Customer Reviews for

The Brotherhood (Precinct 11 Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 129 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed it!

Very interesting book! Got my attention from page one and couldn't wait to keep going. This went into a territory I know nothing about such as cops and gangs. I learned a lot and enjoyed it. It was a great story of how God brings you through the hard times and will ...
Very interesting book! Got my attention from page one and couldn't wait to keep going. This went into a territory I know nothing about such as cops and gangs. I learned a lot and enjoyed it. It was a great story of how God brings you through the hard times and will be by your side no matter what. I do hope there is another book that will tell whats next for Boone.

posted by tatormc on July 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

To me it was a Bible study masquerading as a police procedural. I was disappointed, and glad it was a free book.

posted by dwgizmo on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Great book by a great author

    This police thriller incorporates themes of faith, real life and tragedy in it. No easy answers here, no platitudes. Very interesting reading. You won't be disappointed. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Exciting Story!

    This work gives a look into the life of a young policeman in Chicago.It grabs your attention immediately & is emotionally challenging!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Great police thriller

    Boone Drake is a Chicago cop, a family man and a lifelong Christian. Life seems to be on a blessed track until an unexpected tragedy takes most of that life away. Boone's personal journey back to God and the development of his career in the Chicago PD make up this engaging story.
    This book had me hooked from the first chapter. The story of an officer whose goal is to take on organized crime and the street gangs makes for an interesting read. The addition of the officer's spiritual journey made for a fascinating read. I didn't make it through this one without a lot of tears shed, but it was well worth the read and I would recommend it highly to anyone. Jerry Jenkins never disappoints!
    In Boone's personal journey, his inner searching eventually leads to his being able to witness to a new Christian - one of the biggest, baddest gang leaders in the city. His personal courage in that instance was an inspiration to me and brought home once again the fact that as Christians, that is our calling on this earth: to witness to the lost, no matter who they are, what they look like, how we feel about them or how hopeless it looks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    New Series by Jerry B. Jenkins

    The Brotherhood is a police thriller set in Chicago. It's a compelling story of a young police officer facing devastating life events. The message of faith and redemption is illustrated within the painful realities of an imperfect world filled with death, violence and disillusions. This new series by Jerry Jenkins will no doubt be another popular Christian Fiction success reaching mainstream audiences everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    A police officer's struggle with faith issues

    I enjoy a good detective story, and when it's sprinkled liberally with faith elements, as is Jerry Jenkins's new novel "The Brotherhood", it's a win-win in my book. Jenkins, himself a product of at least nine police officer family members, captures the spirit of various personalities and associated drama in the Chicago Police Department's daily battle against vice. (My own interactions with public safety through business and family connections make me especially appreciate the behind-the-scenes look--and anticipate the sequels!) Boone Drake, a young police recruit who translates a childhood disgust for bullies into a career desire to hunt down gang members, has all the outward manifestations of Christian faith --until personal challenges test him. An interesting conglomeration of people whose paths he crosses in personal and professional life--including a toddler who loves pizza and a gang leader with a praying mom-- lead him on a search for true faith through Jesus Christ. It's a story with such honest conversations about Jesus--including sermon snippets, hymns, and even cell-phone-texted Scriptures-- that the reader also must stop and ponder faith issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The Brotherhood Holds the Reader

    I was fortunate enough to receive an advance reader copy of The Brotherhood, book one of the Precinct 11 series. Prolific best-selling author Jerry B Jenkins crisp writing style holds the reader to the last word.
    If you love police thrillers this book does not disappoint. Jenkins paints an accurate and believable picture of Chicago police work; artfully capturing the essence of the men in blue without resorting to crude language.
    Boone Drake is a rising star in the Chicago Police Department. When tragedy causes him to question God and his faith he meets the most vicious gang leader in Chicago and discovers God is a God of second chances. Readers will follow Boone's emotional ride from tragedy to triumph.
    The Brotherhood needs to be on everyone's must read list. Release date February 2011.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    Awesome New Book!

    So, I received an ARC (advanced readers copy) for Jerry Jenkins new novel set to release in February, The Brotherhood. Usually I stick to YA, but I love Jerry's books and I am never disappointed. After reading, The Brotherhood, I must say this is another phenomenal book by Jerry. Not to mention it's a series!! Let the awesomeness continue!

    Who do I think would love this book? Anyone who is already a JBJ fan (that stands for Jerry B Jenkins, sorry my texting mentality is taking over). Anyone who is into criminal-detective books, mysteries, books that involve gangsters, and anyone who enjoys a bit of suspense.

    What makes this book different from others of it's genre? This book not only appeals to the action packed mentality but it also has a deep personal inner struggle that is weaved into every thread of the book. I felt myself bend and wind with the main character, Boone, as he struggled to fight for what he had always wanted in life and make sense of everything that had happened to change his world.

    - Nicole L Rivera

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    strong inspirational thriller

    Chicago police officer Boone Drake feels his life is perfect. He loves his family which includes his wife Nikki who stays home with their child Josh. Boone enjoys his work as he has a great partner in Jack Kelly and his superiors think the world of him. Boone lives his ideal of Eden mowing the lawn while caring for his loved ones and thanking God for all he has and the trio attends church led by Pastor Sosa regularly.

    A home fire kills Josh and leaves Nikki more dad than alive. Dr. Sarangan who goes to the same church tells Boone that he does not believe in euthanasia, but Nikki would be better off dead with the injuries she suffered. He lies to her about their son, but she knows and soon joins him in death. Boone is over the top in grief as he wonders how God could allow such a tragedy to two innocent caring people. His family, Pastor Sosa and Jack are there for him. He begins to leave his hell raging at God when he meets two new people, single mom Haeley and dynamic vicious gang leader Pascual Candelario.

    Though an exciting action-packed Precinct 11 thriller from the moment Jack takes the phone call in the squad car (the radio is inappropriate), The Brotherhood is also a reflective tale as God allows free will, but is there for us while we heal from tragedies. The secondary characters in many ways set the overarching theme with their respective relationships with the protagonist. Perhaps the most interesting player is the gangbanger as the cops, the gang members and readers wonder if he seeks redemption as the Lord gives second chances or setting up an ambush so he could sing The Day Chicago Died. Blending police, gangs and God, this is a strong inspirational thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A feast of thought-provoking, action-packed scenes

    This book's goal is not only to entertain the reader, but to show how God's grace works through the toughest times in life, change the hardest hearts, and forgive the worst of crimes. This is a pretty tall order, but author Jerry Jenkins knows how to cook up a great feast in reading as millions have experienced through the Left Behind series.

    Everything seemed perfect in Boone Drake's life-good job as a cop with future promotional possibilities, a lovely family, great house, and a partner in the cruiser who was top notch. He was happy. But as life can often do, everything turned upside down. Boone's life and emotional health were going down. He was sinking into the valley of what he may have thought was no return. The pain he experienced was what one could parallel to the Old Testament character of Job, asking the question of why do bad things happen to good people? Where is God in all this?

    Chapter after chapter shows that God is at work through all the details. God can heal the broken hearted, the lost and confused, and maybe even a tough Chicago cop who has always wanted to battle the gangs and rid them from the city. A goal that felt unreachable for most and especially to Boone during his dark days.

    People come into play as Boone journeys through the struggles in his life. All of these characters are well developed where the reader can gain an image of the character as portrayed. There's Pastor Sosa, who leads the church Boone, his wife and son attended. This character gives a great model of how pastors can minister to the broken. Then there's Boone's partner, Jack Kelly. He's lives a bit on the rough side, but has a heart of gold and is a very dedicated officer. Boone's family surround him although there have been stressors in those relationships. Then there's Haeley, a single-mom who has a great love for God and her son. All of these people play a special role in Boone's transformation.

    Pascual Candelario, a gang leader of gang leaders, comes on the scene to make a deal with the police. Is this the real thing or could Boone and the police be set up for an ambush? The police thriller aspect of this book does not disappoint. It's packed with adrenaline raising scenes that motivate the reader to eagerly continue.

    Deep thinking opportunities also exist for methodical readers. It challenges the reader to contemplete what they believe about God and grace. The full understanding of grace has always seemed just out of reach, but Jenkins definitely shows a clear illustration through The Brotherhood.

    The ending left a wide opening for a sequel which will be a relief to readers of this book that more is coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    Boone only wanted enough grass to mow

    The Brotherhood by Jerry B. Jenkins is a moving novel to say the least. It's 371 pages and 24 chapters with an epilogue, copyright 2011, published by Tyndale House Publishers. Jenkins is a New York Times best-selling author well known for The Left Behind series. His new book showcases his talent in a police thriller with Boone Drake as the main character, a young officer blessed with success in his career and personal life. He has a beautiful wife, Nikki, who taught school until they were blessed with Josh, his son. Boone is living the American Dream and knows it when the unthinkable, unspeakable takes him by surprise and spirals him from a life of sunshine and happiness to a dreary world with storm clouds raging inside. In the blink of an eye his entire world is changed. He wanted a home for his young family with a yard ". . . with enough grass to mow." God provided his heart's desire, but little did he know the price he'd pay. When tragedy strikes, Nikki's parents are miles away, and Boone must face reality immersed in bittersweet memories. He doesn't understand how a loving God can allow such good, sweet, innocent people like Nikki and Josh to come to such violent harm. His partner, Jack Keller, is a rock who stands beside him, and his pastor texts Bible quotes to comfort and keep him in God's Word. If it isn't enough with his personal life demolished, his career is on the line, and it's all he has left until he meets Haeley, the new secretary that he's been warned about, and her young son, Max, who reminds him of his own loss, Josh. The most vicious Chicago gang leader in decades teaches him that God allows second chances. This is a book you won't want to put down until completed. It'll wrench your heart out early. I could say so much more, but then I'd give too much away and ruin a great novel like ruining a wonderful movie. So, grab your copy and get ready for an impact you won't soon forget!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4