Customer Reviews for

The Brotherhood (Precinct 11 Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it!

Very interesting book! Got my attention from page one and couldn't wait to keep going. This went into a territory I know nothing about such as cops and gangs. I learned a lot and enjoyed it. It was a great story of how God brings you through the hard times and will ...
Very interesting book! Got my attention from page one and couldn't wait to keep going. This went into a territory I know nothing about such as cops and gangs. I learned a lot and enjoyed it. It was a great story of how God brings you through the hard times and will be by your side no matter what. I do hope there is another book that will tell whats next for Boone.

posted by tatormc on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

To me it was a Bible study masquerading as a police procedural. I was disappointed, and glad it was a free book.

posted by dwgizmo on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Enjoyed it!

    Very interesting book! Got my attention from page one and couldn't wait to keep going. This went into a territory I know nothing about such as cops and gangs. I learned a lot and enjoyed it. It was a great story of how God brings you through the hard times and will be by your side no matter what. I do hope there is another book that will tell whats next for Boone.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Disappointing

    To me it was a Bible study masquerading as a police procedural. I was disappointed, and glad it was a free book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Absolutely delicious!I have read all the 11th precinct novels and loved them. It has mystery, deception,love and of course religion. Must read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Important life lessons to be learned

    Boone Drake is a police officer in the Chicago Police Department. Having all that he could ever ask for, he is married to the woman of his dreams and together, they have an adorable toddling son. Boone also has an on-track career plan that will see him rise up the police job ranks. Just when life is as good as it could ever be, tragedy strikes and Boone's world is turned upside down. Stripped of everything he had worked hard to achieve, Boone has to learn to depend solely on God even when it is hard to comprehend why some things we hate happen in life. The Brotherhood wasn't a very intense read due to the lapses in it. There were parts in the book where the action wasn't as much as I had hope it would be. The beginning and end of the book was predictable. But what made the book different and interesting to read was the tragedy. It was twist that was both unique and unexpected. One would have expected it to be something that would merely rock the main character's world but no, it is a twist that literally tears apart and removes everything from the character. The book also teaches us that life is not always smooth-sailing and things we work for our whole lives to achieve can be taken away from us in just a moment. Important life lessons about dealing with tragedy and how God never leaves us even though we sometimes go astray from Him are also dealt with in the book. Overall, The Brotherhood has a remarkably well plot that makes the book a pretty riveting read despite a few uninteresting parts. There will be two sequels to The Brotherhood and I am looking forward to reading them.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    My fave so far!!

    I have read many of Jerry B.Jenkins' books and I am a fan but this book was by far the best yet for me. I was drawn in within the first few pages and I shiver to recall the events that led to Boone's darkest hours. Boone's struggle with his faith is something you can relate to if you have ever had a loss in your life and remembering that God is always there can help with that struggle. I received a complimentary copy of The Brotherhood via Tyndale House Publishers for purposes of this review, however all opinions are my own.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    The Brotherhood - First in a new series by Jerry B. Jenkins

    The Brotherhood is a police thriller, complete with gangs, organized crime, guns, drugs and the cops who put their lives on the line every day.

    It's also a book that doesn't shy away from a true-to-life crisis of faith. Jenkins explores the hard questions. Why does God allow tragedy? How much control do we have over our lives? Why aren't good people rewarded for doing good while bad people seem to be rewarded for evil? Can God forgive those who have committed the most heinous crimes? And why would He bother?

    I appreciated the way Jenkins answers these tough questions. They aren't answered with neat, tidy platitudes. They are wrestled with by characters grasping at faith when life has thrown them to the ground. These characters-and their faith or lack thereof-are real.

    The plot follows Boone Drake as he deals with his own personal trauma while planning a dangerous operation that could cripple organized crime in Chicago. The tension and suspense escalate to a satisfying conclusion - with plenty of room to continue the story into book two of the series.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Ok read

    This is the first book that I have read by Jerry Jenkins and I may read the next book in this series to give him another try.

    I felt as if I was being preached to throughout the majority of the book. It is a story about Boones struggles with his faith with some police work as filler.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Wonderful book

    I loved this book. If you loved the left behind books you will love this book. But now I can't wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Great Mystery and Thriller

    This was a great Christian Thriller. Who knew Jerry Jenkins could write about cops? I am impressed and will read more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Kinda dull

    Started out ok...sad. but turned out to be pretty undeveloped n dull ending. Free tho...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not My Cup of Tea

    I think this book would appeal to evangelical Christians, but I just couldn't get into it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Had me on the edge of my seat

    This book had me on the edge of my seat and my heart pounding!!! This was my first time reading this author... this is the first book in the series . I cant wait to read the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Loved it

    It's sad, but i really enjoyed it. Waiting to read the next one :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Average but could be better

    The storyline is a good theme but in my opinion the religious content is over-powering. The tragedy which occurs to the main character and his subsequent climb from the abyss are overshadowed by the religiousness and though I have no problem with religion per se this book has to much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Recommend

    This was my first e read. It was predictable, but I enjoyed it. Good to read something with a positive message yet be entertained.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Gung Ho

    If your into the cops and the Lord this is the book for you

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Suspense and Thought-Provoking

    Jerry Jenkins has another winner in his new 'Precinct 11' series debut. The main character, Boone Drake, is a young cop with a family, and faces some challenges and questions in life that any one of us could be facing: How real is my faith? What does God expect of me? What is forgiveness all about? As Drake works through life's trials, and gets put into tests as a cop, he begins to question himself, his partners, and God. He must finally find the ultimate answer to: Does God really give us new beginnings and second (third, fourth.) chances? This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers; it is one I highly recommend for those who enjoy suspense and thought-provoking reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Great book

    Really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    very good

    all 3 series very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Great Book!

    Really enjoyed this book by Mr Jenkins. Reminded me of years gone by when I read his Margo Mystery Series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 129 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7