Customer Reviews for

Broods of Fenrir

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Great Paranormal Read

Brand, a lone wolf who turned his back on his chance to be king, is at the very heart of this story. He fights to save the female members of the brood from torture and enslavement. The old Norse wolves live in ancient times with their barbaric methods, but ever since Br...
Brand, a lone wolf who turned his back on his chance to be king, is at the very heart of this story. He fights to save the female members of the brood from torture and enslavement. The old Norse wolves live in ancient times with their barbaric methods, but ever since Brand was a young pup he knew in his heart that this wasn’t right.


Brand chooses to turn his back on his kind due to fear of letting the wolf take control. Could he do better than his abusive and murderous sire? Would the other Earls heed to his ideals of equal rights? He fears the answer to be no. However, he quickly finds that he is not entirely alone with his radical ideals that would alter brood life forever. But will it be enough to end the slavery, torture and murderous old ways of the Brood of Fenrir? Will Brand be able to trust his inner wolf to carry out his plans if he succeeds?

The story itself is captivating and told primarily from Brand’s point of view. You’ll witness the trials and tribulations that both the human and wolf faces. While they are not human they don’t appear any different when not transformed. They also live for long periods, but are not immortal. The way of life within the brood is barbaric, where women and those whose inner wolf shows weakness, are often forced into slavery or sold off to different areas. Brand seeks to end this, but he also struggles internally to keep his own wolf at bay. He doesn’t want to hurt (or kill) anyone who doesn’t deserve it.

I thoroughly enjoyed the overall story, but I would of like a little more background on the wolves themselves. How did they come to be? How are they able to live amongst mankind when they live for centuries? Apart from that I thought this book was filled with action, mystery and just the right amount of passion. The outer and inner conflicts were balanced perfectly. This is a feat in itself as there were more than usual. However, the reader never gets lost.

The author, Coral Moore, wrote a great story. I hope to someday read more, and maybe the questions I had will be answered in another book. The way the story ended left it wide open for this possibility. *hint-hint* Originally Reviewed by Heather at Mother/Gamer/Writer

posted by Mother_Gamer_Writer on January 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ok

This is NOT a typical were genre book...far from it. The terms 'pack' is brood, 'alpha' is earl and a king is over the earls. The term 'sire' is ones father ( not who turns you as in vampire books). It was a little confusing with these terms at first since I read a lot ...
This is NOT a typical were genre book...far from it. The terms 'pack' is brood, 'alpha' is earl and a king is over the earls. The term 'sire' is ones father ( not who turns you as in vampire books). It was a little confusing with these terms at first since I read a lot of this genre.
This book is full of violence and especially disturbing violence against women. They are slaves or at best barterring 'items'. There is no sexy love scenes. Only much violence and power plays. Not a hot sexy hero either.
Besides the above, in its own way, it was a good book I would only read once.
Brand is technically the king but wont accept the title and tries to remain a loner outside the broods. There are others that wish for him to accept his title and change the broods violent ways. There are many interesting characters and plot is good. It is a well developed story. The author 'captures' your interest and even though I wanted to page through the violent scenes I couldnt. There are many significant people in the cast of characters. Ingrid being one of them. Although many believe her to be insane even at the end of the story the author leaves you wondering if she is 'crazy as a fox' as the saying goes.
If you are looking for something different than the norm in this genre...this is the book. I would not say it was the best I ever read but I am glad I read it once. If it not for the violence I would have given it 4 stars for the authors imaginative and flowing story with deep characters.

posted by 19106852 on June 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Ok

    This is NOT a typical were genre book...far from it. The terms 'pack' is brood, 'alpha' is earl and a king is over the earls. The term 'sire' is ones father ( not who turns you as in vampire books). It was a little confusing with these terms at first since I read a lot of this genre.
    This book is full of violence and especially disturbing violence against women. They are slaves or at best barterring 'items'. There is no sexy love scenes. Only much violence and power plays. Not a hot sexy hero either.
    Besides the above, in its own way, it was a good book I would only read once.
    Brand is technically the king but wont accept the title and tries to remain a loner outside the broods. There are others that wish for him to accept his title and change the broods violent ways. There are many interesting characters and plot is good. It is a well developed story. The author 'captures' your interest and even though I wanted to page through the violent scenes I couldnt. There are many significant people in the cast of characters. Ingrid being one of them. Although many believe her to be insane even at the end of the story the author leaves you wondering if she is 'crazy as a fox' as the saying goes.
    If you are looking for something different than the norm in this genre...this is the book. I would not say it was the best I ever read but I am glad I read it once. If it not for the violence I would have given it 4 stars for the authors imaginative and flowing story with deep characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Brandulf Gierson was raised by a bastard of a father, one who be

    Brandulf Gierson was raised by a bastard of a father, one who beat the females and males around him into submission in order to assert dominance and authority. His ruled with an iron fist until Brand killed him with his sire’s own sword…and then walked away from his destiny: to be King of the Broods of Fenrir, for the wolf who kills the King becomes the King. Except Brand doesn’t want to be King; in fact, he doesn’t want anything but to bow out of the broods and be left alone.
    Brand manages to avoid brood society for hundreds of years by closing himself off from them, but he can avoid their brutal politics no longer when two women he cares for are threatened and another innocent woman is attacked. At the risk of becoming like his father, he either must become King or let the broods fall even further into chaos, and that’s a chance even he may not be willing to take.

    Broods of Fenrir is a very in-your-face, somewhat violent shifter novel. It reminds me a little of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series, but instead of vhampires, we have werewolves. And these werewolves aren’t Jacob, folks, oh no. These werewolves are dominate, big, beastly men who will rip your head right off at just a slight provocation. They have a pecking order and you best follow it. Broods of Fenrir is a heated novel, both emotionally and sexually. Speaking of sex, there is some, but it isn’t over the top or really dirty. It was just enough to fit in with the flow of the story.
    There are three separate plot lines in Broods of Fenrir: 1) a rogue werewolf is murdering innocent victims, 2) Ingrid’s intention to force Brand to into his destiny as King, and 3) werewolves are being killed off or mysteriously disappearing. These three plot lines don’t seem to be integrated with each other (if they are, it wasn’t obvious to me) and I think the book would have been better served with a heavy focus on one, rather than all three. As it stands, the book starts off with a female brutally murdered by a werewolf, then shifts to Brand before finally focusing on the murdered wolves. It felt a bit disjointed, but I won’t say I didn’t enjoy it, because it was definitely intriguing.

    The world building is done rather well. Moore takes our world and adds her twist of werewolves and makes it completely believable. She even manages to humanize them while still making them seem like beastly, savage creatures. They seemed to hold on to these threads of humanity though sheer willpower, as if any slight or provocation would cause the beast to take over. The desperation Brand displays in wanting to retain his humanity and humility makes him appear to be especially thoughtful and powerful, even though his fellow males in the Brood seem to find that a weakness.

    The other characters are also engaging to the story: Ingrid is a particular wolf I still can’t quite get my head around. She was absolutely nuts but nothing she did seemed to be without some grand plan in mind. Dagny is a strong-willed character and I liked her a lot. She is a fighter that doesn’t take crap from anyone and she is willing to stand up to the men in the brood. I admired her. Alice struck me as somewhat weak, even though I know the author intended her to be that way. I had a hard time believing her nature just didn’t take over and allow her to be a bit more vicious.

    I would like to mention that when a certain death occurs in this story, it didn’t spark a lot of emotion from me, except maybe disbelief. I felt a little detached from that character throughout the novel so when they died, I thought to myself, “Meh” and then, “Really? They die??” I also would have really liked to see more interaction between Brand and Erik, especially as the two males are so completely dominant. I think that’s an avenue Moore can further explore in another novel. Erik could be a very interesting character, along with his wife, Bera. I have a real heart-love for strong, interesting characters.

    Overall, this was an enjoyable urban fantasy. I haven’t read many shape-shifter novels, but I am pretty fascinated with them so far and Broods of Fenrir did not disappoint me. Coral Moore did a great job keeping the story flowing and the characters interesting and I would recommend this to anyone who is a fan of this genre.

    I received this book for review from a tour host.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A stunning read!

    A stunning read! Tortured hero, ShapeShifter, Norse mythology mixed with the Urban Fantasy how could you not want to pick up this book? The author did an incredible job bringing the characters to life and the reality in which they live in. The pace and plot was so perfectly put together it will have you at the edge of your seat, holding on to your breathe. This was a great read and one I can see myself rereading. I do recommend it to any one who loves the harder side of the paranormal romance genre. -WereVampsRomance Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Paranormal Read

    Brand, a lone wolf who turned his back on his chance to be king, is at the very heart of this story. He fights to save the female members of the brood from torture and enslavement. The old Norse wolves live in ancient times with their barbaric methods, but ever since Brand was a young pup he knew in his heart that this wasn’t right.


    Brand chooses to turn his back on his kind due to fear of letting the wolf take control. Could he do better than his abusive and murderous sire? Would the other Earls heed to his ideals of equal rights? He fears the answer to be no. However, he quickly finds that he is not entirely alone with his radical ideals that would alter brood life forever. But will it be enough to end the slavery, torture and murderous old ways of the Brood of Fenrir? Will Brand be able to trust his inner wolf to carry out his plans if he succeeds?

    The story itself is captivating and told primarily from Brand’s point of view. You’ll witness the trials and tribulations that both the human and wolf faces. While they are not human they don’t appear any different when not transformed. They also live for long periods, but are not immortal. The way of life within the brood is barbaric, where women and those whose inner wolf shows weakness, are often forced into slavery or sold off to different areas. Brand seeks to end this, but he also struggles internally to keep his own wolf at bay. He doesn’t want to hurt (or kill) anyone who doesn’t deserve it.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the overall story, but I would of like a little more background on the wolves themselves. How did they come to be? How are they able to live amongst mankind when they live for centuries? Apart from that I thought this book was filled with action, mystery and just the right amount of passion. The outer and inner conflicts were balanced perfectly. This is a feat in itself as there were more than usual. However, the reader never gets lost.

    The author, Coral Moore, wrote a great story. I hope to someday read more, and maybe the questions I had will be answered in another book. The way the story ended left it wide open for this possibility. *hint-hint* Originally Reviewed by Heather at Mother/Gamer/Writer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Highly recommend

    If you enjoy paranormal shape-shifters than you should read this novel. This author has made the storyline so believable that you almost believe they exist in the world.There is murder, love, and battles throughout the story. If you love werewolves then this is the read for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The change of pace from everyday wolf legend mixed with Norse my

    The change of pace from everyday wolf legend mixed with Norse mythology is fresh and exciting.

    Fate seemed to be against Brand Geirson when he was made king; there were so many things about his world he just did not want to deal with. Brand brings an unusual intenseness to this story making it a fast paced and exhilarating read. Alice’s timid nature bugged me and even though she was so ‘nice’ I did not find her character to be appealing at all.

    Note: I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    ?

    Different than any were book i've ever read but ok.SM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Just an outstanding book

    I just finished this book like 2-4 minutes ago its really really good. Totally reccomend to all of yall!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Brand is an amazing character - he mixed just enough of the broo

    Brand is an amazing character - he mixed just enough of the broody werewolf with the protecting and honorable hero to make him deep enough to really really like.  The relationship he has with the other shapeshifters is quite an interesting one.  As the one meant to rule them all, they should honor him, but since he threw it all away and lives without a pack of his own, they all look down on him at the same time.  This causes him to become the target of a female wolf from his past who is just a bit psychotic and crazy.




    When her plots place his best friend and new love of his life deep into danger, Brand grabs control of the broods to save their lives.  Quite adventurous for a paranormal romance, it was very hard to put down and had me rooting for all the good guys in just the right places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I received a copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review

    I received a copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review. Brand Geirson is next in line to rule. Unfortunately, he doesn’t want to rule, he doesn’t want anything but to be left alone. But while avoiding his brood, a werewolf has killed a human and he must return. This book is fast paced and a great read, although very violent. This is a book certainly not for kids, however, if you’re an adult and into werewolves and the paranormal, then this is a pretty interesting book for you and definitely worth adding to your “to be read” pile”.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    RW BUCK

    good read. entertaining, flowed nicely, was enguaging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Broods of Fenrir can't decide if it's urban fantasy or horror, s

    Broods of Fenrir can't decide if it's urban fantasy or horror, so of course, I loved it. Brand is the rightful king of the Broods (lines of werewolves) but after growing up under the cruel rule of his father he rejects the Broods to live a solitary life. Until they force him back in with his one weakness—protecting women. Of course one has to wonder how a man raised in such a horrible, violent environment manages to survive with any respect for women (or men). But let that question drift away with others like ″Werewolves?″

    Broods is engaging, vivid and energetic. And moody. Moody, moody, sexy alpha males, barely holding onto their rage, plus a one rightful king to save them all plot line and brightly realized characters (and a spice of Norse mythology) make for an enjoyable read. Definitely recommended.
    Contains: Rape Situations, violence, language, sex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely terrific story!!! Brand Geirson is a werewolf. And f

    Absolutely terrific story!!!

    Brand Geirson is a werewolf. And for his “day job” he is a security guard. He has basically severed many ties with the packs, which in this book are broods. He has a few close friends, and that’s about it. He’s a loner. And, by all rights, he should be king. Yep, king.

    So this story starts with Brand being called to a homicide scene. The woman has clearly been bitten by a werewolf. This starts the series of events that lead to a completely powerful and beautiful story.

    Power. It’s a strange thing. If anyone knows me, they know I like to read about werewolves. They are nearly my favorite, and some days they are absolutely my favorite. I like to read about the ever present alpha male. ahem, Alpha Male. I think the Alpha Male is such an interesting character. He’s the strongest, the smartest, most cunning, most loving, most …everything male. Well, in Coral Moore’s Broods of Fenrir, Brand is that Alpha Male. And then multiply that by a thousand. Heck, he should be king, if he’d just decide he actually wants to be. Everyone else already thinks of him in that capacity. So this story isn’t just about a murder mystery, or a werewolf brood, or Brand becoming king. It is about this character, this man, this wolf, coming to terms with who he is, where he is, and growing about a million percent as a soul within a few hundred pages. Daunting, I know. But it is totally accomplished in this book.

    Am I gushing? Yeah, a little bit. Ok, let’s talk about power. No, not power. POWER. Cause that is what got me so excited in this book. The sheer force of power this man has. I can’t even describe it. When I was taking my notes I tried several times to come up with something that would convey his power. The guy is strong physically, yes. Mentally, yes. But beyond that, there is this animalistic …push. There is a scene in a garage that will have you on the edge of the seat, waiting to exhale. And it perfectly illustrates the sheer power within this man. I mean come on; he is supposed to be king. This ain’t no ordinary alpha wolf. His power is awesome, and I don’t mean “cool”, I mean it produces awe. You are struck with the cement wall, the iron sledge hammer that is Brand. If anyone out there has some fan art of this man, please show me!!

    Ok, enough of Brand (but not really!). So this is a werewolf shifter book. But one thing I noticed is that the author doesn’t have these people shifting into wolves every other page. Nope. Some people don’t even shift at all in the course of the book. But yet there is no mistake they are werewolves, and it is conveyed beautifully. When the people in the Broods of Fenrir give up their human control to the wolf, the wolf calls the shots. The wolf is in control. So every person in this book learns a great deal of self-control in order to lead a normal life. It’s a very interesting take on the werewolf aspect, and I really enjoyed it.

    Let’s talk about the other characters. There are quite a few, and wow, what a cast. The author really fleshed out some very dynamic and interesting supporting characters in this book. You have Alice, whom is weak, kind of like the runt of the litter. And Erik, the alpha male in his brood (um, and yet not king!!), who struggles to keep control of so many things. Dagny, who I loved, then hated and then loved all over again. Ingrid, Dagny’s mother, who is such a sadistic piece of work you wonder how she has managed to stay alive without getting murdered for so long.

    This story will bring a smile. It will heat you up. It will break your heart, and you may even drop a tear (or more!). But it is beautiful writing around a beautiful story, and it should not be missed. And then you have the familial bond between these wolves that is beyond regular comprehension. They are linked heart, mind and soul. Emotions are shared. Love is duplicated, fear and anger are magnified. Somewhere in the midst of tragedy, Brand finds love in a female wolf. She is a formidable match for him, stronger than most males in her brood. But finding love isn’t on Brand’s agenda. You find yourself hoping he can overcome his internal obstacles and take the jump, because you quickly grow attached to this man, and you want him to be happy.

    So I won this book from Library Thing. And then I signed up to do a review for it with Bewitching Blog Tours. Everything in the booky universe was telling me to read this book, and I am so glad I did. Once I started reading it, I barely put it down. By the time I got to chapter six I was online seeking out more of this book. And good news, there are two more in the Broods of Fenrir series. I’ve already got them on my kindle, waiting to read as soon as I get a chance. The titles are Feral Attraction and Chance Encounter. Both are short stories, one is about Brand and one is about Erik.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1