Customer Reviews for

The Bronze and the Brimstone

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A unique blend of time travel and history for teens!

For any teens who is an avid fan of both time traveling and history, this is the perfect series for you. The Bronze and The Brimstone is the second book in the series by Lory Kaufman who delighted us with the story of three teens who came from the 24th century and were ...
For any teens who is an avid fan of both time traveling and history, this is the perfect series for you. The Bronze and The Brimstone is the second book in the series by Lory Kaufman who delighted us with the story of three teens who came from the 24th century and were sent off to a History Camp, which is a realistic location that places people into a world just like the one they would have experienced if they were sent back in time. This time the three teens Hansum, Lincoln, and Shamira have been sent to Verona, Italy back to the 14 century as a means of punishment for acting out in school.

What should have been a two week punishment, the teens find themselves stuck in the 14th century for six months, and the only way they have managed to survive is thanks to Hansum smuggling in Pan, which is a virtual figure that can access anything from history, think a virtual computer figure. This is where the story begins with a brief re-telling of the synopsis from The Lens and The Looker. This is the perfect introduction to this book, especially if you haven't read the first one, so it can stand alone as it's own novel. However, once you immerse yourself in this one, you'll definitely want to go back and see where it all began.

Thanks to the innovations the teens shared in the 14th century such as the telescope, the cannons and black powder, some of the rich and well-to-do will do whatever it takes to keep themselves at the top of the political ladder of success especially when Hansum and his friends have made them very powerful and wealthy as a means to survive.

What makes the series so unique is the attention to detail from the historical eye, and Lory Kaufman does an exceptional job at making the 14th century Verona, Italy especially real for the readers and thus makes the book a real delight. This time the readers are in for a treat when they are reading a great story about time travel and the future and end up with a unique perspective on history as well.

I received The Bronze and the Brimstone compliments of Pump Up Your Book Tours for my honest review and think that Lory Kaufman has really hit on something unique. A way to showcase the love of learning with a blend of story-telling that keeps the young reader engaged as they are learning about history. Another 5 out of 5 stars and will be looking forward to future books by Lory Kaufman in the future. He is keeping the love of learning and reading alive in his books.

posted by Heart2Heart on February 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Like it, but...

There are so many missing pages! It happened in the first one, but not nearly as much as in this one! It's really frustrating!!! :(

posted by 4422243 on August 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Like it, but...

    There are so many missing pages! It happened in the first one, but not nearly as much as in this one! It's really frustrating!!! :(

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    recommended for all ages

    I like the story ok. The problem I had was some pages was missing. This was dissapointing as it missed up the story for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    was looking forward, but somewhat disappointed

    I was looking forward to the continuation of the story, but i have had numerous instances of "missing" pages and cannot advance pages in my Nook color. Hope this can be fixed soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Looking forward to next book!

    I was looking forward to reading this one after finishing the first book. I wanted to know what was going to happen to the three. Although it was good, and the ending made me want to scream, I thought the book could have been a bit better.

    The plot was still well done, and although it focuses a lot more on Hansum again, Shamira has now her own storyline (it's a short one, unfortunately) and Lincoln still has a small role - I wished he was more into this book, he's fun to read and adds more life to the book because of his personality. I think, if he was paired up with Hansum from the start, the plot could have taken a different twist, but also would have been a much more enjoyable read.

    Not to say I didn't like Hansum, although I'd rather started disliking him towards the second half of the book when he started to turn a 360 and started to act like a jerk. It's understandable, since all he wants to do is work but also spend his life with Guilietta (which seems to be extremely difficult to do, and you can feel his frustration). However it's good to see all three characters have maintained their maturity and their character development in this book is very well done and well written.

    What I enjoyed the most was the rich historical detail this book had. It certainly looked like there was a lot of work put into this so the reader will experience a much more authentic setting and it's a well done job. From the characters clothing, to what they eat, and to what they use in everyday life is set in fine detail.

    As mentioned before, this book could have been better. I thought it dragged a bit in certain areas. Although it's interesting on how the making of gunpowder is made, and how a cannon is constructed, this is where the detail is just so minute it feels like you're reading a textbook on "Life and Times in Historical Italy" than anything else. It might be interesting to some readers but for those that just want to get to the action, this part of the book is slow and can get dry. To me it felt like there were endless pages on how the construction was done, and I had to put the book down several times to slap myself awake. As much as I love detail and the fine parts, this was just too much for me.

    Also although the target audience is for young adults there is a level of violence and language that may not be so good for younger readers. Plus there is some content that could be questionable. There was one particular violent moment involving a donkey and I'm still wondering why Hansum needed to do this to prove a point. It's certainly uncharacteristic of him and I wonder if that was even necessary.

    The ending of the book was good as it felt like the action was all saved for the last few pages. It was an intense emotional roller coaster. The reader will be stunned, sad, angry, and relieved. All in just a few pages. That those few pages got me to feel this way in less than fifteen minutes it took me to read them is just brilliant. It was absolutely well done.

    Despite this being dry in some parts, it was well worth the read. Rich in historical detail, with a good mix of action, romance, and drama, I am definitely looking forward to how this series ends. This book could have been better, but the ending makes up for it in so many ways it makes it well worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    6 out of 10 hearts!

    The Bronze and the Brimstone by Lory S. Kaufman
    Series: Verona Trilogy (#2)
    Release Date: June 7th, 2011
    Publisher: The Fiction Studio
    Page Count: 336
    Source: Received from author, via Pump Up Your Book, for review

    What could go wrong in the 14th-century for three time-traveling teens? How about - EVERYTHING!

    Hansum, Shamira and Lincoln, three teens from the 24th century, are trapped in 14th-century Verona, Italy. They've survived many deadly experiences by keeping their wits about them and by introducing futuristic technology into the past. Principal among these inventions is the telescope, which brought them to the attention of the rich and powerful.

    But standing out can get you into unexpected and dangerous situations. The nobles of Verona now believe Hansum is a savant, a genius inventor, especially after he brings them plans for advanced cannons and black powder. Being the center of attention is great, but the potential for trouble is now exponentially greater because people are watching Hansum's every move.

    Meanwhile, artistic genius Shamira has fallen for a Florentine artist with bloody and disastrous consequences. Lincoln, considered an incompetent back home in the 24th-century, has blossomed - at least until he's shot in the head with an arrow. And Hansum, after secretly marrying his new master's beautiful daughter, Guilietta, is offered the hand in marriage of lady Beatrice, daughter of the ruler of Verona. To refuse could mean calamity for all the teens.

    Amazingly, none of this is their biggest challenge. Because a rash illness is spreading across Verona - and it is threatening to consume everyone.

    Do they have a future in this past?

    What Stephanie Thinks: If you recall my review for Kaufman's first in the Verona series, The Lens and the Looker, you remember I was highly disappointed with the young adult/fantasy/sci-fi/romance novel. The second book in the series, The Bronze and the Brimstone, is only slightly less displeasing; my reasons for scorning it are almost identical to those of the first book, but I do think this one's plot is more well-developed and exciting.

    My biggest problem is the contradictions the story poses. There are "adult" topics covered that wouldn't seem to appeal to teenagers. I'm not saying teenagers like pure content, but if soap-opera-esque romance is put into a book, it should specifically be romance, not young adult romance. On the other hand, another reason teens won't be able to relate to this book is because of the author's childish way of writing. I can better recomment Kaufman's voice and style to middle grade children, not to young adults. If you look at today's biggest young adult titles, none of them are written in an adult's style. They're written in a young adult's style (hence, the name), by an adult. This is difficult because most adults can't voice a teenager's thoughts. That's why they stick to writing regular fiction, not young adult fiction.

    Aside from Kaufman's writing style (which I complained about verbatim in my other review), I will say the plot of the sequel actually had me holding on. Unlike the predictable Romeo and Juliet fantasy in the first book, this one actually is original and marginally more enjoyable. I recommend reading this book for fantasy and time travel lovers, but not too enthusiastically.

    Radical Rating: 6 hearts- Would recommend to people.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1