love (a Whitman University novel)

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

wow

Love the stories with the broken man finding that one special girl to change evrrything. A good story but i like a little more drama in my reads. A quick read but recommended.

posted by kitkat08 on April 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

!

Between the plot spoilers bragging about getting their book for free for their *honest* review, and the nasty pornographic posts, and kids playing on here, its hard to get a true review. Bn, when are you going to put a stop to these plot spoilers, porno posts and kids u...
Between the plot spoilers bragging about getting their book for free for their *honest* review, and the nasty pornographic posts, and kids playing on here, its hard to get a true review. Bn, when are you going to put a stop to these plot spoilers, porno posts and kids using the nooks as chat rooms. Its irritating.

posted by 8888649 on April 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    wow

    Love the stories with the broken man finding that one special girl to change evrrything. A good story but i like a little more drama in my reads. A quick read but recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Quinn Rowland is a man scorned. His tennis career is over (a res

    Quinn Rowland is a man scorned. His tennis career is over (a result of an injury), his girlfriend doesn’t think he’s good enough any more, and his family situation has left him with a ton of self loathing.  Down on his luck and feeling sorry for himself, Quinn channels his anger at the females of Whitman University via a bet with his twisted half-brother Sebastian. Through a rouse meeting at each tennis open party, Quinn must bed the selected girl, win her heart, and then dump her. And the score is on his side till Emilie Swanson comes along.

    Emilie isn’t buying Quinn’s lines, but she’s also not convinced that there isn’t more substance to Quinn than parties, booze, and women. And when she pushes back, she might just manage to turn the game around on him.

    Is Emilie in over her head? Will she let Quinn take her heart and end up broken like him?  Will either of them get the careers they want even when their fathers don’t support them? Or will Quinn succumb to Sebastian’s blackmail? Can Emilie save Quinn from his downward spiral?

    Emilie is a strong, level-headed female character. She has guts and doesn't let a bunch of testosterone driven frat boys intimidate her.  For the most part she trusts her gut instincts, and yet at the same time leads with her heart. She’s someone you’d want in your corner as a trusted friend.

    Quinn is more complex. He has a ton of issues, treats women like dogs, and yet still manages to ooze sex appeal and be the guy you root for to get his act together. And he needs a girl like Emilie to help him uncover his inner prince.

    There’s plenty of chemistry, and they have some cute banter:
     “Following your moods is like watching a tennis match. Go away. Sleep with me. Go away. My head’s going to fall off.”

    You'll definitely be left wondering 'will they or won’t they,' but the ending is sweet and shows the growth of both characters. Told via Emilie and Quinn’s alternating point of views, there’s the right amount of drama and a slightly sweep you off your feet style HEA. This is book #1 of the Whitman University series but can also be read as a stand-alone. The next book, By Referral Only, features Emilie's roommate, Ruby, who tackles grading the university boy's performances (and we're not talking on the tennis court or on stage).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    4.5 Stars - Broken At Love is a creative, fun and heartwarming s

    4.5 Stars - Broken At Love is a creative, fun and heartwarming story. First of all, who doesn’t love a book where the player gets played?! I loved the storyline of this book. The fact that Quinn was a retired tennis pro who was forced to return to a life he never wanted to begin with creates the perfect backdrop for a journey of angst, pain and self-discovery. Especially with an evil half-brother who is determined to ruin everything and everyone. The house parties that Quinn throws around the major tennis tournaments and the colorful cast of characters that run in his elite and entitled circle provide all the drama, awkward situations and intense moments you could want in a book. 
    Emilie and Quinn are unique and interesting characters. I appreciated the lack of drama in Emilie’s past and I empathized with her very real challenge of living up to her parents’ expectations. She is strong and determined to stick to what she loves, even if she can’t afford to lose her parent’s financial support. She is sassy and a bit fierce. I loved seeing her with her friends and I was ecstatic to see her hold her own with Quinn. That guy needed to be knocked down a peg or two.
    Lyla Payne did a fabulous job creating unique and well defined characters and she made their journeys of self-discovery and personal growth exciting and emotional. There were moments of legitimate hatred, intense frustration, exhausting sadness, and overwhelming joy. I enjoyed Quinn and Emilie’s story as they struggled to figure out who they were and what they wanted. With so many intriguing characters being introduced throughout this book, I can’t wait to read the next book in the Whitman University series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    BRIGHTEN UNIVERSITY

    Welcome all of you to Brighton University! I am Dean Cicealia. Here anyone is welcome! Rules at re two, bios at re three and mess hall re four! Boys dorms go from re5 to re8 girls are at re 9 to re12 mines thirteen. Other res are for clubs,partys, anything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Smokestorm

    "As i said we will be watching" she mepwed and she and her friend dissipered into a patch of fog

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly Recommend!!

    I absolutely LOVED this book! I came across it by chance and read the synopsis and bought it. I am so happy that I did, because I could not put this book down once I open it! If you are on the fence about buy it, let me save you the energy.....BUY it!! :) Once you have finished this book, read the next book in the series because it is just as good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    it stared off slow and at times its easy to get frustrated with

    it stared off slow and at times its easy to get frustrated with Quinn's behavior towards Emilie & his need at times 
    for a pity party which is surprising for a guy whom at the same times is the alpha male main character,. but as it starts
    to get a little bit more into the book you realize that the earlier character flaws in Quinn where to show you how a person
    can go from one extreme to other and do a complete 180 degree change .,and in this case it took the all loving and
    patient and beautiful girl Emilie to show Quinn that life can having meaning and not part of a cruel joke..
    this story was  a really great love story over all and very enjoyable ...I look forward to the rest in the series. I highly recommend this :) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Anonymous

    I really liked quinn. I know most people thought he was a jerk, and he was, but this story spoke to me. It was a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!

    LOVED IT!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Loved it

    Great story line, very entertaining. I didn't want to put it down. Would love to read a continuation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Great!

    So it has taken a few months before I finally broke down and bought this books. I have to agree Q was an ass at the start but the story showed how much he grew. I do not agree with the things he did but for me it wasnt the end of the world and it went well with the stiry line! I say read it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Really Good

    This book was a really goid read. I would recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Rg

    Wow really enjoyed this one, good story and characters. Really strong heroine and enjoyable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Great book

    Loved the story. You hated Quinn at points and then loved him by the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Amazing

    Loved it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Great

    A great quick read that you will enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Great Read!

    Loved this. Hope Lyla Payne writes more of these!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Sooo good.

    Please take a chance and read this one. You wont be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Loved this bookkk

    Starting the to love this author....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Kate

    Hi katte

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3