Customer Reviews for

The Broker

Average Rating 3.5
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Over and Over

I read this book and loved it! I felt that Grisham really grabbed my attention right from the beginning on this one. From the late night pardon all the way to the trip back to Italy to find the lady who saved Joel's life, it was unescapable!! I bought the audio to liste...
I read this book and loved it! I felt that Grisham really grabbed my attention right from the beginning on this one. From the late night pardon all the way to the trip back to Italy to find the lady who saved Joel's life, it was unescapable!! I bought the audio to listen to while at work and I listen to it over and over. This book is worth the read!

posted by 1257456 on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another 'who should I root for?' mess

While I still call myself a Grisham fan - especially with the goofy cartoon characters that appear in his prose - this book didn't work for me for two reasons: 1- Too much time and energy is spent on the Italy experience. It came across as an Italian travel commercial....
While I still call myself a Grisham fan - especially with the goofy cartoon characters that appear in his prose - this book didn't work for me for two reasons: 1- Too much time and energy is spent on the Italy experience. It came across as an Italian travel commercial. 2- Like 'The Brethren', since there was no real protagonist to root for, by the end I didn't care a flying fig how the story came out. I didn't feel the slightest bit of empathy for Joel. Teddy was a sadistic piece of work. Luigi was too cardboard to be of any help. The one engaging relationship - the love interest - was drawn far too subtly for my liking. C'mon - the guy was in prison for six years... would you want to look at porticos for two hundred pages? Extremely disappointing. Terribly.

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2005

    Coulda, Shoulda been better

    This book had potential, but fizzles. Was Marco supposed to be changed into a decent human being by the end? Didn't happen. I never did care for his whiny, self-serving attitude toward everyone he met (including his son). Add to that the fact that the plot became a non-event instead of a climax. I don't need every loose end tied up, but come on! He's hunted by the best, and within one page he very easily catches a plane to DC, waltzes around hotels, & cuts a deal. Who knows where the Tin Man even is (might have gotten the name wrong, I've forgotten already!). Don't make such a big deal about the guy if he's not a player. That said, I didn't mind the tourist info and the language lessons - but he could have tied it into the story a little better (Dan Brown has a REASON for giving all those details). To the reviewer who complained that Francesca's description of the art and buildings was 'straight from a tour guide': well ... Francesca IS a tour guide. Think that might be why? Anyway, too many undeveloped secondary characters too. (Madame from the train for ex.) That said, I bet I'll still buy his next one I bet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A decent read that doesn't live up to Grisham standards!

    The Broker, although taking place in Washington at times, is not a legal thriller. Its more of a spy novel. Or is it an Italian tour guide and langauge lesson? That's where my somehwat dislike of this novel comes in. It seems a third of the tale is spent teaching both the main character and the reader Italian. Overkill doesn't begin to explain it. And that main character is somewhat hard to like given his past misdeeds. Overall, just another average read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    Not Too Shabby

    It was my first by mr. Grisham, and i liked it, but the action isn't untill the last few chapters of the book. nonetheless, a great read, and not a waste of money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2006

    Not what I expected

    Grisham is one of my top favorite author. I was so existed about this new book. I have read fourteen out of eighteen of his book, but this one wasn't at all existing like the others. It reminded me a little of his other book. It's almost the same story line as in 'The Partner'. Unlike 'The Partner', this story just ended on a flat note.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    A decent book, but disappointing

    Overall, this is a decent read that keeps the pages turning. However, with about a quarter left of the book, I knew the ending was going to be rushed and disappointing. It never really wraps up. I also agree the characters are shallow. If you are new to Grisham this will be a great book... but if you are expecting his quality it will be disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    Not What I Expected From Grisham

    The Broker is not what I expected from John Grisham. The story line is very weak and almost inconsequential as evidenced by how little time Grisham devotes to it. After reading the Author's Notes I realized that he just wanted to talk about his love for Italy, its language, and Bolobna, which is what most of the book is about. Still, if you like his writing style and accept that The Broker is more of a travel guide than a novel, then you'll probably like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Certainly not his best.

    Breaking the mould I am pleased to say, but was this really written by Grisham? I found the plot good and even the insight into Italy, but was generally pretty disappointed. Ignoring any of the technical stuff and I have to say The Broker is worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2005

    The Broker

    I've read all of Grisham's books and enjoyed this one but it's not one of his best books. But he is a good author especially when he sticks to the subject of law.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    Not up to Grisham's usual standards

    WAY too wordy & implausible re computers & cel'phones, not to mention that the BAD guy wins....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2005

    I Love Italy but...

    I love Italy but I have read better Grisham novels. I do recommend the book but only because it's Grisham and it's hard to go wrong with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2005

    One could do without it...

    I just finished reading this book and all I can say is it did not leave a good taste in my mouth.This is not by far one of the best novels by John Grisham. With an acceptable plot, it rambles on with endless descriptions of such and such italian phrase, monument, alley or the countless descriptions of italian food, restaurants and cafés. All of the above just turn out to slow down the action and get the reader bored. The Broker was not up to my expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2005

    Words, Words & more Words

    This book is too wordie...too much to say about Italy, scenery and goes into depth for where it is not necessary. Grisham has done that before but seemed to have changed for a while. I certainly hope he takes out unecessary details for his next book. I have read everything and watched movies that were not even books. Come on John

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2005

    Just O.K.

    I have read almost all of Grisham's books and while this was worth reading, it was just OK. The story line was a nice change from the purely 'legal' stories. It was also different that it took place in Italy and taught me some Italian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    Not his best work

    Having read all his books this one somehow comes up a little short. Starting out exciting and slowly sliding down a boring path. The middle of the book seemed a bit redundant, (he could have taken a few chapters out fo it and you would not have missed anything). Also, the ending was too abrupt. It seemed not too much thpught was involved in the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Definitely not your usual Grisham book

    I love Grisham. I have even loved when he went away from his normal law scene and wrote about the painted house and no christmas, but this one was ho hum for me. I felt most of it was an italian lesson (perhaps he got some language lessons and wanted to show off his speech) and an italian history lesson. I would have loved more action and character development. I don't feel that the ending had enough desire... it was blah. I do not believe the announcement at the end of him not really being that 'up to date technologically' did enough to make up for poor story line. It was an interesting concept and there were parts that I truly enjoyed. Some of my favorite novels are set in Italy. But this one seemed to focus too much on the couple of weeks of learning Italian than the true storyline. Unlike most of Grisham that I have to read in one or two days, this one dragged on for at least two weeks. I didn't have the impulses to stay up until 2am reading like I have for so many of his other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2005

    Naht bahhhd=-

    This my 4th Grisham book. Wasn't my favorite. It wasn't a bad plot, but the Italian, especially in the beginning is too much. I would recommend The Last Juror from him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    A Great Story Until the End

    The Broker by John Grisham was a great book. I loved the intrique and the culture of Italy that was presented. But the ending was very lame and it was totally not what it should have been. The ending could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2005

    The Broker

    I have read all of John Grisham' books and even though this one was good, it certainly was not on the same level as his other books on the law profession. After reading the The Last Juror- The Broker was a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    Not His Best - But True to Author's Spirit

    While this isn't the typical Grisham read, I was genuinely pleased with the overall tone of the story. While one does get the sense that the author is more concerned than usual (and perhaps to the detriment of a truly pulse pounding plot) with relating personal observation/experience - this latest Grisham will not disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    Another fun read from Grisham

    Loved the pacing and fun italian backdrop. Those who enjoy Grisham and his many surprises won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4