Customer Reviews for

The Broker

Average Rating 3.5
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Over and Over

I read this book and loved it! I felt that Grisham really grabbed my attention right from the beginning on this one. From the late night pardon all the way to the trip back to Italy to find the lady who saved Joel's life, it was unescapable!! I bought the audio to liste...
I read this book and loved it! I felt that Grisham really grabbed my attention right from the beginning on this one. From the late night pardon all the way to the trip back to Italy to find the lady who saved Joel's life, it was unescapable!! I bought the audio to listen to while at work and I listen to it over and over. This book is worth the read!

posted by 1257456 on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another 'who should I root for?' mess

While I still call myself a Grisham fan - especially with the goofy cartoon characters that appear in his prose - this book didn't work for me for two reasons: 1- Too much time and energy is spent on the Italy experience. It came across as an Italian travel commercial....
While I still call myself a Grisham fan - especially with the goofy cartoon characters that appear in his prose - this book didn't work for me for two reasons: 1- Too much time and energy is spent on the Italy experience. It came across as an Italian travel commercial. 2- Like 'The Brethren', since there was no real protagonist to root for, by the end I didn't care a flying fig how the story came out. I didn't feel the slightest bit of empathy for Joel. Teddy was a sadistic piece of work. Luigi was too cardboard to be of any help. The one engaging relationship - the love interest - was drawn far too subtly for my liking. C'mon - the guy was in prison for six years... would you want to look at porticos for two hundred pages? Extremely disappointing. Terribly.

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 299 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    What an exiting read this was.

    When I first started reading the book I was not really to interested in the story, but when I got past the first few chapters I could not put it down. The book had great characters and a decent plot. After reading the book I was interested in reading more books by John Grisham. I do highly recommend this book for book clubs. One of the best parts in the story is the ending because of the emotions that are shown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book.... And then......

    This is a really good book. The story hooked me from the opening and before I knew it I was done in a week. The characters were interesting enough that you wanted to know what happens to them. The author does a great job of painting a picture with details without going overboard or being too drawn out. There are definitely suspenseful moments, the ones where you're trying to hurry though to the next page to find out what happens (at lest I get like that anyway).

    If there's anything critical of the book, it's the ending. It left me with a lot of "What about....?" "What happened with....?" "How did.....?" and so on.

    Overall though this is definitely worth your money, especially if you're a fan of Grisham books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    A good read

    This is the fifth Grisham book that I've read and I though it was a really good book. It was sort of slow at points but it eventually picked up. It was good to see the author step away from legal thrillers and try something different. John Grisham is a great author and you can't go wrong with reading any of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Broker is another one of Grisham's fictional works that seems very real and leaves the reader on the edge of his seat with suspence.

    Grisham's captivating writing as well as legal expertice is evident in this fictional work. The reader can gain much legal information while experiencing the usual suspence found in Grisham's novels. The reader takes a tour of Italy enjoying the sights, sounds and language, as he hides out in Italy with the main character, Joel Backman. The reader turns each page and hopes Joel will continue to be alive as the story unfolds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this abridgment cut some good parts

    Having read the book, I feel this abridgment cut some worthwhile parts. I would look for the unabridged next time. Grisham does a good job, cutting it is cutting out more good stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    Lackluster.

    The characters in this book are very flat and the main protagonist is not someone that endears you in many ways. The story seems to just run around in circles and ends in a very anti-climatic way. At the end of the story, you say "Is that it?".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A decent read that doesn't live up to Grisham standards!

    The Broker, although taking place in Washington at times, is not a legal thriller. Its more of a spy novel. Or is it an Italian tour guide and langauge lesson? That's where my somehwat dislike of this novel comes in. It seems a third of the tale is spent teaching both the main character and the reader Italian. Overkill doesn't begin to explain it. And that main character is somewhat hard to like given his past misdeeds. Overall, just another average read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    Great Read!

    This was my first John Grisham read and I loved it! I definately reccomend this book to teens and adults!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    The Broker was a pretty good book. It was a relativily fast paced book but there were some slow points. In the end it's well worth it. I got hooked on Grisham by reading The Firm. Great book. I recommend The Broker to anyone who is into business and law. I can't set the book down now. The Broker is full of scenes that give you the urge to move on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    Wow...a great page turner

    This is the first book I read by Mr. Grisham. I was on vacation and my girlfriend recommended to me. I finished half of it the first day and I am not much of a reader... The pages fly by quickly. It got really intense and I just could not put it down after one chapter! I would recommend this book to my friends and family, infact my mom borrowed it and now my girlfriend is reading it. I am going to the store tonight to pick up another John Grisham book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Great Book

    This is the first book I read by Mr. Grisham and it was recommended to me by my employer. I finished it without putting it down for a moment. Sure, there were some boring parts and not every bit of it was completely realistic. It is still a good book. The pages fly by quickly. It got really intense at some points and the author dug really deep into the main character's mind. I would recommend this book to my friends and family and I look forward to reading more books by John Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Slow and Boring

    I am so disappointed with this book. I expected it to be a thriller, but it was slow and boring. I think I will donate the book to the local library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    Boring, with lots of loose ends

    This is one of the worst books I've read, and Grisham should be ashamed. The story starts off promising, but after Backman makes it to Italy, it turns into a snoozer. Page after page after page of info that is totally irrelevant to the story's plot (might be okay if this were a tourism book). To make matters worse, Grisham leaves loose ends everywhere, and the ending is very unrealistic. I was highly disappointed, and will probably not read anything new by Grisham. He's lost his touch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    Educational and the Hero comes to life

    The story was very interesting and kept me involved. It was not the fast paced thriller because the author really took the time to get us into Joel's head and his surroundings (Italy). Not Great, but you will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    Not Too Shabby

    It was my first by mr. Grisham, and i liked it, but the action isn't untill the last few chapters of the book. nonetheless, a great read, and not a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2006

    Rapid Pace, Slow Development

    The Broker...what a great addition to John Grisham's works! It picks you up quickly and drops you off in some far off area, constantly changing scenes allowing the reader to become enthralled in the ever-changing events of Joel Backman. This rapid changing of environment, as entertaining as it is, does seem to mask some of the slow development that follows Grisham's patterns. At times it seems to get caught up so much in the cultural details or plot development that the famous question 'Where was I again?' comes up. With only this as a slight downfall, Grishman really made an impact and created a dynamic story that never fails to keep the reader from putting the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    PRETTY GOOD

    This is a book that touches the edge of danger and dives into the world of sabotage. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    Should have been entitled THE FODOR'S

    I was disappointed in the novel because this one really lacked any story line or depth. It did not take long to figure out what was going to happen. However, it sure took a while to have it actually happen. I was happy to learn about Italy and get some language instruction. Both of these aspects I rate highly. However, I read a Grisham novel to get something more, a good story that has some twists and a brisk pace. This had none of that. It was slow, predictable, and beneath a great story teller. I was hugely disappointed by BLEACHERS. Grisham has lost a reader with THE BROKER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Broker review

    This thriller starts with the President, who is in his final hours of being in office, issuing a pardon to Joel Backman, a Washington broker, that been locked away for six years in a federal prison. The pardon was granted because the CIA seems to know that Backman has certain information about the most advanced satellite surveillance system. Backman is then tucked out of the country unnoticeably and brought to Bologna, Italy, where he will be given a new name and identity. He has to somehow blend with this new environment, or he will be assassinated. It seems to me that the CIA is trying to get red of Backman by leading him to his death, where they won have anything to do with it. I thought that was the most interesting part of the story. My reaction to this was to keep reading the book. After I finished, I was glad I continued to read it because it turned out to be a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    very disappointed

    I've always enjoyed Grisham's books - the intense as well as A Painted House (which told a great story)...but this one was just not up to his standards and I found it to be very disappointing - the last 100 pages, I flipped through just for the sake of finishing the book - as painful as it was. I didn't like any of the characters, and quite frankly, I just wanted all the characters to 'go away'. I've read many of his books - it may be a while before I read another 'newer' novel if they don't improve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 299 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15