BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Broker

Average Rating 3.5
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Over and Over

I read this book and loved it! I felt that Grisham really grabbed my attention right from the beginning on this one. From the late night pardon all the way to the trip back to Italy to find the lady who saved Joel's life, it was unescapable!! I bought the audio to liste...
I read this book and loved it! I felt that Grisham really grabbed my attention right from the beginning on this one. From the late night pardon all the way to the trip back to Italy to find the lady who saved Joel's life, it was unescapable!! I bought the audio to listen to while at work and I listen to it over and over. This book is worth the read!

posted by 1257456 on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another 'who should I root for?' mess

While I still call myself a Grisham fan - especially with the goofy cartoon characters that appear in his prose - this book didn't work for me for two reasons: 1- Too much time and energy is spent on the Italy experience. It came across as an Italian travel commercial....
While I still call myself a Grisham fan - especially with the goofy cartoon characters that appear in his prose - this book didn't work for me for two reasons: 1- Too much time and energy is spent on the Italy experience. It came across as an Italian travel commercial. 2- Like 'The Brethren', since there was no real protagonist to root for, by the end I didn't care a flying fig how the story came out. I didn't feel the slightest bit of empathy for Joel. Teddy was a sadistic piece of work. Luigi was too cardboard to be of any help. The one engaging relationship - the love interest - was drawn far too subtly for my liking. C'mon - the guy was in prison for six years... would you want to look at porticos for two hundred pages? Extremely disappointing. Terribly.

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Over and Over

    I read this book and loved it! I felt that Grisham really grabbed my attention right from the beginning on this one. From the late night pardon all the way to the trip back to Italy to find the lady who saved Joel's life, it was unescapable!! I bought the audio to listen to while at work and I listen to it over and over. This book is worth the read!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    Another 'who should I root for?' mess

    While I still call myself a Grisham fan - especially with the goofy cartoon characters that appear in his prose - this book didn't work for me for two reasons: 1- Too much time and energy is spent on the Italy experience. It came across as an Italian travel commercial. 2- Like 'The Brethren', since there was no real protagonist to root for, by the end I didn't care a flying fig how the story came out. I didn't feel the slightest bit of empathy for Joel. Teddy was a sadistic piece of work. Luigi was too cardboard to be of any help. The one engaging relationship - the love interest - was drawn far too subtly for my liking. C'mon - the guy was in prison for six years... would you want to look at porticos for two hundred pages? Extremely disappointing. Terribly.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    true to Grisham...totally unexpected ending

    True to John Grisham, a totally unexpected ending.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    Coulda, Shoulda been better

    This book had potential, but fizzles. Was Marco supposed to be changed into a decent human being by the end? Didn't happen. I never did care for his whiny, self-serving attitude toward everyone he met (including his son). Add to that the fact that the plot became a non-event instead of a climax. I don't need every loose end tied up, but come on! He's hunted by the best, and within one page he very easily catches a plane to DC, waltzes around hotels, & cuts a deal. Who knows where the Tin Man even is (might have gotten the name wrong, I've forgotten already!). Don't make such a big deal about the guy if he's not a player. That said, I didn't mind the tourist info and the language lessons - but he could have tied it into the story a little better (Dan Brown has a REASON for giving all those details). To the reviewer who complained that Francesca's description of the art and buildings was 'straight from a tour guide': well ... Francesca IS a tour guide. Think that might be why? Anyway, too many undeveloped secondary characters too. (Madame from the train for ex.) That said, I bet I'll still buy his next one I bet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    Didn't want it to end

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I was glued from the get-go and didn't want it to end. I wanted to know what happened after. I enjoyed reading about parts of Italy and learning a little Italian too - what fun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Anonymous on August 2, 2012

    Well written character study. Grisham is a master story teller even when he diverts from his normal legal genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Grisham carries on

    If you like John Grisham, he won't disappoint in this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Lobbist, CIA, fast moving

    This was definitely not your typical John Grisham book, more like Robert Ludlum but I enjoyed thoroughly nonetheless. The Broker, these guys really exist. Lobbyist with unimaginable power. Congress is terrified of NRA, and there a guy that represents them and their interest on capitol hill. Although I was a bit disappointed with the ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Good read

    Good reaad nice book bit slow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Great Book

    Great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    very disappointing. there was no emotional connection to anythin

    very disappointing. there was no emotional connection to anything. all wrapped up at the end, but not really. it seemed rushed. and diluted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Another boring one.

    Too much talking, like the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Great

    Like all his books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Not so good

    Im a huge John Grisham fan but this book was not typical grisham. I had to force myself to finish reading it and when i did I was dissappointed with ending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Ok

    Not as good as the usual Grisham fare. Had to force myself to finish. Won't read again. But won't give up on Grisham either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    A Bestseller book....

    In the book, The Broker by Josh Grishman, a powerful broker is born. However he is sent to jail as a safe house because he knows that if he were to stay in the open, he would be dead in an instant just like his law partner. Joel Backman, the broker, was sent to jail for trying to cut a deal with the most powerful satellite system in the world to the highest bidder. He is caught and sent to jail as he knows that is the only option where he will be safe. Many years later he is pardoned by the US and given a new identity. He is sent to Italy and there he has time to learn the culture and language so he can fit in. Word gets loose that he has been pardoned from jail and every single nation hunts for Joel Backman to get the secrets of the satellite system. Joel goes on the run of his lifetime, escaping assassinations and deadly encounters. He finds his way back to the USA, where he tries to makes his lifetime deal that allows the CIA to get off his back, and be allowed to live the peaceful life he had once longed to live for. Joel Backman finally learns that money is not everything in the world. He learns that money cannot buy everything. Joel may have noticed at first that money and wealth will get him to be the most powerful broker in the nation, but quickly learned that later, money becomes the cold-hearted traitor. The major message or the theme in this book Josh Grishman wants to get across is that sometimes money is not worth it whatever amount may be on the line. From the reader's point of view, I really liked this book. It had a little mind game throughout the story as the main character, Joel Backman, had to survive the physical threats he had encountered and also the mind threats he had encountered. It was interesting how the broker had no experience in physically defending himself but still managed to survive death. However there were many parts in this book that I did not enjoy. The first part of the book was a bit confusing as it related to a lot of politics and many political terms that the reader may not know. Also, the book was kind of slow at the beginning. It seemed like it was dragging his secret life in Italy as the author went into much details about the history of Italy and the culture of Italy. Other than that is was an excellent book that I recommend everyone to read. Everyone should read this because it is a wonderful book full of adventure and thrill. I also recommend any other book that Josh Grishman has wrote, like The Associate and The Summons. Overall, I would rate this book, five starts out of five.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Smart Read

    The main character is a 'bad guy' but Grisham tells this story from a perspective that you really end up wanting things to work out for this guy. The last portion of the book kept me on the edge of my seat and the ending didnt disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An entertaining story with a fast moving plot.

    I had an urge last week to read a story by John Grisham and The Broker was my selection. Before that I had read "The Summons"(It was a fair read). I don't read his novels in sequences which fortunately for someone like me there is no need, because each of Mr. Grisham's books will stand on their own. I thought The Broker was an easy read that was very entertaining. There was a lot of intrigue woven into a fast moving plot. I thought the class room instructions on the topography of Italy and the language was a bit too much. Actually, this part of the book got really boring. The main character, Joel Backman gave me fits. I never was really sure if he was decent sort of a fellow or just a down right crook. I could never get the feeling that I should root for him or just hope for his quick exit from the story. In summary, there were parts of the story that I didn't care for, but overall I thought it was real decent book that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Grisham's black sheep

    I've read many of Grisham's novels and I actually like this one because he goes in a diferent direction. The characters, the plot, the way he describes is actually funny. I enjoyed the book a lot, the twist and the fact that it's not another Grisham lawyer's novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Dull dull dull!

    I am used to staying up late because I can't put Grisham's books down. Sadly, The Broker was definitely the exception. This slow-moving tale of spies and an international manhunt left me wanting more. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15