Customer Reviews for

The Broker

Average Rating 3.5
( 295 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Over and Over

I read this book and loved it! I felt that Grisham really grabbed my attention right from the beginning on this one. From the late night pardon all the way to the trip back to Italy to find the lady who saved Joel's life, it was unescapable!! I bought the audio to liste...
I read this book and loved it! I felt that Grisham really grabbed my attention right from the beginning on this one. From the late night pardon all the way to the trip back to Italy to find the lady who saved Joel's life, it was unescapable!! I bought the audio to listen to while at work and I listen to it over and over. This book is worth the read!

posted by 1257456 on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another 'who should I root for?' mess

While I still call myself a Grisham fan - especially with the goofy cartoon characters that appear in his prose - this book didn't work for me for two reasons: 1- Too much time and energy is spent on the Italy experience. It came across as an Italian travel commercial....
While I still call myself a Grisham fan - especially with the goofy cartoon characters that appear in his prose - this book didn't work for me for two reasons: 1- Too much time and energy is spent on the Italy experience. It came across as an Italian travel commercial. 2- Like 'The Brethren', since there was no real protagonist to root for, by the end I didn't care a flying fig how the story came out. I didn't feel the slightest bit of empathy for Joel. Teddy was a sadistic piece of work. Luigi was too cardboard to be of any help. The one engaging relationship - the love interest - was drawn far too subtly for my liking. C'mon - the guy was in prison for six years... would you want to look at porticos for two hundred pages? Extremely disappointing. Terribly.

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 36 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    very disappointed

    OUT OF ALL HIS BOOKS THAT I HAVE READ, THIS IS THE FIRST ONE THAT I CAN SAY I WAS VERY DISAPOINTED IN. IT TOOK ME THRU OVER HALF OF THE BOOK BEFORE IT GOT INTO THE PLOT. I ENDED UP BUYING ANOTHER BOOK TO READ BEFORE I FINISHED THIS ONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    A great disappointment

    I am not conviced that John Grisham actually wrote this book. His easy reading style and fast action tales are missing. I didn't figure out till the book was over WHY the government and three other countries wanted to kill Backman (and I'm still confused!). Most of the book rambled like a travel guide for Italy, then there needed to be a finale so in just a few pages, it was over. We don't know if he got the girl OR if her alleged husband who never makes a sound, was really alive in the next room. Is the publisher pushing a tired writer to pump out a book each year regardless of his inspiration? They are doing Grisham a great disservice and eventually, he won't be a best-selling writer anymore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    Sorry, Grisham - it`s just not good enough

    I have read nearly all of Grishams books (because he writes very well), but the last two - three have alle been disapointing. The Broker is a new low. The plot and the story no longer have the same edge it used to. Save the money to buy something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    Is JG just getting too lazy?

    a very boring, formulaic book with a bland ending. rather than meeting a book-a-year schedule JG should slow down and regain his creativity

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    B O R I N G!!!

    I'm a HUGE Grisham fan...usually. This book SUCKED. There was no 'gripping thrill', hardly a plot, and a HORRIBLE ending. I'm very dissapointed in Grisham. I can't believe this is the same author as 'The Firm', 'Pelican Brief', etc. This was ridiculous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    Somebody Please Make It Stop!

    Grisham started his slide with Painted House and has gone down hill faster than a avalanche. This book is a disaster. I'm a huge Clancy fan and Grisham needs to let the masters write the espoinage. Grisham needs to look at the law diploma hanging on his wall and stick to writing law. This book was bad, and it seems that Grisham is using his name to free-lance write about whatever he wants, so who needs a plot? It's sad that this book is a bestseller, as that just means that a bunch of folks, like myself, continue to waste money on Grisham. I won't comment on the plot, but let's just say I agree with most of the previously posted bad reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    disappointing

    I had high hopes and was largely disappointed. Characters and plot were shallow and left the reader wondering why something like this would be written in the first place. Ending was abrupt with no real closure for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    Broker

    I was terribly disappointed with this read. It just was not one of Mr. Grishams best works. He should stick to what he knows best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Stick to what you know

    What a shame that people will buy this book simply because of the Grisham name and that he is automatically on the bestseller list. (He shouldn't be anymore - he no longer deserves it). I found this novel quite irritating with the voluminous pages on Italian lessons that I could barely focus on anything else. No good characters; and what's with the 'sudden' romance with the language teacher? There is no plot development there and we're expected to believe the main character will fly back to Italy just for her?! I also threw this book away and will not recommend it to anyone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    not up to par

    if this had been grisham's first novel he would still be practicing law. weak plot, poorly established characters, no action. definitely not up to grisham's standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2005

    A complete bore

    The author should stick to what he knows..legal thrillers, which are usually excellent. The lead character (the broker)is most unsympatheic. The author spends over 200 pages just describing how he learned Italian. The author tries to make him sympathetic but he really is a morally challanged individual. In fact, I usually enjoy passing on my books to friends. This one I threw away. It was, to say the least, a great disapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    HORRIBLE

    THIS WAS A PATHETIC ATTEMPT TO TRY TO GRAB ANY READER'S ATTENTION; THE PLOT WAS VERY DRY, BORING AND UNORIGINAL. I WAS SO LET DOWN THAT I RETURNED THE BOOK AND GOT MY MONEY BACK; SORRY BARNES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 36 of 36 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2