BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Brother Odd (Odd Thomas Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 390 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wow!

This book has indeed rendered me speechless. I even shed a few tears at one point. When you read it, you'll know the precise moment I speak of. By far, this is my favourite of the series! I read this one in one day because I just couldn't manage to put it down. Was eag...
This book has indeed rendered me speechless. I even shed a few tears at one point. When you read it, you'll know the precise moment I speak of. By far, this is my favourite of the series! I read this one in one day because I just couldn't manage to put it down. Was eager to find out what the next page will reveal. I highly recommend reading these!

posted by Linux on September 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great new characters!

It wasn't the plot that kept me reading but the likable, funny and well developed characters of Brother Knuckles and the mysterious, witty and unpredictable Rodion Romanovich.

I really liked the fact that Koontz goes back to creating wonderful characters and dialog b...
It wasn't the plot that kept me reading but the likable, funny and well developed characters of Brother Knuckles and the mysterious, witty and unpredictable Rodion Romanovich.

I really liked the fact that Koontz goes back to creating wonderful characters and dialog but sadly he didn't utilize Odd's ability to see the dead as much as I expected and enjoy.

However, Odd Thomas still gives me enough promise and excitement that I'm eager to start book #4 hoping it will head back into the direction of Odd Thomas #1. He's just too likable of a character not to want to read more!
xoxo_leigh

posted by xoxo_leigh on March 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    A good read

    This book grabbed me right away. It's not a work of classic literature, but it does what it is supposed to do and it engages and entertains.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    Non Stop

    This chapter in the Odd Thomas collection is great. Once you pick it up you cannot put it down. It is packed with the twists and turns that we have came to expect from our friend Odd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    Bone Monsters vs. Odd Thomas

    A shadowy figure roams the night once again, known as a bodach. Odd Thomas's attempt to live in peace for awhile is abruptly ruined. In Brother Odd by Dean Koontz, Odd is faced with a new challenge and the pressure of saving many lives. Koontz leads you through an interesting adventure in this third book of the series.

    Odd Thomas decides to get away from the busy town of Pico Mundo and moves into St. Bartholomew's Abbey. Trying to avoid his special gift, he attempts to live in peace at the monastery. Everything is going fine until he sees the dreaded bodach lurking in the night. Odd goes looking for a reason why the bodach would be there. He then finds a monk is missing and is attacked by a mysterious assailant. Koontz leads you through an adventure similar to the first book of the series, Odd Thomas but instead of a human being the bad guy; bone-monsters horrify the children of the abbey. Odd comes to find out these monsters were created by the "neverwas" or known as Brother John. Does Odd defeat the neverwas and save the children of St. Bartholomew's Abbey or is this the end of Odd Thomas? That's for you to find out.

    I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the series and enjoy mystery, adventure books. This book is a fairly easy read and keeps you guessing until the end. Koontz throws a twist in this book and I think it makes the series more interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Third Time's A Charm

    For a while now, I've been interested in Dean Koontz and his unique writing style. His stories are always a good read due to the fact that he puts so much information into his books.<BR/><BR/>The Odd Thomas series has always been a series of interest for me and I read the books "Odd Thomas" and "Forever Odd" in about two days flat. When I heard that Koontz wrote another book to go with the previous two, I flipped and decided that I needed to get it as soon as possible. I found out that my friend had it, so I borrowed the book from him for an English project and found that I liked it better than the first two.<BR/><BR/>This book was very well written and he researched the topic of quantum physics was well researched. I found that it made me think and it made me wonder whether or not these kinds of things could actually ever happen.<BR/><BR/>I think that this book is very apprpriate for any avid Koontz reader over the age of 14 and has read the other "Odd Thomas" books. I deffinately recommend this book for anyone who would be interested in continuing a brilliant journey through the world of Dean Koontz.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Great

    An unexpected turn in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Odd Thomas can see and communicate with the 'lingering' dead and

    Odd Thomas can see and communicate with the 'lingering' dead and also see some creatures (possibly supernatural, but perhaps something else entirely) he calls Bodachs, who are attracted to up-coming tragic events. In this book Odd is still recovering from the emotional impact left from a mass shooting in a mall and the death of his long-time love &amp; fiance, Stormy. Leaving his hometown of Pico Mundo where the events took place, Odd is spending time in a monastary/orphanage in the mountains. He is also spending time helping in the monastary's kitchen.

    As he awaits watching his first snowfall, Odd notices several Bodach that have also been sighted by the dog Boo that roams the monastary. When the two discover the Bodachs hovering over several children, Odd knows that he must reveal his gifts and his knowledge of possible events to the monks &amp; nuns to care for the children. It would also be helpful to know something about the Russian who is also staying at the monastary. Is he really just a Librarian, or is there more to him then he lets on. As the story progresses we learn a lot more about the pasts of the other people who have come to the monastary for a variety of reasons and discover that something horrible is stalking the grounds and walls of the monastary. Can Odd find enough allies to aide him when the confrontation with the unholy begins?

    As usual in the Odd Thomas stories, Koontz has Odd telling the story in flashback as he writes of it for his friend and benefactor the detective/mystery writer, Little Ozzie. In this way we get some foreshadowing of events, but the author keeps enough hidden from the reader that there are still surprises. While Odd is out of his usual surroundings, he is accompanied by the ghost of Elvis who may finally be ready to move on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    Really well done continuation of the series. Instead getting st

    Really well done continuation of the series. Instead getting stale,
    Koontz wrote the Odd character with more depth and introduced new
    characters/friends. Also, instead of keeping a formula, I appreciate
    the the Bodachs and impending deaths (as goes with all the Odd series)
    wasn't typical - definitely a new twist. This was a vacation read and
    just perfect for a summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Odd, And Then Some

    Brother Odd begins well, the unusual setting contributing effectively to the mood as the hero, Odd Thomas, sits in the window of a dark monastery, watching the night, waiting to catch his first sight of snow. And Mr. Koontz doesn't disappoint the reader by allowing the Odd one to linger in peace for too long, robbing the story of conflict. As it should, the trouble starts right away.

    For me, however, as the book eased into the middle, the story became somewhat diluted, not enough for me to lose interest, but enough for me to wonder if Koontz had not lost his rhythm for a moment. He began to delve into the humor side of his writing style, something he typically does with a near genius touch, but here he tips the balance too far. I began to suspect he wasn't sure where he was going with the story at this point.

    Near the ending, the story again begins to build up steam, but the final action scene is rendered somewhat ineffective when the writer decides to do things a little differently. Throughout the book a mysterious character keeps both the reader and the hero on edge, wondering just what his true nature is. During the climactic scene, however, this character takes charge, overshadowing the hero. I'm surprised the editors did not catch this. Whether the day is saved, ruined or rendered indifferent, it should be the hero who effects this change.

    For me, after the climactic scene, my interest was revived as we are once again solidly with Odd Thomas as the story segues nicely into the next Odd adventure.

    - Bob Avey, author of Beneath a Buried House

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the odd thomas saga continues with another great adventure.

    dean koontz returns with his greatest creation. brother odd is a very original story starring the most likable charicter in todays literature. though not as good as "odd thomas" dean koontz takes you on an action packed science fiction thriller with his uncanny knack for detail. it will have you anxiously waiting to read the next installment in the odd thomas series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    What the heck was that!

    I love the Odd Thomas series, and I love Koontz's writing style. This book has both, oviously. Koontz creats other dimensions to Odd and each reader will have to decide for themselves if they are comfortable with them. On the whole, I did, with a couple of exceptions, but then, welcome to reading. Read romance novels if you want things to always be the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    Odd Thomas' mountain odyssey

    I agree with some other reviewers that the third Odd installment is better than the second but not quite as good as the first. Still, even Koontz' lesser efforts trump most other major authors' best. In 'Brother Odd' our favorite psychic has made his way to a monastery deep in the Sierras, trying to recharge body and soul after the unfortunate events of the last two books, only to contend once again with the familiar bodachs as well as a more mysterious and evil presence. Odd Thomas is such a humble and engaging hero, it's hard not to identify with him despite his abundant quirks and his supernatural abilities. Odd fans will be glad he's back, and root for his quick return. And the blizzard set piece in 'Brother Odd' is worth the price of admission alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    Crazy but hilarious with suspense

    What a combo.If you like humour and suspense some cry tearing moments to make you realize you're normal...read it. I only wish they try to make his movies. However, if you begin with this book please try to go back and read his others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    Ending stretches to much

    I couldn't put the book down from begining to end. Its a great story. It takes you in a direction that you would never expect. I love this book but the climax stretches a little to far for belief. There is only so much that the mind will allow. But the end lets you know that another Odd story will be coming, that is exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    Great book but left open!

    Koontz writes another great Odd book. He talks more about Elvis, a dog, and another great performer/singer to be named at the end. He leaves it wide open for a 4th book which I read on his web site he is really considering doing. The ending is good with the action we are use to with a twist. Great book, now read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Dean Koontz doesn't stop

    Being a HUGE fan of Dean Koontz, I can't wait until the release of Brother Odd. I've read the other two books, and they were entertaining, funny, and I couldn't put them down for a minute! Please, please, please keep them coming Dean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Koontz is a great author always

    Koontz focuses on character development & this is some of his best work. I would recommend Between Shadow & Light for a taste of something that may be even more unique than what Koontz has to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2006

    strongly recommended book

    if you read the first two books to this trilogy than you know that this is going to be a great book. cant wait for its release!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7