Customer Reviews for

The Broker

Average Rating 3.5
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Over and Over

I read this book and loved it! I felt that Grisham really grabbed my attention right from the beginning on this one. From the late night pardon all the way to the trip back to Italy to find the lady who saved Joel's life, it was unescapable!! I bought the audio to liste...
I read this book and loved it! I felt that Grisham really grabbed my attention right from the beginning on this one. From the late night pardon all the way to the trip back to Italy to find the lady who saved Joel's life, it was unescapable!! I bought the audio to listen to while at work and I listen to it over and over. This book is worth the read!

posted by 1257456 on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another 'who should I root for?' mess

While I still call myself a Grisham fan - especially with the goofy cartoon characters that appear in his prose - this book didn't work for me for two reasons: 1- Too much time and energy is spent on the Italy experience. It came across as an Italian travel commercial....
While I still call myself a Grisham fan - especially with the goofy cartoon characters that appear in his prose - this book didn't work for me for two reasons: 1- Too much time and energy is spent on the Italy experience. It came across as an Italian travel commercial. 2- Like 'The Brethren', since there was no real protagonist to root for, by the end I didn't care a flying fig how the story came out. I didn't feel the slightest bit of empathy for Joel. Teddy was a sadistic piece of work. Luigi was too cardboard to be of any help. The one engaging relationship - the love interest - was drawn far too subtly for my liking. C'mon - the guy was in prison for six years... would you want to look at porticos for two hundred pages? Extremely disappointing. Terribly.

posted by Anonymous on February 23, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2005

    Didn't want it to end

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I was glued from the get-go and didn't want it to end. I wanted to know what happened after. I enjoyed reading about parts of Italy and learning a little Italian too - what fun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Anonymous on August 2, 2012

    Well written character study. Grisham is a master story teller even when he diverts from his normal legal genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Grisham carries on

    If you like John Grisham, he won't disappoint in this story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Lobbist, CIA, fast moving

    This was definitely not your typical John Grisham book, more like Robert Ludlum but I enjoyed thoroughly nonetheless. The Broker, these guys really exist. Lobbyist with unimaginable power. Congress is terrified of NRA, and there a guy that represents them and their interest on capitol hill. Although I was a bit disappointed with the ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Good read

    Good reaad nice book bit slow

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    Smart Read

    The main character is a 'bad guy' but Grisham tells this story from a perspective that you really end up wanting things to work out for this guy. The last portion of the book kept me on the edge of my seat and the ending didnt disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An entertaining story with a fast moving plot.

    I had an urge last week to read a story by John Grisham and The Broker was my selection. Before that I had read "The Summons"(It was a fair read). I don't read his novels in sequences which fortunately for someone like me there is no need, because each of Mr. Grisham's books will stand on their own. I thought The Broker was an easy read that was very entertaining. There was a lot of intrigue woven into a fast moving plot. I thought the class room instructions on the topography of Italy and the language was a bit too much. Actually, this part of the book got really boring. The main character, Joel Backman gave me fits. I never was really sure if he was decent sort of a fellow or just a down right crook. I could never get the feeling that I should root for him or just hope for his quick exit from the story. In summary, there were parts of the story that I didn't care for, but overall I thought it was real decent book that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Grisham's black sheep

    I've read many of Grisham's novels and I actually like this one because he goes in a diferent direction. The characters, the plot, the way he describes is actually funny. I enjoyed the book a lot, the twist and the fact that it's not another Grisham lawyer's novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    What an exiting read this was.

    When I first started reading the book I was not really to interested in the story, but when I got past the first few chapters I could not put it down. The book had great characters and a decent plot. After reading the book I was interested in reading more books by John Grisham. I do highly recommend this book for book clubs. One of the best parts in the story is the ending because of the emotions that are shown.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book.... And then......

    This is a really good book. The story hooked me from the opening and before I knew it I was done in a week. The characters were interesting enough that you wanted to know what happens to them. The author does a great job of painting a picture with details without going overboard or being too drawn out. There are definitely suspenseful moments, the ones where you're trying to hurry though to the next page to find out what happens (at lest I get like that anyway).

    If there's anything critical of the book, it's the ending. It left me with a lot of "What about....?" "What happened with....?" "How did.....?" and so on.

    Overall though this is definitely worth your money, especially if you're a fan of Grisham books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    A good read

    This is the fifth Grisham book that I've read and I though it was a really good book. It was sort of slow at points but it eventually picked up. It was good to see the author step away from legal thrillers and try something different. John Grisham is a great author and you can't go wrong with reading any of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read

    The Broker was a pretty good book. It was a relativily fast paced book but there were some slow points. In the end it's well worth it. I got hooked on Grisham by reading The Firm. Great book. I recommend The Broker to anyone who is into business and law. I can't set the book down now. The Broker is full of scenes that give you the urge to move on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Great Book

    This is the first book I read by Mr. Grisham and it was recommended to me by my employer. I finished it without putting it down for a moment. Sure, there were some boring parts and not every bit of it was completely realistic. It is still a good book. The pages fly by quickly. It got really intense at some points and the author dug really deep into the main character's mind. I would recommend this book to my friends and family and I look forward to reading more books by John Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    Educational and the Hero comes to life

    The story was very interesting and kept me involved. It was not the fast paced thriller because the author really took the time to get us into Joel's head and his surroundings (Italy). Not Great, but you will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2006

    Rapid Pace, Slow Development

    The Broker...what a great addition to John Grisham's works! It picks you up quickly and drops you off in some far off area, constantly changing scenes allowing the reader to become enthralled in the ever-changing events of Joel Backman. This rapid changing of environment, as entertaining as it is, does seem to mask some of the slow development that follows Grisham's patterns. At times it seems to get caught up so much in the cultural details or plot development that the famous question 'Where was I again?' comes up. With only this as a slight downfall, Grishman really made an impact and created a dynamic story that never fails to keep the reader from putting the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    PRETTY GOOD

    This is a book that touches the edge of danger and dives into the world of sabotage. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Broker review

    This thriller starts with the President, who is in his final hours of being in office, issuing a pardon to Joel Backman, a Washington broker, that been locked away for six years in a federal prison. The pardon was granted because the CIA seems to know that Backman has certain information about the most advanced satellite surveillance system. Backman is then tucked out of the country unnoticeably and brought to Bologna, Italy, where he will be given a new name and identity. He has to somehow blend with this new environment, or he will be assassinated. It seems to me that the CIA is trying to get red of Backman by leading him to his death, where they won have anything to do with it. I thought that was the most interesting part of the story. My reaction to this was to keep reading the book. After I finished, I was glad I continued to read it because it turned out to be a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    Breaking the broker

    This was a thrilling novel. JG did a good job by mixing the seemingly mundane and world of espionage. Although the lawyer that had spent six years in solitary managed to outsmart professional agents and assassins, it was still fairly believable. Backman's reaction to his situation was very realistic, if anyone else had been thrown into that same scenerio I doubt they could have done as well. Afraid and embracing of his new freedom. Very conscious of human nature. Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2006

    One of the best endings

    Good book with a very good plot. Not your typical Grisham but very good anyways. Good story with good characters and a very very good ending. Such a good book I want to learn Italian. Can't wait for Grishams next book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2006

    GREAT

    Once again John Grisham has proved to be an excellent author and captivating storyteller. An ex-broker, once famous and at the height of power, is pardoned after spending six years in a federal prison with maximum security. Overjoyed at his fortunate and unexpected release, he starts to wonder - has his freedom come at a terrible price? This is thrilling and exceptional novel, and I recommend it to everyone. Once you read one of Grisham's books, you find you're always going back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5