Customer Reviews for

Bronx Masquerade

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The book A Bronx Masaquerade provides a literary emotonal, book that ispires us to take a stand, and to look at all the oppertunities life has to offer.

This is the first book of Nikki Grimes' that I have ever read and I loved it. "Bronx Masquerade" gives teens like me, a whole new perspective on not only the importance and enjoyment of literature and poetry but also the identities of individuals in a diverse society. T...
This is the first book of Nikki Grimes' that I have ever read and I loved it. "Bronx Masquerade" gives teens like me, a whole new perspective on not only the importance and enjoyment of literature and poetry but also the identities of individuals in a diverse society. The fact that this book is writen by teen's thoughts about themselves and others and the pomes they create in response to these thoughts really capture your attention. Each of the 18 students learns something about himself that changes his perspective about his future. A young black teenager who sees no future for himself in a community where guns and violence have taken over suddenly realizes he has a passion for words. A chubby teenage girl notices that her friends no long pay attention to the way she looks because they have become so immersed in her beautiful poetry. All of this comes from writing poems and reading them in front of the class on what their teacher calls Open Mike Friday. The poems these students "write" are so creative and really make this book quite unique. I could not put it down because I was so eager to read how these people living their everyday lives in the slums, were going to write about their lives in the ghetto. This book shows us that they are allowed to different and they are allowed to be smart. It's ok to want to read and do well in school. I think that any teen that is interested in poetry, or rap for that matter, even in the slightest should read this book. I am truly inspired.

posted by puertoricosf on April 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

The story is pointless.i had to read this for a class assignment and really its about kids with problems telling to the class through some of the most fake and uninpiring poems DONT get this book please

posted by 18133417 on April 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The book A Bronx Masaquerade provides a literary emotonal, book that ispires us to take a stand, and to look at all the oppertunities life has to offer.

    This is the first book of Nikki Grimes' that I have ever read and I loved it. "Bronx Masquerade" gives teens like me, a whole new perspective on not only the importance and enjoyment of literature and poetry but also the identities of individuals in a diverse society. The fact that this book is writen by teen's thoughts about themselves and others and the pomes they create in response to these thoughts really capture your attention. Each of the 18 students learns something about himself that changes his perspective about his future. A young black teenager who sees no future for himself in a community where guns and violence have taken over suddenly realizes he has a passion for words. A chubby teenage girl notices that her friends no long pay attention to the way she looks because they have become so immersed in her beautiful poetry. All of this comes from writing poems and reading them in front of the class on what their teacher calls Open Mike Friday. The poems these students "write" are so creative and really make this book quite unique. I could not put it down because I was so eager to read how these people living their everyday lives in the slums, were going to write about their lives in the ghetto. This book shows us that they are allowed to different and they are allowed to be smart. It's ok to want to read and do well in school. I think that any teen that is interested in poetry, or rap for that matter, even in the slightest should read this book. I am truly inspired.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Terrible

    The story is pointless.i had to read this for a class assignment and really its about kids with problems telling to the class through some of the most fake and uninpiring poems


    DONT get this book please


    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Bronx Masquerade- A story about hope and renewal

    This book was different from most books I read because its written in different pov's and poetry. But I enjoyed it because it was about how you can rise above your problems, even if your problems are serious ones, and change your circumstances and your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Dmn Damn

    Daaaaamn tyrone do me like tht

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    To: ny yankees rule

    Juu r so immature its sad that u talk like a childu stupid homie :/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Ny yankees rule

    Shut up Red Sox and dummys. We rule you drool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Bronx Masquerade

    This book is about students writting poems and reading them on open mike Fridays. Tyrone tells his feelings about other students when they're done reading their poems. My favorite episode is when tyrone speaks his mind about everything. Tyrone tells his feelings about every person that makes a poem.

    (If you like this book you will like, Planet Middle School).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    THE BRONX

    Bronx Masquerade has all different things to make a teen book like good details and explains what characters look like. Everyone in this book has problems from parent problems to school bullies. They tell about their life then follow up by reading a poem. Sterling S. Hughes hugs a bully then the bully goes off. Sterling is a part of Mr.Wards English class. If you like Miracles Boys, you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Nadia

    This book is really good i like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    This book was not what I had expected. I thought that this book

    This book was not what I had expected. I thought that this book would be about drugs and violence. And im glad that it wasnt, I actually enjoyed certain things about the book. And the book taught me a couple of things about myself, I should be more accepting and open to hearing about other peoples lives. Because sometimes I can be closed off, I did like this book and I highly recommend it for others as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Bronx mascurade

    Thus is a really goos book. It is really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    GREAT BOOK

    GREAT BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Blank

    I liked the book more than I thought I would. I do not really like Tyrone, he always has something to say. But, everyones just trying to fit in, I love the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Please read this book.

    Such an amazimg book. Very relatible. Great read when you feel down at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Bronx

    I loved this book. It was very interesting. I liked how i could lmost connect with the characters. I also liked how tyrone shared his thoughts about each persons poem. The book was emotional i felt mad when chankara talked about her boyfriend beatting her up and i felt angry with the boyfriend for doing this even thiugh he is not real. I was sad when i read lupes story. And when i read glorias i felt lucky for my life. Thank you karen for making us read this!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Hi

    Im reading this book now for la and i love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    One of the most inspiring books ever

    This book opens your eyes to the children living in the Bronx. It tells the story in a form of poetry. the characters make you laugh,cry,and think. IT is suprisingly realistic and tells an amazing story. I would recommend this to absolutely ANYONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    I absolutely love this book. I enjoyed reading it. This book showed me a completely different culture. Almost every character in this book has some major struggle in their life. Most struggle to pay the bills at home. The characters, especially Tyrone use a lot more slang then I've ever heard. I had to re-read some lines just to make sure I got what he was saying. This is an amazing book though. I've read it over 10 times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Masquerade

    This book is a great read! Each of the characters is very nicely developed. You can really hear each of their voices shining through in the story, especially Tyrone. I especially like how he tells what he thinks of everyone's poems. It's a very creative way to write a book. The poems are nicely spread out among the narratives, and you really grow attatched to some of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bronx Masquerade Review

    This book is amazing! It is one of my favorites..all time! Never have I read another book like this one. The author does an excellent job of character development and how the story was written with narratives and then poems. If you want to find yourself, this book is great. As the characters start to find themselves in this book, you realize some things that may help you find yourself as well. Alot of lessons can be learned from this book. It is definately realistic. Guys and girls would enjoy it. I can honestly say, if you have not yet read this book, you're missing out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6