Customer Reviews for

Brother, I'm Dying

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Good, but sad

    This was a good look into a typical Haitian American experience. It was very informative, well-written, but sad. I'm anxious to read her other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enlightening

    Having only and outsider's viewpoint --obtained from major media accounts -- of the events in Haiti as well as the treatment of Haitian immigrants in this country, I found this book to be thought provoking and an eye opener. While on one front, this is a book about a daughter and niece's love of her family and the sacrifices immigrant parents make to pave a better life for their children, it also uncovers the dirty secret of the way we treat certain immigrant populations in this country and makes one wonder if we are still the "land of opportunity and aslyum" to the world's downtrodden, or if, in fact, we seek immigrants with money and prestige over those seeking a safe and peaceful home.

    Ms. Danticat's writing style draws you in immediately and the book's pace keeps you entranced. I can't wait to read her fiction based on this marvelous family story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    Compelling...A must-read

    This is Edwidge Danticat's most courageous and compelling work yet. Danticat tells more than a story about her childhood in Haiti and coming of age in the U.S. She beautifully folds into her story the stories of her family members, and she does so through their eyes and individual voices. In recounting her family's history and future, Danticat gently reminds us of the promise that America has held out for immigrants since the founding of this nation, while simultaneously confronting the reneging of that promise through hostile and inhumane immigration policies in recent years. In sum, Danticat's deeply personal and moving story is about how hope transforms tragedy and loss. I was not able to put it down. This is definitely a must-read book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Merci Beaucoup

    I too am a writer – or, as yet unpublished, an aspiring writer. I have reached the point in my endeavors to contact an author whose work has inspired me or has in some other way touched me. I have enjoyed a great many of your books. I today finished Brother I’m Dying. My sister and I lost our father to cancer just over a month ago. My wife thought the read would be of some comfort. I have since added it to my list of tough yet necessary reads, alongside A Lesson Before Dying by Earnest J. Gaines.
    One side of my father’s family emigrated from Guyana (or British Guiana as his grandparents had known it); my wife’s family is from the Bahamas. While the storyline touches on many things, in part paying tribute to your Caribbean heritage, imparting insight into the Haitian/Haitian-American experience as do many of your works. Brother I’m Dying largely centers on the loss of your father, your uncle. Today it is that shared experience of losing someone so dear, two fathers according to the account so eloquently portrayed in the book, which inspired me to write.
    It is not part of my culture, a native tongue inherited from one or the other of my parents. Enfin, je parle francais. Pa creole, je regrette. Mais francais, un peu. En votre langue, je tiens a vous dire – Merci, beaucoup.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Thank you, Ms Danticat

    I've been to Haiti 5 times now. Edwidge helps me to understand why this amazing country is where it is today. She speaks to my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    An inspiring story.

    After reading Brother I'm Dying I feel like a better reader. The book had great word choices and wonderful comparisons. It should give hope to people whose families are going through hard times. How one family and come together and stay together when they find out that there dad is dying. Even for the daughter to be so strong after not seeing her dad in a long time then going back to new York to find out that he is dying. She later found out that she was pregnant and had to deal with the exciting news knowing she was going to have a baby with her wonderful husband but trying to deal with her sadden family knowing her father was going to die. She has to other brothers to rely on but they are just as upset they are trying to all help out the mom while she's dealing with her husband of several years dying from cancer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    good for book discussions

    My book discussion read this and it gave us a lot to talk about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    Her story hits home

    I spend my Sunday afternoon finish Ms. Danticat's book because I could not put it down. I find myself inspired and thinking that this could be my story or any other immigrant's story. Her style is simple and accessible to all while she deals in complex and often emotionally charged situations and relationships. She brings me back to my childhood in Haiti and to my life here as a Haitian-American adult. My heart aches for her and her family but this is not a tragic story. This is a story of childhood, love, perseverance and a bright promising future with Mira. She's managed to produce yet another masterpiece. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in the story of a little girl coming of age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    When I read Danticat, I deliberately read, and even reread, lines slowly--drag them out--like an infrequent amazing dessert that I want to last and last. I literally savor words, phrases, and ideas that enable her life's experiences to setttle immovably into my thoughts and emotions. In Brother, I'm Dying, Danticat's writing breeds inclusivity to her personhood. I, the reader, become the closest of...a friend, a relative, a part of her. This beautiful tribute tells of some of the worst of times, unbelievably horrible and fatal injustices, as well as the beautiful times of love. I am a Virginian who, through the writing of Edwidge Danticat, has grown to love the people of Haiti and the Haitian Diaspora as my own. Her writing promotes love, appreciation, and a sisterhood/brotherhood of Haitians and the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2