Customer Reviews for

The Bronze Bow

Average Rating 4
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The Bronze Bow Turns Gold

I thought that The Bronze Bow was a very powerful book. This book is full of action, but still has a docile tone at times. It starts out with a young man named Daniel running from his past and seeking revenge on the Romans. He finally confronts his past, and starts to c...
I thought that The Bronze Bow was a very powerful book. This book is full of action, but still has a docile tone at times. It starts out with a young man named Daniel running from his past and seeking revenge on the Romans. He finally confronts his past, and starts to change from a savage beast into more of a respectable young man. Though a lot has changed for this young man he still has not quenched his thirst for roman blood. I give this book five stars, because it sends a very inspirational message, and has characters that you get attached to. I feel that anyone who reads this book will be captivated by it and will not be able to set it down. There is nothing that could be changed about this book in order to improve it, it¿s simply flawless. I strongly recommend The Bronze Bow for readers of all ages.

posted by Anonymous on December 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Boring book

I hate this book it is boring slow moving and one of the worst books i have ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 9713475 on February 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Boring book

    I hate this book it is boring slow moving and one of the worst books i have ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    The Bronze Bow Turns Gold

    I thought that The Bronze Bow was a very powerful book. This book is full of action, but still has a docile tone at times. It starts out with a young man named Daniel running from his past and seeking revenge on the Romans. He finally confronts his past, and starts to change from a savage beast into more of a respectable young man. Though a lot has changed for this young man he still has not quenched his thirst for roman blood. I give this book five stars, because it sends a very inspirational message, and has characters that you get attached to. I feel that anyone who reads this book will be captivated by it and will not be able to set it down. There is nothing that could be changed about this book in order to improve it, it¿s simply flawless. I strongly recommend The Bronze Bow for readers of all ages.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    It was okay...

    Imagine being an 18 year old man in the old times of Jesus, being ruled by the evil Roman Empire. This is the life of Daniel, the main character in the story the Bronze Bow. '- God is my strong refuge, and has made my way safe. He made my feet like hinds' feet, and set me secure on the heights. he trains my and for war, so that my arm can bend a bow of bronze.' The book keeps you intrested as Daniel continues to try to gain power from the people to soon rebel against the Romans. It's in the first person view, and I do recommend this for young adults +.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Bad

    I had to read this book for school last year.It is the WORST!!!!!!!It kept changing scenes.At one part it was "Danial saw the Roman soliddur outside his shop.In jays house......."I kept turning back pages becaus I thought I missed a page.It is the worst book ever.I like Across Five Aprils better!Thats saying something brcause i hate that book too!Don't buy this book.its a waste of money.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    to anonomous on February 26, 2012

    TO ANONOMOUS ON FEBRUARY 26, 2012--

    Maybe you just dont like to read-- I cannot imagine a world without books. They are the foundation of my dreams.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Bronze Bow

    This is a great book filled with action, love, and romance. I request this book to everyone. Also it has a good lesson in it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Love

    I loved this book it was cheap and very very good book. I read as a school book but enjoyed it so much its appropriet for all ages but its reading diffucultify i say age group 10 and above i absulutly love love this book you should get it!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    The Bronze Bow

    The Bronze Bow Elizabeth George Speare Houghton Mifflin Publishing Company Historical Fiction Many of us would give anything just to have been with Jesus Christ during his travels throughout the lands of Judea and Galilee. Well, Daniel bar Jamin got that chance. In the novel The Bronze Bow, by the great author Elizabeth George Speare, you will experience first hand the life of your average Galilean as seen through the eyes of eighteen-year-old Daniel bar Jamin. As a young boy, Daniel's father was crucified by Roman legionaries. Now, ten years older, wiser, and fiercer, Daniel wants nothing more than to drive the Romans from the land of Israel forever. In the ten years since his father's death, Daniel has been sold into slavery with a blacksmith named Amalek, run away from Amalek because he was abused, and has now proceeded to live on a mountain overshadowing his village, living in caves with a band of outlaws led by a man named Rosh. However, Daniel is called back to his village in the wake of his grandmother¿s death. He can not continue to live with the bandits in the mountains because his sister lived with his grandmother and the sister now needs needs a caretaker. The morning after his grandmother's death, Daniel's friend Simon asks him to come with him and hear a man by the name of Jesus of Nazareth speak. Daniel is at first struck by this Jesus' words, but then Daniel does not understand them. This great novel then picks up its pace as Daniel attempts to find Jesus' meaning. This book documents the struggles of first century Israel, while at the same time spreading a wonderful final message at the end that all people, Christian or not, must recognize if they do not wish their lives to have been all in vain. In the book The Bronze Bow, by Elizabeth George Speare, there are many different characters, each with their own distinct traits and impacts on the outcome of the story. First off, there is Daniel bar Jamin, he is the main character, but the strange thing about him is he is the story's protagonist and antagonist. He is always fighting himself like he does not know his own identity. At age eighteen, he is strong, sturdy, and cunning, these were very good features for Speare to give him as a main character. As the story states ¿He was a tall boy, with little trace of youth in his lean, hard body. At eighteen Daniel bar Jamin was unmistakably a Galilean, with the bold features of his countrymen, the sun-browned skin, and the brilliant dark eyes that could light fierce with patriotism and blacken with swift anger.¿ Daniel behaves quite strangely in the eyes of his fellow Jews, he is always scowling, he remembers some of the Jewish laws such of that of washing ones hands before a meal, or that of which that states that you must not do any work on the Sabbath. He acts violent at points but is quick to repent his actions. Overall, I believe Daniel to be an okay guy despite his controversial behavior. Another main character is Jesus Christ, he is the man all Christians believe to be the son of god. Speare describes him as ¿...slight, with knotted arms and the shoulders of one who has done hard labor from childhood. He was not regal or commanding.¿ Jesus is very kind and extraordinarily persuasive, for he can make people with great lives, and everything in the world to look forward to, drop everything, give up all of their possessions, their homes, and their families just to follow him and listen to him speak of the coming of the kingdom of God. There is also a group of characters of substantial importance, the Romans. The Romans are the conquerors, they rule over Israel with an iron fist. Their legions wander the streets like a band of thugs looking for a fight. The Romans are large in number and are led by their emperor, Tiberius. Although Tiberius never comes into play as a character, he is mentioned as being basically an extremely ignorant person. The Romans, overall, are r

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    This is truly an inspireriing book

    I love it but its mostly for kid ages 10-20

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    BORING

    If you're going 2 fall asleep while reading this in class, DON'T READ IT!!!!!!!

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Bronze bow

    I personly didnt enjoy it i found it kinda confusing. The story line isnt that bad, but it fells as if your jumping around

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    i did not like the book at all! i thought i was so hard to get int. i thought that it was just the beginning, then when i started to get to the middle, it was still boring! i would not reccommend this book to anyone. the ending was my favorite part! it meant the book was over.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2000

    Oh My Gosh!!!..............

    this was lime the greatest book i have ever read. it reaaly was interesting the way they made me feel i was in those times myself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Inspiring and eventfull! :D

    I read this book for the first time in about 5th grade and i still remember it as one of the best books and most worthy of my time ever! I would put this book in the same position for young readers as i do to kill a mockingbird for teens and adaults, and consider it a very worth while read but easy read. It carries a strong message within a great story line and i hope that i can someday write a children or young adault book that can carry the same significance to someone else as this book did for me! I definately recomend this book to any worthy and adventurous reader :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Very good. A must read for all ages.

    The story was very well written, a story we al lknow from a very different perspctive. I reccomend this story to many people, and all have truly loved it.

    By and all regards to you
    A sixh grader named Hannah from Wisconsin








    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Hate it

    Terriblely written horriable

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Really guys

    You guys have nothing to do but inconvenience people who are trying to READ actual reviews

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Awesome book

    I have loved this book so far it is so intresting i dont know why everyone is so critical

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Thee book is alright.

    I liked the book, but I got lost at times. I was questioning if you could write a book and have Jesus talking to fictional characters. Its like making a fak event and having Jesus in it. Is that ojay to do? So this is why I questioned it. The book wad good, but i got lost at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Headline.

    I had to read this book for school like so many others. Some parts were interesting, but it was not captivating or well-written. I did not like this book. I would recommend it for maybe teenagers and adults. (Adults seem to love this book.) If it were written better and had a better plot, maybe I would like it better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7