Customer Reviews for

Brother Odd (Odd Thomas Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 386 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(203)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

This book has indeed rendered me speechless. I even shed a few tears at one point. When you read it, you'll know the precise moment I speak of. By far, this is my favourite of the series! I read this one in one day because I just couldn't manage to put it down. Was eag...
This book has indeed rendered me speechless. I even shed a few tears at one point. When you read it, you'll know the precise moment I speak of. By far, this is my favourite of the series! I read this one in one day because I just couldn't manage to put it down. Was eager to find out what the next page will reveal. I highly recommend reading these!

posted by Linux on September 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great new characters!

It wasn't the plot that kept me reading but the likable, funny and well developed characters of Brother Knuckles and the mysterious, witty and unpredictable Rodion Romanovich.

I really liked the fact that Koontz goes back to creating wonderful characters and dialog b...
It wasn't the plot that kept me reading but the likable, funny and well developed characters of Brother Knuckles and the mysterious, witty and unpredictable Rodion Romanovich.

I really liked the fact that Koontz goes back to creating wonderful characters and dialog but sadly he didn't utilize Odd's ability to see the dead as much as I expected and enjoy.

However, Odd Thomas still gives me enough promise and excitement that I'm eager to start book #4 hoping it will head back into the direction of Odd Thomas #1. He's just too likable of a character not to want to read more!
xoxo_leigh

posted by xoxo_leigh on March 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 387 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great new characters!

    It wasn't the plot that kept me reading but the likable, funny and well developed characters of Brother Knuckles and the mysterious, witty and unpredictable Rodion Romanovich.

    I really liked the fact that Koontz goes back to creating wonderful characters and dialog but sadly he didn't utilize Odd's ability to see the dead as much as I expected and enjoy.

    However, Odd Thomas still gives me enough promise and excitement that I'm eager to start book #4 hoping it will head back into the direction of Odd Thomas #1. He's just too likable of a character not to want to read more!
    xoxo_leigh

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wow!

    This book has indeed rendered me speechless. I even shed a few tears at one point. When you read it, you'll know the precise moment I speak of. By far, this is my favourite of the series! I read this one in one day because I just couldn't manage to put it down. Was eager to find out what the next page will reveal. I highly recommend reading these!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Odd Thomas fails to let down again

    Brother Odd is like a true sequel in comparison to the interludesque Forever Odd, and by each chapters end you wont be able to put it to rest. If your a fan of the first book or any of Koontzs' plethora of other offerings theres no dissapointment here if your looking for a deep story filled with revealing backstory and characters as well as writhing suspense and horror.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    A good read

    This book grabbed me right away. It's not a work of classic literature, but it does what it is supposed to do and it engages and entertains.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Can i get an "AMEN!!!!!"

    This is a really good read. So good befoe you know it your done. What would you do if you had a room where all you had to do is think of something and it appears? Add some Nuns and Munks a few ghosts with Odd right in the middle of it. You get............well a great story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than the second

    First off, this book can't even compare to the first Book in this series. However, I feel that since I read the third directly after the second, it boosted my opinion about Brother Odd. The second one was horrible in plot and writing style.

    I feel Brother Odd does a little bit better as there are some new characters and the plot is slightly better. Unfortunately, it is a disaster when comparing to Odd Thomas.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    All of the Odd Thomas books were fantastic!

    Read all 4 if u can! You won't beable to put them down!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Yet again Odd is asked to do and he does....

    Yet again Mr. Koontz shows us Odd's unwavering selflessness as he puts everyone else ahead of his own 'wants' r/e: his broken heart, his yearning for a little peace- or any semblance of normality in his life. As well as the other 'unsung heroes' we are introduced to in this portion of the 'Odd' series. The book is so descriptive (as is almost all of Mr. Koontz work) you get in and you'll be there till the "read" is finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    Non Stop

    This chapter in the Odd Thomas collection is great. Once you pick it up you cannot put it down. It is packed with the twists and turns that we have came to expect from our friend Odd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    Loveable, Intriguing Characters, but a Little Weak on Plot

    I loved the first Odd Thomas book I read--so much so, that I visited the library to find another in the series. I don't think this one was the second, so perhaps it being a bit out of order made things a little less enjoyable. Odd Thomas is a wonderful, funny character, as is Rodion Romanovich, Brother Knuckles, and a few other key characters. In fact it was the characters and witty dialogue much more than the plot that kept me reading. I'm curious if others felt the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    Bone Monsters vs. Odd Thomas

    A shadowy figure roams the night once again, known as a bodach. Odd Thomas's attempt to live in peace for awhile is abruptly ruined. In Brother Odd by Dean Koontz, Odd is faced with a new challenge and the pressure of saving many lives. Koontz leads you through an interesting adventure in this third book of the series.

    Odd Thomas decides to get away from the busy town of Pico Mundo and moves into St. Bartholomew's Abbey. Trying to avoid his special gift, he attempts to live in peace at the monastery. Everything is going fine until he sees the dreaded bodach lurking in the night. Odd goes looking for a reason why the bodach would be there. He then finds a monk is missing and is attacked by a mysterious assailant. Koontz leads you through an adventure similar to the first book of the series, Odd Thomas but instead of a human being the bad guy; bone-monsters horrify the children of the abbey. Odd comes to find out these monsters were created by the "neverwas" or known as Brother John. Does Odd defeat the neverwas and save the children of St. Bartholomew's Abbey or is this the end of Odd Thomas? That's for you to find out.

    I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the series and enjoy mystery, adventure books. This book is a fairly easy read and keeps you guessing until the end. Koontz throws a twist in this book and I think it makes the series more interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Third Time's A Charm

    For a while now, I've been interested in Dean Koontz and his unique writing style. His stories are always a good read due to the fact that he puts so much information into his books.<BR/><BR/>The Odd Thomas series has always been a series of interest for me and I read the books "Odd Thomas" and "Forever Odd" in about two days flat. When I heard that Koontz wrote another book to go with the previous two, I flipped and decided that I needed to get it as soon as possible. I found out that my friend had it, so I borrowed the book from him for an English project and found that I liked it better than the first two.<BR/><BR/>This book was very well written and he researched the topic of quantum physics was well researched. I found that it made me think and it made me wonder whether or not these kinds of things could actually ever happen.<BR/><BR/>I think that this book is very apprpriate for any avid Koontz reader over the age of 14 and has read the other "Odd Thomas" books. I deffinately recommend this book for anyone who would be interested in continuing a brilliant journey through the world of Dean Koontz.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Brother Odd (Odd Thomas Series #3)

    Terrible reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Great

    An unexpected turn in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Odd Thomas can see and communicate with the 'lingering' dead and

    Odd Thomas can see and communicate with the 'lingering' dead and also see some creatures (possibly supernatural, but perhaps something else entirely) he calls Bodachs, who are attracted to up-coming tragic events. In this book Odd is still recovering from the emotional impact left from a mass shooting in a mall and the death of his long-time love &amp; fiance, Stormy. Leaving his hometown of Pico Mundo where the events took place, Odd is spending time in a monastary/orphanage in the mountains. He is also spending time helping in the monastary's kitchen.

    As he awaits watching his first snowfall, Odd notices several Bodach that have also been sighted by the dog Boo that roams the monastary. When the two discover the Bodachs hovering over several children, Odd knows that he must reveal his gifts and his knowledge of possible events to the monks &amp; nuns to care for the children. It would also be helpful to know something about the Russian who is also staying at the monastary. Is he really just a Librarian, or is there more to him then he lets on. As the story progresses we learn a lot more about the pasts of the other people who have come to the monastary for a variety of reasons and discover that something horrible is stalking the grounds and walls of the monastary. Can Odd find enough allies to aide him when the confrontation with the unholy begins?

    As usual in the Odd Thomas stories, Koontz has Odd telling the story in flashback as he writes of it for his friend and benefactor the detective/mystery writer, Little Ozzie. In this way we get some foreshadowing of events, but the author keeps enough hidden from the reader that there are still surprises. While Odd is out of his usual surroundings, he is accompanied by the ghost of Elvis who may finally be ready to move on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    In Patri Et Filli

    This is an awesome addition to the Odd Thomas series! If you like surprising plot twists, and being led to sympathize with the bad guy at times, by all means read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Odd Thomas is an annoying character; he pretends to humility but

    Odd Thomas is an annoying character; he pretends to humility but is devoured by pride about his so-called gift.  the behavior of the other characters defies belief also; in what community of sensible adults would an uneducated, unemployed young twetp be deferred to and his apparently senseless orders followed, asthey are in this book?  I son't care how many police chiefs (also unbelievable) vouch for him.  on the other hand, I keep reading the books, so something about them must be right.  If I ever figure out what it is, I'll let you know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Another awesome Odd Thomas adventure!

    This third book about Odd Thomas is just as amazing as the other two. I guess Mr. Koontz has a new dedicated follower. I am so excited about reading "Odd Hours" now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    Really well done continuation of the series. Instead getting st

    Really well done continuation of the series. Instead getting stale,
    Koontz wrote the Odd character with more depth and introduced new
    characters/friends. Also, instead of keeping a formula, I appreciate
    the the Bodachs and impending deaths (as goes with all the Odd series)
    wasn't typical - definitely a new twist. This was a vacation read and
    just perfect for a summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love the Odd Thomas character, I have read all of the books!

    I love the Odd Thomas character, I have read all of the books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 387 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20