Customer Reviews for

Bronze Gods

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wow! One of the best books I have read in recent years! Can I gi

Wow! One of the best books I have read in recent years! Can I give it more than 5 stars? This one is going on my favorites list.

Bronze Gods has a little bit of everything. Alternative history/fantasy/mystery/suspense with a hint of romance. Beautifully written!

You w...
Wow! One of the best books I have read in recent years! Can I give it more than 5 stars? This one is going on my favorites list.

Bronze Gods has a little bit of everything. Alternative history/fantasy/mystery/suspense with a hint of romance. Beautifully written!

You will be immersed in a world reminiscent of Victorian England, making elements of the story familiar enough to connect with. But it is definitely not Victorian England. The unique history with ties to magical powers makes it a dark and dangerous place to live. Mikani and Risuko are the Inspectors trying to make sense of some horrible crimes. Both bring their own talents to the investigation, chasing down clues to solve the mystery before a madman's quest for power brings terrible consequences to all.

I really like this book! The plot was riveting, the characters, fascinating. And the action was well entrenched in the gritty and intriguing world of Hy Breasil. The complexity of the world and the plot left me wanting more.

Did I mention the beautiful writing? “Twilight crept up on her, bearing purples as a gift.” I wish I had written that. Yet all the exquisite writing does not impede the unrelenting action. I absorbed this book!

If you are considering reading this book, don't hesitate any longer. Go for it!

posted by ramore on May 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I¿m a big fan of Ann Aguirre, steampunk, and fae, so I was super

I’m a big fan of Ann Aguirre, steampunk, and fae, so I was super excited to read Bronze Gods. It had all the making of a knock out read.

Up until about 55%, I was seriously questioning the book. I was confused by the plot, the world, and the quickly changing POVs. I...
I’m a big fan of Ann Aguirre, steampunk, and fae, so I was super excited to read Bronze Gods. It had all the making of a knock out read.

Up until about 55%, I was seriously questioning the book. I was confused by the plot, the world, and the quickly changing POVs. I was lamenting that this series might be an adventure I did not go on with the Aguirre writing team.

At 60%, something amazing happened. Suddenly the plot stabilized, things came together, it was easier to understand which POV I was in and what was going on with the investigation. The plot started making sense and I was able to relate to the two of the three main characters. Where I struggled to get through the first half, I enjoyed the last 40% of the book.

I’m interested in the world and in the two detectives. I like their burgeoning relationship as more than partners. I like Mikani’s powers and what it costs him to use them. I like that he enjoys a good fight and standing up for people he cares about. I like Ritsuko’s drive for details and her struggle against working in a male dominated world.

I’m not as interested in Aurelia, but enough of the story was devoted to her that I’ll feel a little put out if there’s not a follow up on her in the next book, even though I have zero interest in her character.

At the end, I knew I would read the next book in the series, but I’m left feeling uneasy about Bronze Gods. I feel like I should reread the book to fully wrap my head around what all was happening in the first part, but I have absolutely no desire to do so.

All around, I thought this one was a missed the mark, but it left me interested enough to give the next book a chance to redeem the series.

*Originally posted on goodreads

posted by 3511269 on November 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    I¿m a big fan of Ann Aguirre, steampunk, and fae, so I was super

    I’m a big fan of Ann Aguirre, steampunk, and fae, so I was super excited to read Bronze Gods. It had all the making of a knock out read.

    Up until about 55%, I was seriously questioning the book. I was confused by the plot, the world, and the quickly changing POVs. I was lamenting that this series might be an adventure I did not go on with the Aguirre writing team.

    At 60%, something amazing happened. Suddenly the plot stabilized, things came together, it was easier to understand which POV I was in and what was going on with the investigation. The plot started making sense and I was able to relate to the two of the three main characters. Where I struggled to get through the first half, I enjoyed the last 40% of the book.

    I’m interested in the world and in the two detectives. I like their burgeoning relationship as more than partners. I like Mikani’s powers and what it costs him to use them. I like that he enjoys a good fight and standing up for people he cares about. I like Ritsuko’s drive for details and her struggle against working in a male dominated world.

    I’m not as interested in Aurelia, but enough of the story was devoted to her that I’ll feel a little put out if there’s not a follow up on her in the next book, even though I have zero interest in her character.

    At the end, I knew I would read the next book in the series, but I’m left feeling uneasy about Bronze Gods. I feel like I should reread the book to fully wrap my head around what all was happening in the first part, but I have absolutely no desire to do so.

    All around, I thought this one was a missed the mark, but it left me interested enough to give the next book a chance to redeem the series.

    *Originally posted on goodreads

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Terrific!

    I haven't come across a book that was this engrossing in several years; I had a hard time putting it down! I loved the two main characters and their relationship, the writing was beautiful, the grammar and vocabulary outstanding, and the story itself was captivating. This reminds me somewhat of the first Greyfriar book, in its immense enjoyability and a certain atmosphere. This is combination steampunk, fantasy, mystery, policework, and a touch of romance. My only negative is that the 2nd book is not out yet! Very highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    Wow! One of the best books I have read in recent years! Can I gi

    Wow! One of the best books I have read in recent years! Can I give it more than 5 stars? This one is going on my favorites list.

    Bronze Gods has a little bit of everything. Alternative history/fantasy/mystery/suspense with a hint of romance. Beautifully written!

    You will be immersed in a world reminiscent of Victorian England, making elements of the story familiar enough to connect with. But it is definitely not Victorian England. The unique history with ties to magical powers makes it a dark and dangerous place to live. Mikani and Risuko are the Inspectors trying to make sense of some horrible crimes. Both bring their own talents to the investigation, chasing down clues to solve the mystery before a madman's quest for power brings terrible consequences to all.

    I really like this book! The plot was riveting, the characters, fascinating. And the action was well entrenched in the gritty and intriguing world of Hy Breasil. The complexity of the world and the plot left me wanting more.

    Did I mention the beautiful writing? “Twilight crept up on her, bearing purples as a gift.” I wish I had written that. Yet all the exquisite writing does not impede the unrelenting action. I absorbed this book!

    If you are considering reading this book, don't hesitate any longer. Go for it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Steampunk. Fairies. Murder mysteries. Intrigue!

    Do you like steampunk? Fairies? Murder mysteries? Detectives? Plot twists? Beautiful writing and outstanding world building? Charming, indulgent, witty, surprisingly tender hero? Kickass, pragmatic, clever, immaculate heroines? If you do, I don't know why you're still reading this review when you could be reading the best book that has ever come into existence in a long time—...possibly forever. I'm still riding the high reading this book has given me after a week. Do yourself a favor and read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    Very good. Steam punk noir in an alternate history. Two detect

    Very good. Steam punk noir in an alternate history. Two detective inspector partners, one male and one the first female inspector, try to solve magical ritualistic killings of women from powerful families. The writing is excellent and story keeps you reading all night. I liked the main characters, and the minor characters were interesting, too. I went to Ann Aguirre's website and it says the second book in the series is coming out March 2014. Can't wait. Bought this as an e-book and the formatting was perfect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    good

    A good read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Strong story

    I loved Ann's Jax series so I picked this up for that reason only. I'd just finished another book of the same genre and thought this probably wouldn't match details etc. Not only was I throughly brought into the story I'll short list the next in the series to buy on release. Well written characters I would like as friends - and now I'm worried about some of them hanging in the fog of printings ahead. Here's hoping this series continues for a full arch or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    PA Pam M

    Excellant book. I look forward to the next book in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    A fantastic book!

    A fantastic book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Bronze Gods

    Intriguing and well written. Looking forward to next volume.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1